We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully relaxing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lava Hot Springs Inn
Reviewed 26 February 2011

Winter is the best time to visit Lava Hot Springs. We loved staying at Hot Springs Inn they have the best Hot Springs in town. There is a real advantage to staying where you are soaking. The whole weekend was incredibly relaxing. The breakfast here is wonderful!
Our room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank utahmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2011

The staff is always friendly and very helpful. The natural hot springs pools are the best available. I love staying in the original Inn, but the Cottage is also very nice. We always have a wonderful time at the Lava Hot Springs Inn.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HotSpringsLover58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

The Lava Hot Springs Inn was originally a hospital built in 1924-25 and has been redone, but still has much of the originality. George and all of the staff was more than accomodating. The breakfast each morning was always a treat with wonderful coffee. The numerous soaking springs were clean with good water flow and turnover. There is also a woderful pool for swimming some laps. We also enjoyed an excellent Thai meal, in walking distance. We have been to Lava several times and this was the best yet.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olddog19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

My husband and I had a fantastic Valentine's trip. This was my first stay in a bed & breakfast setting and I absolutely loved it!! The hotel mineral pools were great, the room was awesome, and the breakfast was amazing! This is the place to come if you are just looking to get away and soak for a while. We loved the charm and old world feeling of the building and hope to stay again very soon!!!

The Bergmans

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rochellbergman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2011

We loved this inn for several reasons. The pools are the best natural hot springs you will find in the U.S.A. The rooms (although unusual) were quite comfortable and much nicer than one would expect for this area. Breakfast was great and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. Our stay was the perfect getaway and we definitely will make them our regular vacation stop.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gman037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2011

We echo many of the complaints listed in the other reviews: First, we did not get the room we reserved and what we got was waaaaay overpriced. We did get a room with a bathroom, but the bathroom was basically a small closet for the toilet that you could barely fit your legs in. The tub and the sink crammed in the bedroom. We understand this is an old place converted from a VA Hospital, and that can be charming, but the main hotel and lobby reeked of a Lysol smell - It was nauseating. (maybe giving it a best shot to mask a musty, mildew odor and kill bugs!) The grounds were not well kept. There were lots of places where people could get hurt by the way they tried to patch and mortar the sidewalks. I kept thinking, what a gem they have here, if they would only keep it up properly. Just a little more TLC and less neglect. The breakfast was so/so and the guys in the kitchen were very nice. Too many rules posted all over the place make you feel unwelcome. They could do more to instill charm by giving everyone info about the history of the building, ghost stories, etc. We love the town and there are much better places to stay. Tried this Inn and will not go back again. We visited Lava again in Dec and heard this place had bedbugs and there was a sign on the door from the fire department that no one could go in. What's up!?

Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
4  Thank memine99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHSI, Owner at Lava Hot Springs Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2011

The Lava Hot Springs Inn ensures the cleanliness of the hotel and proper maintenance on the grounds, weather permitting. The Inn sets rules with the purpose that all guests can relax and enjoy their time in the hot pools, promoting a smoke-free environment. Breakfast and the hot pools are included in the price of our rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

Our stay at the Lava Hot Springs Inn was amazing! We arrived and checked in with gracious hosts and they personally walked us to the 3 bedroom suite. The place was cozy and very clean. We then decided to go to the hot pools which are free while staying. There were 3 separate pools all of varying temperatures. The pool we stayed in the whole time was a long pool with plenty of room. The atmosphere was so perfect. It was quiet and there was very nice landscaping. We also enjoyed the jet tub in our room which had access to a porch. The hotel is in a very central location so we were able to walk everywhere. Then in the morning, we loved the homemade breakfast. They had pancakes and eggs. All in all this stay was great and the value for what you get it is perfect! We will most definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pocatello_IdahoKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lava Hot Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa
Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa
#3 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs
Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs
#1 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
404 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aura Soma Lava
Aura Soma Lava
#4 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lions Gate Manor
Lions Gate Manor
#2 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suites of Lava Hot Springs
Suites of Lava Hot Springs
#4 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
14 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lava Hot Springs KOA
Lava Hot Springs KOA
#1 of 10 in Lava Hot Springs
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lava Hot Springs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lava Hot Springs Inn

Address: 94 E. Portneuf Rd, Lava Hot Springs, ID 83246
Region: United States > Idaho > Lava Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Lava Hot Springs
Price Range: £81 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lava Hot Springs Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Lava Hot Springs Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lava Hot Springs Hotel Lava Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing