We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So sadly disappointing.”
Review of Lions Gate Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lions Gate Manor
Brooklyn, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So sadly disappointing.”
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Ah... Where to begin?

We came to the end of our 12 day Rocky Mountain vacation and drove to Lions Gate Manor from Montana expecting a truly luxurious last night before flying back to New York. We had had a marvelous trip......until then.

The reviews on this site were stellar. This was definitely one of the factors that led us to book a $177 dollar a room night for an inn in the middle of freaking nowhere Idaho.
The young lady (not the owners who were never seen) who greeted us was friendly and courteous. She was lovely and this isn't a dig at any particular individual, more than it is at a cheap wannabe not-so-fancy-even-though-it wish-it-were crappy motel.

The ridiculous faux Medieval architecture and horrible religious piano music that never turns off was almost too much to bear. Our "Secret Garden" suite was actually next to the noisy gravel driveway out front. Was that the secret? shhhhhh..............

I asked to have the absolutely freezing ac turned down but was informed that the only other guest on the floor was too hot and therefore there wasn't much to be done since there was only one thermostat for the entire floor! I had to get up at 2:30 am and go out into the hallway in my underwear and shut off the damn stereo which was playing the cheesiest religious piano music ever committed to compact disc. We pleasantly informed our host we would be leaving early the next morning when we first arrived and she was sweet enough to leave us breakfast in a basket outside our door when we awoke.

Although this was very kind of her (and I want to emphasize how nice this woman was), one should hope to expect more than a pre-wrapped stale Otis Spunkmeyer muffin for Almost $200 with tax per night even if it did come with some juice and fruit.

I don't think I will ever understand places like this or how some people think this is "fancy" just because there are some cheap Chinese made fake antique-like things spread around. The two person tub was too small for two people. $85 pre tax would have been par for the course with this place and would have prevented me from writing such a negative review.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marlan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the_johnc, Owner at Lions Gate Manor, responded to this review, 30 September 2012
I am so sorry that our New York guests did not like Idaho nor our Bed and Breakfast. New York is lush and beautiful, a place I have lived in and visited with joy. Idaho is rugged and wild with a bit of the rough wild west still evident. It has great beauty as well but may not fit everyone's tastes. Lions Gate Manor was built as a fun, modern and new get-away in the midst of an Idaho Resort Area. Decks overlook the beautiful mountains and hills while deer roam the grounds.

We have reviewed carefully the comments of these and all our guests. We try in every case to improve if we can. So thank you for letting us know we need to revisit some things at our B&B. One area of concern we have with these guests' experience was the temperature control. As a house we invested in separate temperature controls for each level of the house. We do try to provide a fan or heater - whatever is needed to keep the guests comfortable. We provided a heater to these guests. This has helped other guests to keep the temperature to their liking. These guests stated that they opened a window. That may have let in warmth in the evening but also would let in cold in the crisp mountain night. We are sorry they were so uncomfortable. We are addressing this problem again.

Their hostess - my daughter - is indeed a kind and gracious woman. Thank you for your kind compliments about her. I am proud of how well she represents the family at Lions Gate. She works hard to make sure all our guests are well cared for. She would have loved to provide a full hot breakfast had these guests so desired. But since they informed her late that they were leaving early she put together a basket of food from what was available so they would have something to start out the new day.

I hope they do not mind my clearing up a few misunderstandings they seem to have had. The room they chose comes with a 1 person jetted and lighted deep soaker tub. There are rooms with 2 person tubs - they did not select one of them. The room they did chose was the "Secret Garden" room. It is decorated to represent the novel 'The Secret Garden", thus the draped 4 poster bed, the floral chandelier, etc. The 'religious' music they were unhappy with was actually popular tunes from Broadway Musical Hits played by a world class pianist. We will try to make sure the soft and quiet background music is turned off completely at night. And finally I'm not sure why they felt there were Chinese 'antique-like' furnishings. None of it is. For example – the tutor bed in the Medieval chamber is from the Woodcrafter's Guild of England (over 1000 years of creating masterpieces for English nobility and royalty). The masterful carvings and details in their products are awe inspiring. All are new, not antiques, nor do we ever claim they are antiques.. They were chosen and shipped in for the atmosphere they add to our themed suites and luxurious lounge and dining areas.

Again we apologize to these guests that their stay was not what they expected. Had they had time they might have loved to see the azure beauty of Bear Lake from the tops of the Wasatch Mountains, the craggy threat of the Lava Fields of Idaho, basked in the pure, hot pools in town here, played golf, gone on a wagon to a cowboy supper, or slowed down enough to see how wonderful the Westerners can be. We will try even more to make every guest welcome and comfortable. We want to meet them as strangers but leave us as friends.

Tami Clark
Lions Gate Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    2
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
62
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

I am not the most traveled person you might meet, but having lived and traveled extensively in Europe for 8 years and then in the US, I feel I am somewhat experienced in this area. My wife, son and I truly enjoyed our 4 days at Lions Gate. Tami and her family are gracious hosts and made every effort to make our stay enjoyable. "Fine" hotels we have stayed in did not offer the personal touch they afford their guests. The rooms are all nicely decorated (got the tour) and most importantly are clean, something very important to my wife and I. They are spacious and most offer jet tubs. The location was perfect...just on the outskirts of town, albeit a small town, Lava Hot Springs burst into life on Saturday and being away from the crowds was a blessing. The breakfast was awesome - variety and quality were abundant. Tami pointed out all the highlights and among them were the zip line adventure and the Thai restaurant. Don't let the fact that the restaurant is in an old (refurbished) gas station deter you - the food was great. Of course the hot pools/springs and the giant swimming pool (with slides and high dives) were special treats as well. We ate at every restaurant in town and had very good meals at each of them (pizza place was really good). The river rafting is fun, especially on hot days like we had, but I caution you...bring shoes to wear as the river bottom rocks are lava rocks...sharp! You can purchase "beach" shoes in town for a relatively low price, but bring an old pair of sneakers and save your money. After a tiring day of activities, it was nice to head back to the hospitality, clean rooms and comfortable beds!

Room Tip: The house was very quiet even when full. It's really for couples or families with one child...w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikiejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

This was our first stop on our annual week long motorcycle ride. What a WONDERFUL place to stay! We stayed in the Medieval Chamber room and it was AWESOME! The staff was top notch. Breakfast looked delicious but unfortunately we had to get back on the road early. We highly recommend this to all travelers in Lava Hot Springs. Be sure to eat the Chuckwagon if you like home cooked diner food.... best scones ever!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbarboza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

If you are visiting Lava Hot Springs this is a lovely place to stay. The inn is custom built as a bed and breakfast and so the rooms are spacious with beautiful bathrooms. We stayed in the Cozy Cottage Suite - perhaps not one of the more opulant rooms but that suited us well. It had a small ante room with a sofa, coffee table and TV leading onto a reasonably sized bedroom with another TV and a well sized bathroom with luxurious fittings. Very clean with all the facilities you need for a few nights stay. Why did we not give it a five star rating? Whilst the accommodation is everything you could need there was perhaps that little bit missing in the overall experience: for example - it would be great to have the ability to make yourself tea/coffee during the day/evening if you are spending some time relaxing in the inn; breakfast was the same every day - a variation would be better; two gallon plastic milk and orange juice cartons placed in the centre of the breakfast table detracted from the beautiful furniture and table settings; and there was a lack of supplies in the bathroom. These are however just things that could take a lovely place to stay to being a fantastic place to stay. If you are going to Lava Hot Springs we would still recommend you stay here. And, if it is a special occasion and you want something really different then stay in the Phantom's lair. We were given a tour and it is amazing - really, really well done and like nothing else we have ever seen in a bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACandC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herriman, UT
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

The brochure for Lava Hot Springs omits one key detail--around the clock, frequent freight trains on a rallroad main line that runs through town blast horns for four grade crossings. Lions Gate is insulated from this noise by being located in the beautiful rolling hills outside town.

But that's just one of many advantages. This is a well appointed B&B, with theme suites geared especially to the fantasies of young couples. The Phantom of the Opera suite has to be seen to be believed! The interior is spotless, the mattresses are exceptionally comfortable, and our room had a jacuzzi with shower. the hospitality is excellent and personable, and the hot breakfast is simply sinful.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Just explain the kind of suite you seek, and the owner-managers will do their best to accommodate yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill_K_Utah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We were touring through Lava Hot Springs and followed the signs to this lodging. Waited for a tour, woman left us sitting and did not come back. Rooms looked faux and overpriced. Would rather stay in an old fashioned hotel in town!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the_johnc, Owner at Lions Gate Manor, responded to this review, 30 September 2012
I'm so sorry that you were left waiting for a tour. Apparently you did not recieve the tour as other guests arrived before you and you decided not to wait. When our guests are checking in or out we like to give them our undivided attention, but we try to greet everyone warmly. I assume you were greeted and asked to wait in either our lounge or on the bench in our entry way.

We will try to be more cognizant of the time when those wishing for a tour come up. We apologize. If you had been able to take a tour you may have changed your mind when you saw the Phantom's Lair or the baths from Rome.

Sincerely

The Clark family from Lions Gate Manor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho Falls, Idaho, United States
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Phantom's Lair for our 20th Wedding Anniversary. It was magical! I surprised him, and he couldn't get over the rooms. With the dimmed lights, and the lights in the tub, and the decor, we were able to enjoy a completely relaxing, peaceful atmosphere!! We are huge fans of Phantom of the Opera, and were amazed at the attention to detail in our rooms, as well as the other 7 themed rooms. Breakfast was delicious, and we enjoyed visiting with the other couple there and Tami even sat down with us to visit.

We have previously stayed at Greystone Manor in Lava a couple of times, but it had since been sold and we thought they were closed. What drew us to Lions Gate Manor was the fact that a B & B in Idaho Falls and one in Pocatello don't allow you to check in until 5 p.m. and check out is at 11 a.m. the next day. If you want an earlier or later time, you must pay $10 per hour extra!! The owners at Lions Gate allowed us to check in before 3 and check out after 1 p.m. with no extra charge!

The entire atmosphere, the location (only 4-5 minutes from downtown), and the view is beautiful, relaxing, and wonderful!!!Saw 2 deer upon arrival and bunnies in the morning. Will recommend this to everyone!!

The Clarks are a wonderful, kind, accommodating family. We truly felt like we belonged, and were family!

Thanks for the best anniversary ever!!

Gordon & Cindy
Idaho Falls

Room Tip: Didn't share more photos, some things you just need to see and experience for yourself
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lava Hot Springs
0.8 mi away
Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa
Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa
#3 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
178 reviews
0.8 mi away
Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs
Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs
#1 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
389 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aura Soma Lava
Aura Soma Lava
#4 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lava Hot Springs Inn
Lava Hot Springs Inn
#6 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
209 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lava Spa Motel & RV Park
Lava Spa Motel & RV Park
#5 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
70 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Harkness Hotel
The Harkness Hotel
#1 of 1 in McCammon
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lions Gate Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lions Gate Manor

Property: Lions Gate Manor
Address: 10376 S Dempsey Creek Rd, Lava Hot Springs, ID 83246-1535
Region: United States > Idaho > Lava Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Lava Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Lions Gate Manor 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New luxury Bed and Breakfast located next to rustic western resort town of Lava Hot Springs. We have themed rooms and suites built for couples or the individual to enjoy a romantic or recuperative getaway. Each room has its own luxury bath with shower. All but one have an air jetted/lighted deep soaking tub. The beds are handcarved and have pillowtop mattresses. We welcome you each morning to a full country breakfast around our 'royal table'. Our suites include 'The Phantom's Lair,' 'Medieval Chambers,' 'Roman Baths,' 'Castillian Dynasty,' 'Victorian Suite,' 'Secret Garden,' 'Persian Dreams,' 'Cosy Cottage.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Lions Gate Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lions Gate Manor Hotel Lava Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing