We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time to Lava” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aura Soma Lava

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aura Soma Lava
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First time to Lava”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

This was our first time in Lava and we had an absolute BLAST!!! We stayed in cabin #4. I have to say it was extremely small for 4 people. There were no tables, and it was tough to get ready in the morning and move around. But honestly, we weren't in our room long enough to care that much. We were too busy having fun out on the town! I LOVED the porch and sitting out on their little table's eating my breakfast and lunch and enjoying the view. They are also re-doing the deck right now and it looks awesome!

The things I would change are:
I would prefer for the bedding to be cleaner. Both beds had yellow stains on them, which is obviously unsettling.
The tub was dirty and had green stains in it.
They allow parking directly in the back of the hotel, so we literally had someone's car on our porch and had a hard time getting through the back door to get back to our room from going to the spring.
The space was just too small for 4 people. It slept for comfortably, but it didn't house 4 comfortably at all.
And to be painfully honest, Febreeze or some sort of air freshener would go a LONG way.

I would stay here again, but I would like to try out some of the other rooms to see how much more space we could have. But they were SO nice to us and made our trip a great one. See you again soon, Lava!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wellzy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    71
    27
    13
    13
See reviews for
70
77
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Logan, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

We stayed in #9 vacation home. Loved the private mineral tub!! Very clean and spacious room. Nice kitchen and living area. Had a great stay. Everything is walking distance. Fun blue moon bar with band for dancing. Wagon wheel restraunt across the street is great! Homemade French fries! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dianabaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogden, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

The pool was being painted and was closed and we were dissapointed, but they went above and beyond to make a stay a nice one. They put us in #9 for the same price as the one we had so we could have a hot tub.The #9 is great place to stay it has full kitchen,bedroom,living room and a private patio with bar-b-que and hot tub.We had a great time that night the locals are great. We will be back! Thank you Aura Soma!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heber City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

We stayed 2 days at the courtyard 10. It was clean and quiet and the bed was comfortable. Slept well both nights. Our unit had a kitchenette. They really need to put some dish soap and a new sponge. The sponge was so gross. They also need to update a couple of the furnishings like the cups. They could use new carpet. Didn't dare walk around barefoot.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelee H, General Manager at Aura Soma Lava, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Thank you for the great review! We appreciate your feedback! We will get new sponges and dish soap in to our units asap! Thanks again, Scott Pearhill, General Manager Aura Soma Lava
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Wyoming
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

Our recent trip to LHS was an overall positive experience at Aura Soma. We stayed Thursday night (oh so quiet) and Friday (lots of partying/had to tell people they had the wrong room at 3am). The coffee in the morning was free and delicious. The front desk staff was gracious and helpful in navigating our way about town for parks, hikes, best breakfasts, etc. It was great to have an in room fridge to keep drinks and treats available and wonderful to have our dog with us on the trip (for a small deposit per day). Friday afternoon, we had the Aura Soma pool to ourselves and had a blast with the kids looking at the fall leaves and zooming around the pool.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ionaboggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hailey, Idaho
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

Lava Hot Springs is a quirky, funky town with character but don't expect much for your money there. The local economy is based solely upon tourism and the hotels have much to be desired. I stayed in room #11 which is behind the main motel/hotel building, facing the RV park. The setting was better than being right on Main Street and the adjacent grassy area by the river where the labyrinth and pool is peaceful. The room was adequate, the queen bed was comfortable but they have remodeled so there is a jetted tub (no shower) and sink right as you walk in the door (awkward). The toilet is in what used to be the closet. no joke. You hang your clothes on hooks. The first night was great because there was no one in town and it was quiet except for the trains and traffic noise which I anticipated and brought the earplugs. The second night, Saturday, was different. I could hear the neighbors arguing next door then heard their TV at 0-dark-thirty the next morning. The room does have a microwave and refrig but no coffee. So Sunday morning I went to the "lobby" where I saw a coffee maker on check-in only to be told it is $1.00 for coffee. Come on, are you kidding me, for $70+ a night at least you could give me a cup of coffee! Oh and the lava java place wasn't open yet.

The best part of all was the Aura Soma pool. On Friday night, I had it all to myself underneath the stars and full moon and 150 evergreen trees.

You gotta luv Lava Hot Springs for the schlock. Enjoy!

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank momma-t-mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

My family has stayed at this hotel many times. Their pool is great and the staff is always friendly. We travel to the area to see family and friends on a regular basis and try to always stay at this hotel, as we find it the most comfortable and inviting place in town.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lava Hot Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs
Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs
#1 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa
Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa
#4 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lava Hot Springs Inn
Lava Hot Springs Inn
#7 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lava Spa Motel & RV Park
Lava Spa Motel & RV Park
#5 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lava Hot Springs Suites
Lava Hot Springs Suites
#5 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tumbling Waters Inn
Tumbling Waters Inn
#6 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aura Soma Lava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aura Soma Lava

Property: Aura Soma Lava
Address: 196 E Main Street, Lava Hot Springs, ID 83246
Region: United States > Idaho > Lava Hot Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lava Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aura Soma Lava 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your comfort, our desire. Newly appointed rooms. Hot Spring Mineral Pool on Riverfront. Spa rooms. Five vacation rental homes, two with private hot spring soaking tubs. Central city location, private south facing deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Aura Soma Lava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aura Soma Lava Hotel Lava Hot Springs
Aura Soma Lava Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing