We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Weekend get a way”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alpaca Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lava Hot Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alpaca Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Utah
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfect Weekend get a way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Beautiful property, helpful friendly owners and very happy with our room. It was very nicely decorated, small frig and microwave. Very clean and comfortable, just one block off main and within walking distance to everywhere. Bed was super comfortable. Liked the coffee pot in the room for our first early morning Joe. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sueUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    19
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
56
56
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We live in SLC and decided to get away for the night and escape to Lava. I found the Alpaca Inn on trip advisor and it had great reviews so we booked our stay in room #6. It was a privilege upon arrival, meeting Dinah, she is so genuine and friendly. She made our experience a unique one. The room was clean and comfy, TV small but it was a plus that they had DVDs we could borrow. Our favorite was the grassy courtyard with beautiful flowers to enjoy a fun picnic as a family. We walked everywhere we wanted to go around town and enjoyed the weather. Make sure you stop at the ice cream parlor for a square ice cream cone, a fun highlight of our trip. We highly recommend getting reservations for the zipline adventure tour, it was an amazing 3 hours! We loved every moment of that experience and will definitely be back to Lava to do it again. The owner made it super fun, a memory for my family we will never forget. Be cautious floating the river, our 3 girls were most excited about that and they both got severely injured when their tube flipped and they smacked on the lava rocks. It seems harmless as it is one of the only things to do in Lava but be careful, it's deceiving fun. The Lava hot pools were a great ending to a fun time.

Room Tip: We stayed in #6 and it fits a family of four comfortably. Any room at the Alpaca would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvnlife3812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Spent one night here as we travelled from WA to CO over Memorial Day weekend. What a find! The Alpaca Inn is clean, reasonable, and has nice extra touches that you don't find in chain hotels. The woman that checked us in, Dinah, was extremely friendly and willing to go the extra mile. We stayed in Room #1 (right next to the office) so it was a short walk to our car. Room was clean, had nice fluffy towels, and the bed was comfortable. We've stayed in other places in Lava Hot Springs in the past, for very similar rates, and will NEVER go to those places again. This is our new great find in Lava Hot Springs, ID. This is THE place to stay in Lava Hot Springs, unless you want to spend double the money on a B & B,

Room Tip: Don't know about the other rooms, but Room #1 is smallish, but right next to the office, very qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ediegretchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Logan, Utah
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

From the moment we called and made our reservation to the time we checked out, it was a great experience. The owners were very kind and happy to give recommendations on what to do and where to eat. They even called us on our way to the inn to double check that we were still planning on arriving late and that they had the right key code for our room's door. Key less entry was so convenient.

The room we stayed in was very clean and large enough for our family of 6. The kids especially loved all the alpaca decor and wanted to bring home a real alpaca as a souvenir!

The only thing the kids complained about was the pull out bed. They called it the taco bed :) It didn't seem to bother them too much because they slept through the night.

This is a fantastic place for a family to stay. We will definitely stay here again when we visit Lava again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kami126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

The room was clean and cozy. The owners were friendly! We will be back! We liked being off the main drag. Even though there was a family reunion in the rest of the inn, it was very quiet. Not far from the hot pools, we drove but would walk next time knowing how close it is.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanley, Idaho
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed at the Alpaca in mid-February and loved our stay! Our large room (#8) was very comfortable, charmingly decorated, very clean, with thoughtful amenities like a small fridge, microwave, hair dryer, and small sitting area. The keyless entry worked great and it was very handy to not have to worry about a key. It was clear the owners put a lot of thought and care into their remodel of the place -- its personality shines through.

I can see that the Alpaca would be a great place for family get-togethers in summer. It's up a side street, away from the noise of the main street in town. In the off-season, be sure to call ahead for reservations. We arrived fairly late and left fairly early, and didn't ever see the owners/managers. For our purposes, this was fine -- and I think they would be available if someone needed them. Londa answered the phone promptly when I called to ask a question.

If you have mobility issues, the stairs to the room might be an issue (and our room had a small step up into the main room and a small step down into the bathroom). It looked like at least one of the rooms was accessible, though.

We will definitely stay at the Alpaca next time we head to Lava Hot Springs for a getaway!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy, Utah
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Great place to stay. And though the Blue Moon Bar is just across the street, it was quiet and the room was nicely appointed. The owner and staff were great. DVD player in the room and a plethora of "free" moves to choose from. Just ask at the front desk and they hand you a case loaded with them. Write down the ones you take, and give them back when you are done. Coffee, micro, fridge in the room. I am usually pretty picky about lodging and this one was wonderful. Plenty of Pillows to choose from. Wonderful stay. We'll be back. Just watch the ice when you walk around. I was ready to buy an alpaca by the time we left.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lava Hot Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs
Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs
#1 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa
Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa
#4 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aura Soma Lava
Aura Soma Lava
#3 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lava Hot Springs Inn
Lava Hot Springs Inn
#7 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lava Spa Motel & RV Park
Lava Spa Motel & RV Park
#5 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lava Hot Springs Suites
Lava Hot Springs Suites
#5 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpaca Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpaca Inn

Property: Alpaca Inn
Address: 90 S 1st E, Lava Hot Springs, ID 83246
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > Lava Hot Springs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lava Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the center of Historic Lava Hot Springs, the Alpaca Inn is the perfect backdrop for a romantic getaway. The Inn is newly renovated (2008) with rustic charm and complete with old fashioned hospitality. In the midst of many activities the Alpaca Inn is the perfect vacation destination for couples, families and sports enthusiasts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alpaca Hotel Lava Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing