We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming little inn in quaint town”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alpaca Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lava Hot Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alpaca Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming little inn in quaint town”
Reviewed 26 March 2013

My good friend and I stayed here on a trip to Lava Hot Springs. I had never stayed overnight in the town before, because none of the hotels looked terribly appealing...then I saw the Alpaca Inn. The room was charming and quite large enough for the two of us. I appreciated that it was decorated, not in a generic motel sort of way, but in a homey, pleasant, comfortable style. The owners were as nice as they could be (we even went and took a look at their little alpaca farm right outside of town - where I had the once-in-a-lifetime experience of having an alpaca spit food on me...very memorable.) A great stay in my favorite quirky town.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg18SLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    19
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
56
56
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Me, my husband, and my 3 yr old decided to go on a last minute weekend getaway so we called last minute on a Friday afternoon to see if they had any rooms and the only one they had was the family suite which they let us have at the price of a smaller room. It was SO nice, clean, quiet, and amazing! They give you a variety of different types of pillows to sleep on, plenty of towels, soaps, bedding, nice comfy couches to sit on, DVD player, the list goes on... They spent a lot of time making it feel as though your at home (which you certainly do!). Check out is at 11 but "they can be flexible" and we are NOT morning people so they were very accommodating and let us check out at 1. We are planning our next trip up there in a few Weeks! Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mamabigbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2013

The management/staff were all so very nice and welcoming. The property is well kept, the room was cozy and clean. And I really love the alpaca wool gloves I bought in the store! This was a quick weekend getaway with my friend and we really enjoyed ourselves. I mentioned that we might be arriving later than anticipated and was able to select a code for the keyless entry to our room in the event the lobby had closed for the evening. We were given our choice of dvds to watch, as our room had a dvd player in it. Great place to stay. Alpaca Inn is going to be my first choice when I return to Lava.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We as a family have stayed at the Alpaca Inn every year for the last 7 years. We usally stay in the family apt. It's huge and can sleep up to 9 comfortably. There is a cute "childs nook" in the master bedroom, that there are no photos of in the web sight. The kids LOVE IT!!!
Londa and Jody, the owners are always very helpfull and gracious. The hotel is very clean and organized, and the alpaca decore is very cute. I have stayed other places in Lava Hotsprings, but none as well run and CLEAN. The office gift shop is well stocked with alpaca wool and novelties. I don't knit but I always end up buying for those who do. We will always stay at the Alpaca Inn when we go to Lava Hotsprings, its like having family there.

Room Tip: The apt. unit is across the street from the only bar in town, the small rooms are quieter. Bring you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DawnP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy
Level Contributor
193 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

What a GREAT get-away to go to Lava Hot Springs from Salt Lake City!!!!!!
First time going! The trip (with good weather) is only around 2 hours and it was so fun to come into a small city with lots of history!!!
We stayed at the Alpaca Inn and the owners were so hospitable!!! We called to say we would be getting there later at night and they left a light on for us and the room was warm and ready for us.
It was decorated so cute it felt like we were in a cabin...the beds were very comfy and everything was very clean!!!! The small refrigerator and microwave in the room were very handy and appreciated!!! Al the amenities were great-hot chocolate/coffee/shampoo/lotion/liquid hand soap-just really nice!!!
The walls are kinda thin-so you do hear through the walls, but it didn't bother us..we slept great and really enjoyed the heater-it was so quiet and kept the room perfect.
Londa and Jody and awesome owners and the very nicest people you'd want to meet!!
Thanks for making our trip so nice. Londa recommended the steak sandwich at the Blue Moon Bar across the street and my husband Loved it!!!
This is a quaint,cozy,clean, great place to stay!!!!

Room Tip: We had 2 queen beds and a comfy chair which we used. They give extra pillows so you can find the ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzy Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

My mom, sister and I stayed here for a girls get away this last spring and loved it! I plan on coming back sometime with just me and the hubby for a couples getaway. Great rooms, friendly staff, and beautiful courtyard.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsRaeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midvale, Utah, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I LOVE this little hotel. I would say best hotel I have ever been too! The rooms were nice and cozy. The room and Management office was very clean! The Management was wonderful!! They even gave us ideas on activities we could do, and checked each day to make sure we didn't need anything! I loved that the doors were a code, compared to a key (didn't have to carry a key around) I can't wait to go again! I will for sure stay at Alpaca Inn everytime I am in Lava. I recommend this little hotel :)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissyG374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lava Hot Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs
Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs
#1 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa
Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa
#4 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aura Soma Lava
Aura Soma Lava
#3 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lava Hot Springs Inn
Lava Hot Springs Inn
#7 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lava Spa Motel & RV Park
Lava Spa Motel & RV Park
#5 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
69 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lava Hot Springs Suites
Lava Hot Springs Suites
#5 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpaca Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpaca Inn

Property: Alpaca Inn
Address: 90 S 1st E, Lava Hot Springs, ID 83246
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > Lava Hot Springs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lava Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the center of Historic Lava Hot Springs, the Alpaca Inn is the perfect backdrop for a romantic getaway. The Inn is newly renovated (2008) with rustic charm and complete with old fashioned hospitality. In the midst of many activities the Alpaca Inn is the perfect vacation destination for couples, families and sports enthusiasts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alpaca Hotel Lava Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing