We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
65
28
9
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
65
28
9
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfasthotel restaurantperfect locationdowntown locationhotel offersroad sidepayette lakeindoor poolbeautiful hotelloved our stayroom ratewalking distancedefinitely stay here againgreat roombed was comfortableclean roomssmall town
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I recently booked the hotel to house many of our out of town wedding guests. Family and friends were all there. It was the perfect location, allowing folks to explore McCall and provided great access to area attractions. The rooms are cool and each seems a little unique. I like that it does not have that "chain" feeling. The staff was very helpful and was easy to work with. I know that many left with a great feeling and are looking forward to coming back.

Room Tip: I did not use room service. The pool is great!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrwnDgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Our room reservations were upgraded when we arrived to a spacious condo with overlooking the garden. The staff was cordial and accommodating. Since the hotel was not busy late in Sept as it was somewhat smokey due to forest fires the desk clerk suggested an upgrade at a very reasonable rate so we jumped on it for our two day stay. We loved the coffee shop a few doors away, for snacks and lunch. Enjoyed the lake view at the hotel restaurant dining on good pasta, fresh salad with a decent wine. The indoor saltwater infinity pool was perfect, long enough for laps.

Room Tip: Garden view condo or lake view rooms are quieter, especially during the high seasons.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeeganSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We reserved our hotel room over a week in advance and on arrival in the morning paid for our hotel room. Later that day when we returned to get the room key a different person at the check in counter had no record that we paid. In addition the person had no idea that room was ours and reserved. Luckily they had not rented our room out. The staff in the restaurant is apathetic and after several attempts at ordering we ended up going somewhere else for dinner, I could understand if the restaurant was busy but that was not the case. In addition the free breakfast amounted to nothing more than cold cereal and toast. We make several trips to McCall each year and this was our first and last experience at Hotel McCall. Check around as there are better options in McCall than this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginny A, Manager at Hotel McCall, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Trying to accommodate your early arrival so you could go skiing with our tickets the desk clerk failed to pass over the information at the shift change that she had pre checked you in and given you the lift tickets. At no time would you not have had a king standard room which you had reserved. We have corrected the pass over problem and hopefully will not happen to anyone else during their check in process. The restaurant was extremely busy that Saturday night as their chef James Beard Foundation award had just been announced for Rupert's Chef, Gary Kuce. It could have been that the staff was in a wonderful "shock" as this award was only awarded to 2 restaurants in the state of Idaho out of 40,000 entries nation wide. As for the expanded continental breakfast on that morning we had fresh brewed Dawson Taylor coffee, bagels, English muffins, a variety of fresh fruits which I believe on Sunday had pineapple, sliced oranges, a melon, bananas, 3 kinds of juices, blueberry bread for toast, an assortment of pastries and an assortment of dry cereals. There also is a large selection of tea's and hot water for oatmeal or cider if needed. Your stay and ski package discounted the room by more than 30% and it had recently been refreshed with new paint, lamps and furniture. Our prices have not been raised since the recession started and being downtown across from the lake our value is the best in town. We continually check rates of other establishments in town and ours are the best value for location, ammenities, and price. Thank you for your review although we don't think it was entirely fair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We made a reservation in September 2012 for the premium condo overlooking the festivities for Winter Carnival 2014 (2013 was booked already). We were contacted in February 2013 and told that we would not be allowed to keep the reservation since the same party has a monopoly to book that room year after year after year. We were told (quote) "we have never allowed someone to come in off the street and make a reservation for Winter Carnival two years in advance" (end-quote). No amount of arguing would make them change their minds and honor the reservation made by one of their employees, on-site. We had already invited out-of-state guests to join us for this special weekend. Terrible, horrible customer service and public relations. I will never stay there or recommend them to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginny A, Manager at Hotel McCall, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

As we explained in several emails and phone calls the week-end you picked in Sept 2012 for Winter Carnival 2014 was the second week-end. The dates are deceiving for that month but Winter Carnival is always the last FULL week-end in Jan. which makes 3 of the week-end days in Jan. this next year. We do honor our guests from year to year but luckily we had guests that did not re-book their rooms for 2014 for the 1st week-end and we were able to move you to those rooms. The rooms we had reserved were the Executive Suite which sleeps 4 and has a beautiful view of the lake, fireplace and full kitchen with dining area. It actually would have been less expensive than the room you were trying to book. You notified us a week later that you did not want these rooms and would like to cancel. We work hand in hand with the McCall Chamber of Commerce to project the best destination resort area in Idaho so trying to undo a slight that you felt was certainly a high priority. Since you've never stayed with us I would hope that in the future you might give us a try and you could review us from an actual stay. Thank you for your calls, emails and letter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Nice enough hotel, person at check-in counter wasnt overly friendly when we were checking in but thats fine she was efficient.
Room was a nice size (had 2 queens) plenty of space in the bathroom and storage space in the room.
The one serious downside was the bed was awful! lumpy and hard!
No coffee maker in the room (did have a microwave) they have complementary breakfast from 7-9am but I would like to have had coffee without having to get dressed and go downstairs.
You could definitely hear people in the hallways and the guy shoveling snow out front.
We ate at Ruperts the restaurant in the hotel which was awesome!
overall it was nice enough but a bit overpriced for what we got...

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginny A, Manager at Hotel McCall, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

Thank you for your review. The only thing I can figure out about the lumpy bed would be that the mattress pad covers that we use might have slipped and cause the lumpy feel. Our mattresses are fairly new and most have pillow tops. We do have coffee set ups that can be requested at the front desk. I'm sorry you weren't informed that these were available. Our breakfast is from 7-9:30am in Rupert's Restaurant . I hope you will give us another chance to get the rating up from 3 to 5 as we value your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews