We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Live, Laugh, Love... LAVA!”
Review of Aura Soma Lava

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aura Soma Lava
Teton
2 reviews
“Live, Laugh, Love... LAVA!”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Aura Soma Lava is our favorite place to retreat! This inviting property always offers us a clean and cozy place to regenerate. At times I visit Aura Soma Lava alone, sometimes with my family or friends, and other times only with my husband. Regardless of whether we are looking for rest, play or solitude, it provides exactly what we need. The on-site pool is tucked by the river surrounded by gracious trees and it is the perfect place to rest my body, mind, and spirit. The labyrinth is an added bonus, it is an activity I look forward to each time I go and when we bring the kids, it is one of their favorite activities as well. This haven is enchanting and endearing... I highly recommend Aura Soma Lava to all of my friends and family!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    72
    27
    14
    13
See reviews for
71
78
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Layton, Utah, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2013

One of the main reasons we booked this cottage was to have the private hot tub. Needless to say, the hot tub water was way too hot to get in all the way. Unless you like 100+ degree water, this private hot tub is not for you. Also, it was very nice to have a king sized bed. The downside to the bed was that it sunk in in the middle. We liked to call it the "sink hole," since we would be sucked into the middle and couldn't sleep on one side or the other. Other than those two things, the cottage was nice. It was stocked with toilet paper, towels, and kitchen necessities. Would I stay here again? That is still up for debate.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McCall, Idaho
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I found this motel through the Lava Hot Springs site. They had great pictures and a professional website but the motel did not live up to the advertisments. The bathroom floor was so rotted that I was afraid the toilet was going to fall through. The (very small) room was clean and freshly painted but the layout was pretty funky. You enter the room from through the bathroom from the parking area...not real convenient if there is more than one person in the room! There are better lodging choices in Lava.

Room Tip: Look somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Idahofredly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelee H, Guest Relations Manager at Aura Soma Lava, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Thank you for the feedback, the ASL team appreciates it.
We apologize that your experience was less than perfect.
We have recently remodeled our rooms, including new flooring. The bathrooms now have tile and new tubs and showers.
We have also completely replaced the back doors and their locks with customer’s safety and privacy in mind.
Thanks again, we hope you will give ASL a second chance in the future.
Tim F - Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bountiful, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

I love Lava Hot Springs. The town is small and quiet. I stayed at the Meadows House at AuraSomaLava. My friends and I loved how close it was to the hot spring and we really enjoyed the hot tub that was on our deck. We had a great time and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmarie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

First I guess I need to disclaim that my mother and I stayed on a Sunday night in the end of January, which is guess is an off time for the town. I did a lot of research online and decided on Aura Soma motel because we could have massages and soak in the private pool all in one location. However, all 3 of these locations are not in the same location. They are all within walking distance, but not desirable. We planned on wearing robes to the massage and then getting right in for a soak. The massage studio is located 10 minutes from the motel walking down main street and the hot pool is located 5 minute walk the other way from the motel. Our massages only lasted 50 minutes, not the 60 minutes as advertised.
I did not find one friendly employee in the whole town. The gal who checked us in could have cared less that we were there. The massage gal at the desk was rude.
We stayed in the "Nature" Room 3, which had 2 fake orchids and 4 paintings of the outdoors. The motel is OLD and has not been updated, except for flat screen tvs. The bathrooms were mildew-y and towels were just old. The beds and pillows were comfortable though.
Our biggest complaint was that the walls of the motel are SUPER THIN. In the morning we heard the man in Room 4 puking his guts out and the girl he was with getting grossed out. There were also childeren in either Room 4 or 5 that we heard til late in the evening. We were also awakened at 4:15am to the sounds of the backhoe and tractor plowing the streets. Not enjoyable- and we are curious as to why they couldnt have started a little later.
The private hot pool was very nice and we enjoyed spending 2 hours there after our massages.
I wont be back to stay at the Aura Soma "Lodge" Motel. Not for how much they charge. I will try somewhere else, however it seems as if most motels in Lava are pretty comparable in price and quality unfortuately.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PghPens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VT
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

I booked this lodging and particular room based on the ratings I found online.
Someone forgot to mention the smell. Room was nicely furnished. However if someone puts their fists through two of the doors in the unit, replace them. The patch job was pathetic . The private spa on the patio had a film on the water.
We decided to walk to market to buy an air freshener or two, as we could live with the smell.
When we returned to our room, I discovered ants crawling on the kitchen floor. I didn't sign up for bugs.
The staff offered to send someone over to kill the ants. That would have meant inhaling more chemicals and wondering all night, " Are they gone?".
Our monies were refunded. They ever went so far as to suggest other places to stay.For their help and understanding we were appreciative.

Room Tip: We had reserved courtyard 9. I do have a sensitive nose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uvmshell51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We made a weekend trip to Lava and stayed in The Asian Room #11. Though it was -7 outside, inside was warm and cozy and just the perfect quaint getaway we were looking for. It was very nice to have a private secluded pool. After 3 days, we went home feeling very relaxed and can't wait to go again.

Room Tip: With all the different room choices, it should be easy to find what you're looking for. Our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lava Hot Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs
Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs
#1 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
386 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa
Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa
#3 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lava Hot Springs Inn
Lava Hot Springs Inn
#7 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lava Spa Motel & RV Park
Lava Spa Motel & RV Park
#5 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lava Hot Springs Suites
Lava Hot Springs Suites
#5 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
10 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tumbling Waters Inn
Tumbling Waters Inn
#6 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aura Soma Lava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aura Soma Lava

Property: Aura Soma Lava
Address: 196 E Main Street, Lava Hot Springs, ID 83246
Region: United States > Idaho > Lava Hot Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Lava Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aura Soma Lava 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your comfort, our desire. Newly appointed rooms. Hot Spring Mineral Pool on Riverfront. Spa rooms. Five vacation rental homes, two with private hot spring soaking tubs. Central city location, private south facing deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Aura Soma Lava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aura Soma Lava Hotel Lava Hot Springs
Aura Soma Lava Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing