We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Done”
Review of Aura Soma Lava

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aura Soma Lava
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Well Done”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This is our second stay at Auro Soma. The first time was in 2009 for a family reunion and at that time I was not at all impressed. This time however you have changed my mind. We stayed at the "Meadows" cottage and we found the cottage clean, well stocked and comfortable. Our family had been on the road for 11 hours and we were all ready to unwind. We liked the idea of having a cottage to ourselves so our kids can be kids and not have to worry about anyone complaining about their noise. The Hot Springs outside tub was fantastic (just remember that it needs to be cooled down with the cold water hose before you get in) and relaxing. The beds were very comfortable. The cottage is centrally located and everything was walking distance. We found a great Pizza place located in the Royal Inn B&B. The pizza was surprisingly good for a small town and the Caesars salad dressing (which they make there) was the best I have ever had - no joke. The only reason i didn't give a 5 rating is because the bathroom in the main bedroom started to smell like sulfur when we showered in the evening and got stronger the next day. Opening the window helped but it was cold outside so that option was a short term fix. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and look forward to coming back very soon.

Room Tip: The cottages are good for families with kids. I can't comment on the other rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr.Insatiable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    71
    27
    13
    13
See reviews for
70
77
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Logan, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Aura Soma Lava is the only place that I will stay in Lava Hot Springs. I have almost stayed in every hotel in Lava and Aura Soma is by far the best in town. The people are so nice and helpful, and the rooms are clean and the beds comfortable! If you want a nice relaxing getaway this is the place to do it at!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I love to do quick get-a-ways in Lava Hot Springs and Aura Soma Lava is always my choice. The rooms are clean the beds are comfortable. Seems silly to note, but I like the bedspreads in the rooms because they remind me of grandma's house! :) I like the rooms that face Main Street, so we have a great little deck to sit on and make lunch or cocktails and hordesvours and people watch. I love their private hot-spring pool down by the river, too, so I don't have to pay extra to go to the public hot-springs with lots of other people. We usually end up with the pool to ourselves. The staff is awesome and they always work very hard to accommodate our needs. I highly recommend this little gem.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We Have been staying with Aura Soma Lava every year for five years now. We love this place. We have stayed at several of the other hotels in town and this is by far our favorite. The rooms are clean and nice. The staff is always so great and the coffee and tea are wonderful that they offer for free in the office. The one thing that changed this year was the hot pool closed at midnight. In the past they have keep it open as long as we were not being loud. Also the man that was coming around every hour to check on us was not the kindness. I can understand he was doing his job but was rather gruff and treating us like we were criminals. We paid for our room and should not have had to experience that. With that being said that was the only two down falls of this Hotel. Over all they do a great job, maybe just talk with the pool guard and ask him to lighten up a bit :-)

Room Tip: We have always stayed in the main hotel, never booked a house. We have always been very happy and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atv_off_road_furry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Since we stayed here for the first time a few years ago, we never go anywhere else! It is SO clean, quiet, the staff is always lovely to us, and it also offers its own private pool near the river. Close to food, bars, and the grocery store. The rates are competitive, too! Check out the courtyard rooms! (Mixed feelings, almost don't wanna share info on this little gem!!) BOTTOM line, it doesn't get any better than this in Lava :)

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms 9, 10, 11 and 12. All great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobnweavn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, Montana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Found this little town purely by chance and what a pleasant surprise. The Aura Soma was a very nice small basic hotel. It is walking distance to everything so once there you don't need to drive. The hotels hot springs pool was fairly large and a good temperature, you could stay in it for a while without overheating. I took an early morning soak and had it to myself. The room was clean, a few minor things needed some attention and I informed the owner who said she would take care of them. The room faced the street and one concern was that there was no deadbolt or safety chain, I put a chair up against the door, I'm sure the town is safe but as a female traveling alone it would have been nice to feel a bit more secure.
If going through this area again I would see if rooms were available.

Room Tip: Ask if room is on the main street or in back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulsbo
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stayed here 1 night to experience the hot springs. Room was average, price was good and I got a good night's sleep. Though they offer their own hot spring just for guests we used another hotel's site and paid for it. Much better and more choices of water temp.

Several times I needed to talk w/ the front desk person but they weren't available. Door was open but no one there or sign was out saying they were out for a bit. Mmmm....

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank opie1Poulsbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelee H, Guest Relations Manager at Aura Soma Lava, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thanks for the feedback,
We are sorry that your stay was not up to our usual standards, and were happy to hear that you found it well priced, and were able to sleep well. We promise that the service you experienced was not usually indicative of our employees or establishment. We will be working on better staff-guest communication in the future.
We hope to see you again soon, and please feel free to email us with more feedback!
Thanks again,
Tim F - Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lava Hot Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs
Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs
#1 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa
Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa
#3 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lava Hot Springs Inn
Lava Hot Springs Inn
#7 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lava Spa Motel & RV Park
Lava Spa Motel & RV Park
#5 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lava Hot Springs Suites
Lava Hot Springs Suites
#5 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lava Hot Springs KOA
Lava Hot Springs KOA
#2 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aura Soma Lava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aura Soma Lava

Property: Aura Soma Lava
Address: 196 E Main Street, Lava Hot Springs, ID 83246
Region: United States > Idaho > Lava Hot Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Lava Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aura Soma Lava 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your comfort, our desire. Newly appointed rooms. Hot Spring Mineral Pool on Riverfront. Spa rooms. Five vacation rental homes, two with private hot spring soaking tubs. Central city location, private south facing deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Aura Soma Lava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aura Soma Lava Hotel Lava Hot Springs
Aura Soma Lava Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing