We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B”
Review of Lions Gate Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lions Gate Manor
2 reviews
“Fantastic B&B”
Reviewed 17 May 2011

We rolled into town not yet having a reservation for a place to stay and were thrilled to end up at Lion's Gate. We didn't know it was there, so we first visited a couple of the hotels/motels in town. While I can appreciate the fact that these places are old and have a nice history we were a little worried when checking them out. The smell of dust was overpowering in the Lava Hot Springs Inn. The visual aspect was much worse. I did not want to sit
Down anywhere. I think much could be done to update these places while preserving the history of the building. We saw a sign for the Lion's Gate as we were walking down the street, so we thought we'd check it out. We couldn't have been happier to find it. We had the opportunity to tour most of the themed rooms. They were really nicely thought out. The location, in my opinion, is perfect. It honestly is just a little ways off main street. (certainly not several miles from town as others have suggested!). We thought it was nice to drive up to the manor after a long soak in the hit pools and feel like we could get away from everyone else a little bit. Breakfast in the mornings is fantastic! I can smell the bacon cooking as I write this review. We were served such a big variety of hot food i felt bad i couldn't eat more. Breakfast is at 9:00 and is family style. It's a lot of fun to visit with the other guests as we eat and share stories. We will definitely come back and look forward to it. Our next visit to Lava will probably be more to stay at the manor. The pools and shops are a bonus.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ckyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    2
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
62
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2011

This was our second time staying at Lions Gate Manor and the accommodations have been consistently great. The location is just far enough out of the town that it feels private. The “Phantoms Lair” room is wonderfully fun and a MUST for those who have ever stayed in a themed room B&B. The quality and variety of food served at breakfast in the beautiful dining room was delightful and plentiful! We’ve been going to Lava Hot Springs for over a decade now and we have stayed many places, none of which even compare to Lions Gate Manor.

Room Tip: The Phantoms Lair was incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simian_tactition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malad City, Idaho
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2011

We were givin the gift certificate for our wedding Anniversary. (What a wonderful gift) It was so good to get away for a special night.
This bed and Breakfast is the best we have ever seen. The owner and his son were so informative and helpful, They showed us around and we got to see the rooms that were still not reserved. The rooms are so elegant and beautiful, Makes you want to stay in all of them.
just like staying at a relatives place. As they say , you come in a strangers and leave as friends.
We stayed in the Secret Garden. All rooms come with a air jetted tub, and shower. The tubs are very relaxing. The Manor is not very far away from the Hot Springs. There are lots of things to do and places to see in Lava.
Or like us you can just have a very romantic and quiet stay at this beautiful home.

Room Tip: Take the on line tour, it makes you want to stay .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolynCleo02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

I booked a room at the Lions Gate after reading several of the reviews here. My wife was concerned about SLCUT84109's review but we felt the pull and the appeal of the themed room we finally picked out. And we felt that pull and appeal in our drive from the Pocatello airport to Lava Hot Springs. And we felt it as we drove up the dirt road that leads to the hotel - right up until we turned the corner and saw a building that could have been picked up out of suburban anywhere.

Well, turns out that my wife (and 84109) were right. Flyfish, I think you grossly missed the analogy 84109 was using. The analogy isn't the physical location it's the feel and the spirit of the old ballparks in Boston and Chicago vs. the new parks located around the country. The look and feel of this facility was out of place and the charm was completely lacking.

The B&B is located several miles from the actual town on a dirt and gravel road among the pines and shrubs that embodies the wild mountains of the west. The beauty of the setting is not arguable. The building, however is two stories with white siding but mistakes newness for charm. Nondescript does not begin to describe it. There is no landscaping around the building and no amenities other than a deck of the back that admittedly does have a nice view but that's about all. Once you're inside, you're inside. There's pretty much nothing else to do but look at the mural on the wall in your room. Or maybe watch a movie on satellite or DVD. In other words the same thing you'd do in any other hotel room in any other town. Now, maybe during the summer there is an opportunity to hike but the mud of the rain & snow precluded that. So we essentially found that we had made a trip with high expectations and found that the only thing we now had to do was to leave for town. C'mon guys, we're spending nearly $1,000 to make the trek to your hotel for the weekend. Give us at least something to do, something that adds value to my hotel room with a fancy bed and paint scheme.

On the other hand when we were in town we had a grand time. There are several little boutiques, the restaurants are good for a tiny resort town in rural Idaho and the nightlife is curious to someone not totally used to the lifestyles of the west. This is one of the few places we've traveled in the last year that still allows smoking in bars which was somewhat irritating but when in Rome... We luckily had our suits with us and after an enjoyable lunch and some rustic shopping we decided to take a quick soak in one of the local pools. It felt great and after probably an hour in the pool we were totally relaxed and would have loved to dry off with our plush towels rather than the small white towels the public pool provides, retire to our room, have a glass of wine and take a nap. Were we in one of the in-town hotels that could have been easily accomplished. Having to drive back to the hotel in our still damp suits we arrived wet, a little cold and completely out of the mood for wine, relaxation or a nap.

As for the rooms at the Lions Gate they are interestingly themed but in all honesty the majority of the "theme" consists of paint, fake plants, murals and accessories. The beds are beds, the TV's are TVs and the DVD players are DVD players just like you find in any hotel room. The Phantom's room drew a chuckle from the overhead bath filler (which splashed all over the floor until there was about an inch of water in the tub) and the owner's insistence that all in our group be present to watch his grand reveal of the hidden staircase behind the bookcase (sorry if that's a spoiler) completely reinforces that he has a flair for the dramatic and showmanship. However once we were back in our room the gimmick of our room lasted about half an hour, then it was nothing but another hotel room.

Now I understand more what the previous reviewer was attempting to convey. The Lions Gate is the slick new ballpark with all of the amenities and luxury suites. It's clean, modern and beautiful with various gimmicks to attract the visitor yet void of any charm. It serves sushi, gluten-free pasta and soy lattes (an analogy, not Lions Gate's actual menu). I believe it was described as an analogy to SkyDome or any of the slick new ballparks that sacrifice charm in the name of "cool". Just as these new parks, the Lions Gate strives to be slick, cool, modern and perfect. It has its attraction but the attraction wears thin after you realize that you haven't rented a memorable theme, you've rented another hotel room. That's the analogy, not the location. Going to a ballgame at Wrigley or Fenway is an event you'll always remember. Sitting in a closed roof, climate controlled artificial grass stadium may be more comfortable and to some people cool but you won't remember it three or four years from now.

During our afternoons in town I found myself more drawn to some of the late 1800's/early 1900's B&Bs we saw during our walks. The staffs were very friendly and were more than happy to show off their nostalgic old gems with all of the pride in the world. What did we find? We found one where the carpet on some of the stairs was worn through and you couldn't take a step without hearing a long, loud squeak. We found another that could use some loving restoration particularly on the wooden stair rails where time has taken its toll on the stain. And there were more in this same genre. Warts, here, scars there, deformities in some places yet warts and all they had the charm of that antique ballpark. We wanted to sit in the lobby and start at the faded walls and say, hello old miner's hospital. Tell me your story. Hello old hotel. Tell us about the people over the last hundred years that have stared out these same windows at the mesmerizing river as we are right now. Yes the bathrooms are small, but sitting on the porch with a cup of tea watching the river roll past makes up for it. The wallpaper and furniture may be somewhat dated but I'd much rather have the convenience of walking downstairs to a private pool or two blocks to a public pool. The warm feeling in contrast to the stark bareness of the Lions Gate completely outweighs these little inconveniences.

I'm in total agreement that while the Lions Gate is an interesting concept if falls not only short but completely flat in this venue. It's out of place not only in relevant location to the town itself (much too far out of town) but also the concept itself left us feeling that we had just grossly overpaid for an absolute vacuum of what we were looking for: relaxing charm.

I've no idea if we'll ever visit Lava Hot Springs again but at this time I certainly want to again and recommend that you do also. However I am completely certain of one thing. Count us in a a couple that will be in one of these older and frankly somewhat run down establishments. Lava Hot Springs' version of the right field bleachers at Wrigley Field.

Great analogy, 84109. Made me go online and re-read "The Green Fields of the Mind" again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UtahUtes3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the_johnc, Owner at Lions Gate Manor, responded to this review, 16 April 2011
We so regret that this guest was not pleased with his visit. He apparently was looking for an older building with a long history written into it's walls. Lava Hot Springs has several such hotels. We elected to move only 1/2 mile off of main street (4 minutes from the hot springs) and build a modern, elegant, ultra clean accomodation for those who enjoy such amenities while visiting Lava's rustic charms and world famous springs.

Lions Gate Manor was built just a couple years ago and is not yet complete. We have concentrated on the beauty and comfort of our rooms and just recently were able to address the landscaping and outward decor to augment the atmosphere of such a romantic getaway. Our rooms are new and luxurious with champaign jetted and lighted tubs, pillow top beds, and handcarved furnishings. The themed rooms are meant to lend an atmosphere from times distant and stories dearly loved.

We hope that in time the walls of our home, our bed and breakfast also speak lovingly of the memories that our guests create there. We welcome, breakfast with, tell stores with, and laugh with our guests. So many come as strangers but leave as friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Excellent for Lava. Newly constructed house with nice comfortable, super clean rooms. Seriously, not a speck of dirt. We had our two young children so we didn't have breakfast but it smelled very good. The owners are very nice and were very accomodating in terms of arrival/checkin times, the kids, and food. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank conure2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, UT
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

I am sitting on the deck of the Lions Gate Manor writing this review. I am overlooking a small valley with some farms surrounded by juniper-covered mountains. It is very quiet, with only the sound of an occasional passing car along the road below and some sporadic mooing from the cows a half a mile away. The sun coming up over the mountains turned the underside of the fluffy clouds a bright pink. We have stayed in many B&Bs through the years from both in the US and Europe. We enjoy the unique character of each, and the Lion Gate Manor is no exception. On only one prior occasion have we felt as though we were staying with a true innkeeper. Our welcome here was very friendly. John and his wife live in the home and John welcomed us as old friends. He gave us a little history of the inn which he and his wife envisioned and built in 2007. He took us on a tour of the rooms that were not yet occupied, about which he was demonstrably excited. Here is a man who loves his work and his inn.

The Lion Gate is about 4 minutes from the main tourists area of Lava Hot Springs (maybe only a mile or two from main street), so if you are looking for somewhere within walking distance of the shops and hot pools, this may not be the place. But what you give up in proximity, you gain in seclusion. It all depends on what you want. We passed many inns in town -- in fact, we remarked that every building was either an inn, a vacation rental or a restaurant. However, we went into a few of the larger hotels/inns/B&Bs to look around, and we felt very happy with our choice. I would expect that the inns in town get quite a bit of noise from the proximity of the main road and the train. To go into town, we put all that we would need in the car. We had no problem parking in town. The only reason that we returned to the inn during the day was for a nap after lunch at a very good Thai restaurant recommended by John. The White Wolf restaurant was a less good recommendation for us, but the choices of eateries was somewhat constrained, as many of them looked very similar. We also drove out to other inns in the area that were much farther away from town, just to see if we made a good choice, and we felt no buyer’s remorse.

OK, the approach to the inn, and its exterior, is not going draw any "Ooohs" an "Aaahs" from visitors but we soon got over that. All guests enter by the front door of the large home for which you will receive a key. The dining room is on the main floor adjacent to the modern kitchen. You are free to use the refrigerator for anything that you want to store. At the top of the main stairs is a sitting area with some bookcases holding a good selection of DVD’s and books available for use. All of the rooms have up-to-date TV’s and DVD players with satellite TV. The free wireless Internet worked great. The beds and bedding are quite comfortable.

The rooms are themed, some more than others. We took a tour of the Phantom Room which was certainly large, unique and interesting with a couple of surprises. We stayed in the Roman Bath which is the second largest and second most themed room. It has a nice bed connected to a sitting room by an archway. The focus of the room is a jetted tub on a three-step pedestal that is part of the sitting room. One great thing about Lions Gate is that everything feels new. The jetted tub has colored lights and electronic controls and was plenty big enough for two people (this is designed as a romantic inn, not a group hot tubbing hotel as a previous reviewer seemed to have believed). The shower was large and nicely tiled. Everything about the bathroom was clean and untouched by the chips, scratches, and other problems that inevitably come with normal wear. Nothing squeaks: not the doors, nor the beds, nor the floors. There is a large deck from our room on the second floor which is also accessible from the public sitting area on the second floor. Some of the other rooms have access to a deck on the front of the inn.

The breakfast was great. Eggs, bacon, sausage, country potatos, waffles, breads, muffins, fruit yogurt, juice and wonderful hot chocolate. The hot food is served in the kitchen so you can take as much or as little as you want. All of the guests eat together at the table (although I am sure other requests could be accommodated). If you were going to stay here, I would say that the Phantom Room was certainly the star attraction, although, by the very nature of being under the “Paris Opera House”, it did not appear to have natural light from any windows. The Roman Bath was great: second floor, bright, roomy. The family rooms would be good for a family of four or five but check with the innkeeper about special rules for breakfast. The other rooms would be fine, but all of the others that we saw were single rooms of various sizes, not suites. But they were very nice. If you want a jetted tub in the sleeping room (as opposed to just in the bathroom), check the descriptions. Or call. I am sure that they would be happy to help you make a selection.

The foregoing description is not to say that the Lions Gate Inn is the best inn at which we have ever stayed. It simply has its own character, much of which it provided by the innkeeper. Most of the themed rooms are single rooms with beautiful furniture, if not always of a style I would put in my house. (That is why they are called "themed" rooms, after all) But if you are looking for an inn which has a jungle room or a pirate room with nets hanging from the ceiling, this is not it. Nor is this the place for those whose want the feeling of an old stone castle refurbished with antiques. We have stayed in those places and they are fun and great, but the have their own character. The Lions Gate manor has put significant money and attention into the imported, solid furnishing, but it is not next to San Francisco or Paris (or Chicago or Boston as a prior reviewer points out). It is next to Lava Hot Springs, Idaho at for that, it is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, UT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

We enjoyed the stay but found quite a few things odd about the B&B. It is located about 2-3 miles out of town which turns out to be more of a disadvantage than advantage. The town itself is very walkable and easy to hit the pools or the hot springs on a whim. Just run to your room, grab your suit and head to the springs if you're staying in town. We found, though, that the need to make a trip back to Lions Gate made us opt not to take a quick jump in the hot pools.

We found the building to be relatively new and in good shape but rather unremarkable and somewhat out of character for the town and the area. It is a basic two story building with rather unconvincing aluminum siding and no landscaping. The front and left side of the building are gravel and are used for parking which takes away from the "curb appeal" of the building. The themed rooms are quite a bit of fun, occasionally a bit over the top but definitely unique. The hit of the rooms is the Phantom themed suite with a replica of the Phantom of the Opera's lair and the owner's rather dramatic introduction to it. The common areas, however are another story. The carpet is an odd, maroonish-brown color and appears to be a mid-grade carpet. The owners take great pride in the fact that their furniture is carved in and imported from Malaysia. The pieces are very pretty but extremely out of place for the rustic setting the B&B is in. The walls are very stark white with disjointed pieces of art here and there headlined by a picture of Jesus Christ on the upstairs wall in the sitting area. That seemed rather odd until we started perusing the books available in the bookcase. Many are pretty standard but we soon surmised that the owners are obviously of the Latter Day Saint religion. There are many Mormon themed books and a framed anti-proposition 8 declaration prominently displayed. We found that a little disquieting. Nothing against religion in general or Mormons but this seemed a bit inappropriate.

The bed part of the bed and breakfast is well handled. The sheets soft, the mattresses and pillows plush and a large variety of blankets, comforters, etc. to insure adequate temperature while sleeping. The bathrooms were nice and well accompanied but were rather generic and did not even remotely match the theme of our room which we found a bit odd also but the comfort of the tub for a single person definitely made up for it. Sitting up on a hill above the town there are no natural hot springs on the property which we knew but we had expected that there would be at least a hot tub available for multiple people.

The breakfast side of this B&B left a lot to be desired. Again it seemed disjointed and certainly unspectacular. The fruit was nice but it was basic bacon and eggs when it came right down to it. We were expecting something a little more upscale from a place that describes itself as a luxury facility. They have a nicely appointed kitchen at the Lions Gate. Hopefully they will find someone to bring the food to its level. It was distracting to us that the kitchen opens directly to the dining area. The table also only seats six people at a time.

All in all we had a very enjoyable time in our first trip to Lava Hot Springs but both felt that most of the enjoyment came from the quaintness and rustic feel of the town. The Blue Moon bar (If you like a good strong drink definitely stop by there) seems to sum up the feel of the town. It's an old west bar in a converted automotive garage in an old west town. If I were to use a sports analogy I would put it this way. The old railroad hotel and the former miner's hospital which is now a B&B are Wrigley Field and Fenway Park. Both are old and have parts that show their wear but they have charm to them. The Lions Gate on the other hand has a really cool, flashy gimmick like the retractable roof on Skydome. It's really cool and fun the first and maybe the second time but then it starts feeling contrived and forced.

I'm saying yes, I would recommend this hotel to a friend but with reservations and lowered expectations.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank slcut84109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lava Hot Springs hotels
0.8 mi away
Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa
Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa
#3 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
180 reviews
0.8 mi away
Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs
Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs
#1 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
393 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aura Soma Lava
Aura Soma Lava
#4 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lava Hot Springs Inn
Lava Hot Springs Inn
#7 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
211 reviews
0.7 mi away
Suites of Lava Hot Springs
Suites of Lava Hot Springs
#4 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
12 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lava Hot Springs KOA
Lava Hot Springs KOA
#1 of 9 in Lava Hot Springs
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lions Gate Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lions Gate Manor

Property: Lions Gate Manor
Address: 10376 S Dempsey Creek Rd, Lava Hot Springs, ID 83246-1535
Region: United States > Idaho > Lava Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Lava Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lions Gate Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New luxury Bed and Breakfast located next to rustic western resort town of Lava Hot Springs. We have themed rooms and suites built for couples or the individual to enjoy a romantic or recuperative getaway. Each room has its own luxury bath with shower. All but one have an air jetted/lighted deep soaking tub. The beds are handcarved and have pillowtop mattresses. We welcome you each morning to a full country breakfast around our 'royal table'. Our suites include 'The Phantom's Lair,' 'Medieval Chambers,' 'Roman Baths,' 'Castillian Dynasty,' 'Victorian Suite,' 'Secret Garden,' 'Persian Dreams,' 'Cosy Cottage.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lions Gate Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lions Gate Manor Hotel Lava Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing