We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Upgraded in the fall” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel McCall

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in McCall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel McCall
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in McCall
Certificate of Excellence
Bandon, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Upgraded in the fall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Our room reservations were upgraded when we arrived to a spacious condo with overlooking the garden. The staff was cordial and accommodating. Since the hotel was not busy late in Sept as it was somewhat smokey due to forest fires the desk clerk suggested an upgrade at a very reasonable rate so we jumped on it for our two day stay. We loved the coffee shop a few doors away, for snacks and lunch. Enjoyed the lake view at the hotel restaurant dining on good pasta, fresh salad with a decent wine. The indoor saltwater infinity pool was perfect, long enough for laps.

Room Tip: Garden view condo or lake view rooms are quieter, especially during the high seasons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeeganSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    21
    7
    6
    5
See reviews for
25
46
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

We reserved our hotel room over a week in advance and on arrival in the morning paid for our hotel room. Later that day when we returned to get the room key a different person at the check in counter had no record that we paid. In addition the person had no idea that room was ours and reserved. Luckily they had not rented our room out. The staff in the restaurant is apathetic and after several attempts at ordering we ended up going somewhere else for dinner, I could understand if the restaurant was busy but that was not the case. In addition the free breakfast amounted to nothing more than cold cereal and toast. We make several trips to McCall each year and this was our first and last experience at Hotel McCall. Check around as there are better options in McCall than this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stvdmps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginny A, Manager at Hotel McCall, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Trying to accommodate your early arrival so you could go skiing with our tickets the desk clerk failed to pass over the information at the shift change that she had pre checked you in and given you the lift tickets. At no time would you not have had a king standard room which you had reserved. We have corrected the pass over problem and hopefully will not happen to anyone else during their check in process. The restaurant was extremely busy that Saturday night as their chef James Beard Foundation award had just been announced for Rupert's Chef, Gary Kuce. It could have been that the staff was in a wonderful "shock" as this award was only awarded to 2 restaurants in the state of Idaho out of 40,000 entries nation wide. As for the expanded continental breakfast on that morning we had fresh brewed Dawson Taylor coffee, bagels, English muffins, a variety of fresh fruits which I believe on Sunday had pineapple, sliced oranges, a melon, bananas, 3 kinds of juices, blueberry bread for toast, an assortment of pastries and an assortment of dry cereals. There also is a large selection of tea's and hot water for oatmeal or cider if needed. Your stay and ski package discounted the room by more than 30% and it had recently been refreshed with new paint, lamps and furniture. Our prices have not been raised since the recession started and being downtown across from the lake our value is the best in town. We continually check rates of other establishments in town and ours are the best value for location, ammenities, and price. Thank you for your review although we don't think it was entirely fair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meridian, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

We made a reservation in September 2012 for the premium condo overlooking the festivities for Winter Carnival 2014 (2013 was booked already). We were contacted in February 2013 and told that we would not be allowed to keep the reservation since the same party has a monopoly to book that room year after year after year. We were told (quote) "we have never allowed someone to come in off the street and make a reservation for Winter Carnival two years in advance" (end-quote). No amount of arguing would make them change their minds and honor the reservation made by one of their employees, on-site. We had already invited out-of-state guests to join us for this special weekend. Terrible, horrible customer service and public relations. I will never stay there or recommend them to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginny A, Manager at Hotel McCall, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
As we explained in several emails and phone calls the week-end you picked in Sept 2012 for Winter Carnival 2014 was the second week-end. The dates are deceiving for that month but Winter Carnival is always the last FULL week-end in Jan. which makes 3 of the week-end days in Jan. this next year. We do honor our guests from year to year but luckily we had guests that did not re-book their rooms for 2014 for the 1st week-end and we were able to move you to those rooms. The rooms we had reserved were the Executive Suite which sleeps 4 and has a beautiful view of the lake, fireplace and full kitchen with dining area. It actually would have been less expensive than the room you were trying to book. You notified us a week later that you did not want these rooms and would like to cancel. We work hand in hand with the McCall Chamber of Commerce to project the best destination resort area in Idaho so trying to undo a slight that you felt was certainly a high priority. Since you've never stayed with us I would hope that in the future you might give us a try and you could review us from an actual stay. Thank you for your calls, emails and letter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nampa, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Nice enough hotel, person at check-in counter wasnt overly friendly when we were checking in but thats fine she was efficient.
Room was a nice size (had 2 queens) plenty of space in the bathroom and storage space in the room.
The one serious downside was the bed was awful! lumpy and hard!
No coffee maker in the room (did have a microwave) they have complementary breakfast from 7-9am but I would like to have had coffee without having to get dressed and go downstairs.
You could definitely hear people in the hallways and the guy shoveling snow out front.
We ate at Ruperts the restaurant in the hotel which was awesome!
overall it was nice enough but a bit overpriced for what we got...

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginny A, Manager at Hotel McCall, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Thank you for your review. The only thing I can figure out about the lumpy bed would be that the mattress pad covers that we use might have slipped and cause the lumpy feel. Our mattresses are fairly new and most have pillow tops. We do have coffee set ups that can be requested at the front desk. I'm sorry you weren't informed that these were available. Our breakfast is from 7-9:30am in Rupert's Restaurant . I hope you will give us another chance to get the rating up from 3 to 5 as we value your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012 via mobile

Great accommodations with British flair!. Beautiful views of Payette Lake. Clean rooms. Great Staff and excellent food! Best location in McCall. From checking into the Hotel to leaving was a great experience. Locals of McCall made us very welcome.

Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

We were looking for a last minute getaway and called the hotel on a Saturday morning. They were able to give us a great deal on a Deluxe King room and were ready for us to check in by noon. The room was spotless, decor was charming - perfect mix of modern and cozy. You can tell the age of the building, but I think it's well taken care of. The bathroom soaker tub was perfect the relax in at the end of a chilly day strolling through town.

The staff was friendly, breakfast was above average for a continental, and we had absolutely no issues with the stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cramy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

We just did our wedding reception at Hotel McCall and the entire hotel was filled with only our guests all weekend. I heard nothing but great things. People were impressed by the renovations and quality of the room details, with the friendly and small staff, with the library and pool, food, etc. We did a reception for 100 at Rupert's and the staff there was equally impressive, adaptable and helpful. The condos are particularly beautiful and the lakeside suites are amazing. I truly cannot say enough good things about Amy and the staff there. We had folks in from D.C., L.A., New York, Chicago, Florida...everyone was impressed and had a wonderful weekend. I'm so thankful to everyone there!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McCall
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - The Hunt Lodge
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS McCall Lodge & Suites
0.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Long Valley Motel
Long Valley Motel
#2 of 2 in Donnelly
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
1.2 mi away
Super 8 McCall
Super 8 McCall
#4 of 8 in McCall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
1.6 mi away
Brundage Inn
Brundage Inn
#6 of 8 in McCall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel McCall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel McCall

Property: Hotel McCall
Address: 1101 N 3rd St, McCall, ID 83638
Region: United States > Idaho > McCall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in McCall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel McCall is located downtown and on the shore of Payette Lake. A recent remodel has introduced a full service restaurant and bar. Indoor salt water pool . Individually decorated rooms with A/C. Limited meeting room space available. Homemade continental breakfast,complimentary glass of wine or beer at Rupert's. Plus milk and cookies for bedtime. Complimentary DVD library at front desk. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel McCall Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing