We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was historic, and the people were nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It was historic, and the people were nice”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I am certain 100 years ago this place was wonderful. Today though, it is not. The smell, the ripped carpets, the dirty ripped quilts, the electrical problems all combine to make it pretty terrible. The staff is wonderful though, and I would love to see the place restored and cleaned. The original door and transom windows were beautiful, if dirty, same with all of the original wood work. Sad to see it left to rot.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank 2manycritters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    57
    19
    19
    12
See reviews for
29
84
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The Riverside Hot Springs Inn is a historic hotel with lots of charm. Our room was clean and comfortable, dinner and breakfast were excellent and the customer service was impeccable. Lava Hot Springs is a small community surrounded by breathtaking country. Suggest taking a side trip to Chesterfield.

Room Tip: Request a room with windows that open. The hotel is heated with hot water and may be a little warm f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorjia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricRiversideInn, Owner at Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and meals at the Riverside Hot Springs Inn. It is our sincere goal that your entire stay is terrific each and every time your visit us! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Wyoming, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2013

RHSI is the best for the price and what is offered, including a nice hot breakfast in the morning and full use of hot springs 6am - 11pm. This hotel offers rooms with shared bathrooms but I usually upgrade to the bigger corner rooms with a large soaking tub and flat screen tv. This location is also the only site with private outdoor pools, all of varying degrees located on the river and near the parking lot.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricRiversideInn, Owner at Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you Anna for your great review and comments. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottonwood Heights, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Next time you are in Lava, treat yourself to a fabulous dinner at the Riverside Hot Springs Inn. James and the staff always provide outstanding service and a meal that is always one of the best. The steamed clams are amazing. We also enjoyed the ahi tuna. The fillet Mignon melted in my mouth. And of course, Lava Cake for dessert.

This was probably my tenth visit to the Riverside in as many years. I can't wait to return. Thank you, Riverside Inn for another memorable and wonderful dinner in your delightful hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotSpringsLover58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricRiversideInn, Owner at Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Our thanks for dining with us from the whole team at the Riverside Hot Springs Inn and the Portneuf Grille & Lounge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herriman, Utah
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This historic hotel tells a story of its own, very interesting, the pictures alone are fascinating. We enjoyed our stay here. They allowed our dog to stay and that was very important to us. Yes this hotel is old, but we found it clean, we found the staff extremely friendly, helpful and the food and serving staff was as good as it gets. This was our first stay at Lava Hot Springs. It was a gift from my husband’s employer. We will most definitely come back and stay again. Sometimes you had to wait for hot water, but hey sometimes I do that at home! The Riverside is right in the middle of town so either direction you can walk somewhere and do something fun. So give this quaint hotel a try. We know you will be pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: Second Floor has rooms with big bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 840Deborah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricRiversideInn, General Manager at Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you Deborah for your comments! Your review was insightful and thoughtful! On behalf of the entire staff, we look forward to your return and hope the Riverside Inn is even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingman, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This hotel had a dead cockroach on the ground. Tiny rooms with No TV. Shared bathrooms. I wondered if this place ever gets cleaned. Old, horrible beds. I liked the old building, privet hot pots and the location but I wouldn't stay there again. The restaurant in this hotel is pretty good but with the dead cockroach you just never know what's cooking.....

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricRiversideInn, General Manager at Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Irina,

We are happy that you did like the historical feel of the hotel and the hot springs. We are sorry that the room you reserved was not adequate for your needs. The guest room you described is one of only four rooms in the hotel that are classified as " economy rooms" that share a bath with one other guest room. The other 14 rooms in the hotel are larger and all have private baths and televisions. Just to note, we do have regular maintenance for any type of insects and can assure you that cockroaches are not roaming the interior of our property and that our restaurant has received very good inspections from the health department.

Needless to say, we would like to personally respond to you and invite you to call us so that we can resolve any issues.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

We love the high ceilings, the warm feel of wood everywhere and the history of an old building. You have to be able to close your eyes and try to remember this hotel as it was and all those who stayed here. If you can do that you will enjoy your stay. We had a lot of fun here, from our hike to the top of the Centennial trail, which starts across the street, to reading our books at night in the 3rd floor reading room. The hot mineral baths needed a little cooling down for us. We enjoyed sitting outside in the hot bath and viewing the mountains. I definitely recommend having your dinner at the Riverside. We ate there both nights and were very impressed with our meals. The hotel definitely needs some upgrades, but she still is a Grand Old Lady.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BSCSkiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricRiversideInn, General Manager at Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for your review! It is great to see guests that love history, the outdoors and the entire Lava Hot Springs experience. We are continuously working to update and improve the "Grand Old Lady" and sincerely appreciate your business. We look forward to having you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lava Hot Springs hotels
0.0 mi away
Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs
Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs
#1 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
389 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aura Soma Lava
Aura Soma Lava
#4 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lava Hot Springs Inn
Lava Hot Springs Inn
#6 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lava Spa Motel & RV Park
Lava Spa Motel & RV Park
#5 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suites of Lava Hot Springs
Suites of Lava Hot Springs
#4 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
12 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tumbling Waters Inn
Tumbling Waters Inn
#7 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa

Property: Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa
Address: 255 East Portneuf, Lava Hot Springs, ID 83246
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > Lava Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lava Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa is a historic, full service adult boutique hotel, spa, restaurant & lounge located in downtown Lava Hot Springs. Featuring 18 guest rooms, onsite hot mineral springs & massage therapy, the acclaimed Portneuf Grille & Lounge which is open nightly for dinner, meeting facilities, free wifi & complimentary Continental breakfast. The Riverside features 24 hour staffing and service. The hotel is located within 2 blocks of the Foundation hot mineral soaking facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing