We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff”
Review of Aura Soma Lava

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aura Soma Lava
Grantsville, Utah
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff”
Reviewed 12 October 2011

My husband and I go to Lava on our Anniversary the end of September almost every year. We have stayed in the cottage and loved the private hot tub and king size bed. A couple years ago we stayed in Number 9 of the courtyard and LOVED it. Such a cute place to stay. It had a small kitchen and a barbecue so were able to cook steak and lobster together, and the bed was great. This time we stayed in Number 10 and the bed was great, loved the HUGE Jacuzzi tub in the room and the tiny kitchen. We just used the fridge. The TV was nice and the free mineral pool was very relaxing and private. The staff was so helpful, that the next day she let us use her internet to find a place to stay in Idaho so we could extend our weekend. We always stay at Aura Soma when we go to Lava. Don't forget to go the blue moon for a burger or chicken sandwich. Very yummy..

Room Tip: If you want to cook while you are there, get #9 of the court yard. If you like a king size bed and J...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    73
    28
    15
    13
See reviews for
74
78
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

My partner and I stayed here to break up our journey, (we're British and not used to the mega-miles most Americans seem to take in their stride!) We were on our way back to Salt Lake City following a wonderful visit to Yellowstone and we were greatly in need of a little R & R. Well, we certainly found it here. Our room was pleasant and comfortable (Courtyard Room 12) with a large jacuzzi and a pleasant outdoor sitting area. Given half a chance we could have stayed a week here; choosing whether to get crinkly (the-stayed-in-the-water-too-long-look) either in our room's jacuzzi or the motel's own hot spring water fed pool. (Not to mention the town's other options of 'rubber-ringing' down the river or the Lava Hot Spring large complex.) Alas we had less than 24 hours here before flights home and work were beckoning. However, we made the most of the time we had there to take a late afternoon and morning soak in their pool followed by soaks in our jacuzzi. Aura Soma Lava isn't one of those 'high-end luxury' places, however it is a pleasant, clean, friendly and relaxing place to spend time. The outdoor pool had been quite busy in the late afternoon, though that didn't keep us away, however at around 8am in the morning we had it to ourselves; even better to relax! The motel is situated on the main street of the tiny town / village of Lava Hot Springs and you can get anything you need within a very short walk, i.e. eating out, provisions and gifts at reasonable prices. The complementary coffee in reception was also welcome. I'd definitely recommend a stay here for road weary travellers or anyone who just enjoys being in the water.

Room Tip: Courtyard Room 12 had it's own pleasant plot in which to sit outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DenWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Salt Lake, Utah
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Rented the Cottage for 2 nights. Cute house, nice large grass area by the river, but... It was gross, dirty, dusty, and full of mosquitos because the window would not close and there was no screen. I complained the first night about the window and someone came right away and fixed it although my daughter counted 30 mosquito bites on her. The house smelled musty, the bed smelled like body odor and had clumps of black hair in the sheets, and the hot tub on the deck was full of fiber glass coming from the inside of the broken cover that goes over it. We were grossed out so we headed out to their property's mineral pool which has a huge rust stain on the bottom unlike the pictures and it was full of bugs. The chairs were all nasty and we didn't want to put our towels down anywhere.

The next morning in the shower I fell because the porcelain tub was so slippery and there was nothing to grab on to. I am not a clumsy person either but now I have some injuries from that fall which I will have to deal with for several weeks. After getting myself out I was so angry that we packed to leave. I went to the office, complained and wanted a refund. But then I asked if we could move to another room and give it one more chance because we had never been to Lava and wanted to try and enjoy it. They gave me a receipt showing a partial credit although it has not shown up on my credit card yet, and offered us Room 9.

That was much better!! Clean, smelled clean, had a clean kitchen and shower instead of bath tub. We were more comfortable there. Although it also included a private hot tub outside which was full of bugs and wood chips because the cover was laying to the side. They said someone would clean it but they never did. For the money they charge they should be able to maintain the property better (and install something in that cottage tub to grab on to and possibly prevent a future lawsuit). Since they offer private outdoor hot tubs those should be kept clean and maintained for the guests because people who reserve those rooms do it so they can use the hot tub.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Checked in smoothly with seasonal discount. Room was loud with road noise. Bed was saggy, woke up sore after day of hot springing. Television didn't work. The very small hot spring pool was empty for cleaning. A fellow guest next door was drunk and shouting loudly into the wee hours of morning with no phone number to management. The walls are very thin, could hear everything in surrounding rooms. Not a great value, poor management, great staff, good location but next time, I'll stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pocatello, Idaho
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2011

My wife and I have been going to Lava Hot Springs since we were kids. We've been staying at Aura Soma (The Cottage) for many years now. The Cottage is great.

It is a nice older house with a private hot pool. The private outdoor hot pool is the gem here. The house is quaint with a kitchen, nice bedroom with TV, and a nice bath and shower. It is always very clean, cozy, and quiet. We've even noticed from our most recent visit that the bed has been updated. This is a big improvement over the old squeeky bed that used to be in there.

If you want a romantic, private, relaxing place to stay for the weekend, the Cottage at Aura Soma is the place to stay. Aura Soma's staff is always very freindly and makes sure you leave with a smile.

Nothing is perfect however. This prices have become quite expensive over the years. The price increases but the ammenities don't. Aura Soma does offer other, cheaper accomodations but they don't include outdoor pools of course.

We used to book the Cottage every month, but unfortunately we can't swing this anymore with the higher rates. We would still recommend the Cottage as we have found it to the most comfortable after trying a few other rooms and houses with Aura Soma.

They also offer some very relaxing messages as well which we definitely recommend after a soak in the tubs.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abawolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woods Cross, Utah
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2011

We go to Lava Hot Springs every February to celebrate my Birthday and Valentine's Day. We always stay at the Oregon Trail Lodge. The staff is so friendly, the rooms are big and comfy, massages are so WONDERFUL, and the hot pool is AMAZING. It's private, secluded, and we always meet such fun people. You haven't experienced relaxation until you've stayed here.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BesseyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogden, Utah
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2010

If you are looking for a getaway from it all this is the place. It is a cute small town with amazing beauty.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ty71803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lava Hot Springs hotels
0.0 mi away
Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa
Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa
#3 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs
Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs
#1 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
386 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lava Hot Springs Inn
Lava Hot Springs Inn
#7 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lava Spa Motel & RV Park
Lava Spa Motel & RV Park
#5 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lava Hot Springs Suites
Lava Hot Springs Suites
#5 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
10 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tumbling Waters Inn
Tumbling Waters Inn
#6 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aura Soma Lava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aura Soma Lava

Property: Aura Soma Lava
Address: 196 E Main Street, Lava Hot Springs, ID 83246
Region: United States > Idaho > Lava Hot Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Lava Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aura Soma Lava 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your comfort, our desire. Newly appointed rooms. Hot Spring Mineral Pool on Riverfront. Spa rooms. Five vacation rental homes, two with private hot spring soaking tubs. Central city location, private south facing deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Aura Soma Lava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aura Soma Lava Hotel Lava Hot Springs
Aura Soma Lava Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing