We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Lava, It's just fine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lava Hot Springs KOA
Jackson, Wyoming
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“For Lava, It's just fine”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

It can be hard to judge this campground because my rating is based on the entire area of Lava Hot Springs. This is a tiny little town that, in itself, has fallen into a little disrepair. It is also in a very small "valley" between 2 hills, so if you want to be anywhere near the hot pools themselves, you will be close to the railroad and the highway. I give a huge lot of kudos to the owners of the hot springs facility. The Lava Hot Springs pools themselves are a little Eden within a town that is pretty much in need of a facelift (speaking of the downtown specifically). The other recreation pool in the area is also quite nice.

With that in mind, I though the KOA was just fine. What we liked was the proximity to the hot pools themselves. It is literally a 10 minute easy walk. That was really the most important to us. From reading other reviews, I was reminded of the proximity to the road and to the railroad. So, given that knowledge in advance, I was ok with that aspect. The railroad is very loud and certainly very close to where we were camped. The big trucks going down the road were almost as loud at times. But again, that was ok, for what we were after. Another positive was the new laundry and bathroom facility. It was really quite nice.

It is my understanding that this KOA is under new ownership. There were certainly improvements under way while we were there. The lower portion of the grounds - near the river - were closed for upgrades. It think this would be the ideal spot since it is near the river, is more treed and a little lower - so maybe the road & railroad wouldn't seem as loud?

It could certainly use a little general cleanup and TLC and the grassy areas were mostly patches of grass with lots of weeds. I am hoping that improvements to these areas are what the owners have in mind as this KOA has a lot of potential. We saw 3 other campgrounds within a 1/2 mile of the hot pools and 2 of them were a stretch to be called a campground at all! (again because the area of the downtown is tiny, it is hard to have what people may normally expect from a KOA campground).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tricia r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    18
    9
    8
    8
See reviews for
29
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverton, Utah
Level Contributor
135 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We stayed at the KOA for school break last weekend. the facility is up and coming with improvement being made. We stayed 2 days and the owners had no problem that we stayed until 4 pm on the day we left.

The grounds were a bit rough and the pull throughs a bit narrow, I have a 30 foot trailer, with 2 slides, but the bathroom facilities on the east side were new and well maintained. Owners are very friendly and want you to have a great time while staying.

It is close into the main attractions in town (I guess everything actually is close in town, not a very big place). Like other have said, many trains pass through town and you either get use to them or you hate them, we got use to them.

Overall, we will be back. As my middle son states as we were leaving..."It was a good trip Dad".

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lbarlow2_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed here with our tent trailer, for one night on our way to Yellowstone. The staff were friendly enough, and it is really beautiful to be so near the river. The river is literally RIGHT THERE. (I'd be concerned if I had younger kids or pets along, though, because there is no barrier to the water and the current looked pretty fast when we were there. I think I heard somebody fall in the water in the middle of the night when a bunch of drunk revelers came crashing out of the bushes on the other side of the river.)

Unfortunately, also RIGHT THERE is the road, which was--I kid you not--about four yards above our site, and the railroad track, another 5-10 yards beyond the road. We were awakened multiple times all night by VERY loud freight trains. Maybe this wouldn't be so bad from inside an RV, but in a tent trailer it sounded like the end of the world!

The bathrooms need to be updated. I'm surprised another reviewer called them "clean" because that wouldn't be my take on it at all. I understand there's little the staff can do about the millions of no-seeums flying around the bathrooms (and everywhere else) at night, but the millions of dead no-seeums all over the counter in the morning could be addressed. I ended up taking a wet paper towel and cleaning up all the ladies' room countertops in the morning as a courtesy to everyone else! :D

As pretty as the town of Lava Hot Springs looked, and as pretty as the physical site of the campground is, I doubt we would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lava Hot Springs hotels

Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

The Lava Hot Springs KOA was awful! $30 a night got us a tiny little plot of land next to a railroad line. We were woken up multiple times every night by freight trains. Other campers were packing 20 people into one space and were encroaching on our limited space. Management was too bashful to deal with it. The campground was packed full of weekend warriors from Utah pulling a year's worth of provisions and noisy ATVs in their oversized expanding trailers. The KOA isn't even close to Lava Hot Springs attractions. Will never do KOA again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

KOA Campground in Lava Hot Springs, ID is great. Stayed 2 nights with our trailer. Made reservations online with ease. The campground is well maintained and teh camp hosts are friendly and were always checking up on us to make sure we had everything we needed. Bathrooms are imaculate! Couldn't believe I was at a campground! Very clean and well stocked. Pets are allowed no extra cost. Campground in walking distance to Hot Pools and downtown. Highly reccomend this campground.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mborders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lava Hot Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs
Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs
#1 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
386 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa
Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa
#3 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
175 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aura Soma Lava
Aura Soma Lava
#4 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lava Hot Springs Inn
Lava Hot Springs Inn
#7 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
206 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lava Spa Motel & RV Park
Lava Spa Motel & RV Park
#5 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
70 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tumbling Waters Inn
Tumbling Waters Inn
#6 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lava Hot Springs KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lava Hot Springs KOA

Property: Lava Hot Springs KOA
Address: 100 Bristol Park Ln, Lava Hot Springs, ID 83246-4911
Region: United States > Idaho > Lava Hot Springs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Lava Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Lava Hot Springs KOA 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lava Hot Springs KOA offers 18 cabins. We have five camping cabins with no bathrooms that are only open from April 1 thru October 31. The other 13 cabins have bathrooms and are open year round, nine of which were newly built in 2015 and close to the sulfur-free hot springs. We also offer seasonal camping with 54 RV sites, 25 tent sites, one outdoor pavilion, two restroom/shower facilities, and a laundry room. Various sites are located near the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Lava Hot Springs KOA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing