We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I could have stayed two nights rather than just one!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
ulster county, ny
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Wish I could have stayed two nights rather than just one!”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Clean, pretty and well-located with respect to the hot springs and the few shops and restaurants in town. That the bathtubs in the main hotel building fill with hot spring water was a blessing as unfortunately there were storms around the afternoon I arrived. I also loved that the artwork was global in its origin and content rather than another display of western USA themed work. Unfortunately, I found the beds too soft and so did not sleep well there. I mentioned this to the manager and he told me they were planning to replace these new beds they had recently gotten as a number of guests had the same issue. If they did that, I would give them all five stars!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janetpackard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    106
    19
    4
    8
See reviews for
93
193
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Excellent customer service. Such a charming town and clean hotel in the best location! Definitely worth the little money for a fun adventure. Newly remodeled with my own soaking tub! Slept like a baby.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

After reading about the Lava Hot Springs, we decided to take a day trip up to Lava Hot Springs, Idaho from SLC while on vacation. It's about a 2.5-hour drive from SLC. If you want to experience some hot springs, it is worth the trip. The downtown area is pretty small, but has a nice homey feel. The main hotel building for the Home Hotel on Main Street is a nice looking building and the hot springs, restaurants and water park are all within walking distance. The Home Hotel actually has their own hot spring well and pipe the water from the hot springs into the bathroom. The hotel room we stayed in was recently remodeled and was everything you could want in a hotel room in a small town. The staff was also very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herman W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This was or first time coming to lava and it was great! The location couldn't be better! Less than a min to the hot pools & affordable tube rental right next to the hotel. Their hospitality makes you feel right at home. Great coffee at the front desk too:) We will definitely be back to stay here again. Their bathtubs are huge and the rooms are very clean and cozy. It feels like a home away from home. Thanks so much for the great stay!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amberpuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bountiful, Utah
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We came to the Home Hotel as a group of 30 people. Everything was so good. The staff was so helpful. My particular thanks to Misty, and Camille. They went the extra mile to ensure our trip went well. Our thanks to Scott as well. We will come again and look forward to seeing our new friends on many more occacsions. Best of luck to all future travelers who are lucky enought to stay at the Home Hotel.
Sinserely,
Larry

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larry g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lathrop, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2013

This was my first time to Lava Hot Springs and the first time to this property. OMG! I'm kicking myself for not discovering this place sooner. I can't say enough how awesome it was, from the gals at front office , the room, the location, And THE BED WAS THE BEST! most comfortable one that I've ever slept on out of all the motels /hotels I've stayed in, EVER!!! . Every thing from the Hot Springs to the restaurant and entertainment for kids and family are walking distance. Really, Really, Nice area to stay and relax at. I WILL DIFFINITELY COME BACK AND STAY AT THIS PLACE.

Room Tip: I Loved my room. I got the sense of old fashion turn of the century feeling when I walked in. Very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breezy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogden, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This hotel is a good overall value in Lava Hot Springs. Everything is within walking distance too. We parked Friday and didn't need to drive again until we left on Sunday. Short walk to the hot springs, restaurants.

The hotels new rooms are basic, but clean and really all you need. The high point of them is the doublewide bath, that fills with hot mineral water. That is a really clean way to enjoy the hot mineral water there and very relaxing. I'm a man, I never take baths, but my wife and I both tried a soak in the tub, something about that water is very relaxing--do it before bed, you'll sleep great.

The coffee they put out by the front desk was organic, and tasted fabulous! The staff was friendly and helpful.

Both the hotel and Lava Hot Springs city offer free wireless internet, it's not perfect but it works most of the time.

OK, now for the only downgrade. The hot tubs on their deck, YUCKKK!! We sat in them the first night there, only seeing them in the twilight/dark. In the day time, they are gross. They just need a cleaning. You'd think with the water flowing in, it would keep them clean, but no. The clean water flows in and out the top; the bottom has collected all this gross stuff that doesn't even float. You can see pieces (very small like dandruff) of skin floating and swirling. There's no filterning; no electricity to the tubs either. I love how you can see the river from the deck with hot tubs, but that doesn't make up for them being too dirty.

To be fair, the staff told me they were going to get new ones--great! BUT, right now, they need to keep those old ones CLEAN; they get daily use and could spread infection/disease. The city ought not to allow this either. There's no chlorine (which is ok if they are clean) so don't go in there with a cut, or if you are subject to infections (like diabetics, cancer patients, etc).

The state run hot springs down the street are very clean, so just enjoy the mineral water in your bathtub or at the hot springs, and lobby them to clean those nasty tubs. Everything else there is fine.

Room Tip: Just ask the friendly, helpful staff which room would be good for you based on your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Washed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Home_Hotel_Manager, Owner at Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Thank you for the great feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your room and our staff. The two outdoor deck hot tubs are being removed on Tuesday, June 25th, 2013. We, too, are not satisfied with the natural mineral deposits that build up. That being said, we disinfect the outdoor tubs several times a week, completely draining them, cleaning them, disinfecting them and re-filling them. Thanks again for your comments. We hope to see you again, soon. Sincerely, Scott Pearhill, Manager / Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lava Hot Springs
0.0 mi away
Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa
Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa
#3 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aura Soma Lava
Aura Soma Lava
#4 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lava Hot Springs Inn
Lava Hot Springs Inn
#6 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lava Spa Motel & RV Park
Lava Spa Motel & RV Park
#5 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suites of Lava Hot Springs
Suites of Lava Hot Springs
#4 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
12 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Harkness Hotel
The Harkness Hotel
#1 of 1 in McCammon
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs

Property: Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs
Address: 306 East Main Street, P.O. Box 67, Lava Hot Springs, ID 83246
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > Lava Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Lava Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Home Hotel in beautiful Lava Hot Springs, Idaho! We provide real, natural hot springs water in the privacy of your room! Our lodgings also include free WIFI, a Samsung flat panel tv with expanded cable, mini-fridge and more! You can walk to the famous State of Idaho Hot Pools in under two minutes. The Home Hotel is centrally located in downtown Lava Hot Springs, so dining, shopping and outdoor activities are nearby. Since 1918, the Home Hotel is your home in Lava Hot Springs, Idaho! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing