We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Hotel McCall

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in McCall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel McCall
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in McCall
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed one night. Room was very small. Service was marginal - first the desk clerk sent us across the street and upstairs to our room. After searching upstairs and down for 10 minutes carrying our bags, went back to the front desk to find that she had sent us to the wrong place and we had to heft everything up another flight do stairs. There was a nice sitting room adjacent to our very small room, so we went in there to relax in front of the fire, but could not find the switch to light the fire so called the desk to ask for help. "Oh, you can't use that room, that costs extra," she said and hurried up to usher us out and lock the door. (There did not appear to be another soul in the hotl so this action seemed like very poor customer service!" The decor was nice, lovely view of the lake from the breakfast dining room, but the tomato juice was spoiled and the fruit was several days old and past its prime. Overall, a disappointing experience and will not stay here again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ishad0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginny A, Manager at Hotel McCall, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

I wanted to respond to your review promptly and go caught up with year end duties so I apologize for the tardiness of this response. I agree with you about our mistake in leaving the living room door open; that our clerk should have just left it. Not sure about how she explain where your room was that you had a complete tour of our facility before finally finding your room. Our breakfast is cut fresh each morning and I don't know how the tomato juice was stale. I have double checked with breakfast attendant to double check all juices each morning. I wish you would come and give us another try and if so I would be happy to add that living room, kitchen, lake view on to the room on us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for Hotel McCall
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

We were a walk-in with no reservation after a long drive from northern Montana. The front desk clerk was great and gave us a huge king bed room at a discounted rate (granted it was the off season and I think business pretty slow). The room was "partial lake view" and exactly that with a view of the lake as well as a great view of old downtown McCall. We had absolutely no complaints. The staff were all helpful and friendly, and the room was nicely furnished and had a jetted tub in the large bathroom. This is exactly the type of property we love. Locally owned and obviously lovingly restored with a lot of character. Location is indeed one of the best things about the hotel with shops and great restaurants literally across the street, much closer than most of the nicer chain hotels in McCall. There's also a great little wine bar and bistro in the courtyard across from the hotel entrance just a few meters away. We would definitely stay here the next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desert_fishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This is a lovely hotel and restaurant, but there is nowhere to put anything. The one flat surface in the bedroom was completely covered with the television and dvd player, the bedside tables with lamps and there was nowhere in the bathroom to put our washing gear. it is not the first and I am sure it will not be the last. We get the impression that hotel room designers never stay in hotels. The restaurant was first class - but they charged us $2 for milk to take to the room when it was free in reception!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The fairly tiny Hotel McCall never seemed to have a room when I wanted to go (my fault for taking most of my trips last minute). Finally was able to book a Lakewivew Condo for a weekend. THis is not really a condo, just a very nice suite. One bedroom, one bath, great room with dining, living and kitchen areas. Lots of space, very tastefully finished, and an amzing balcony view over Payette Lake.

Room Tip: The Lakeview Condos are fabulous, but a little pricey. Can't tell you about the rest of the roo...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

After a long, and wet, motorcycle ride, we were so happy to arrive at the hotel. As I walked up to the front desk the clerk just looked at me , confused, she said, " may I help you?" I told her I had a reservation and would like to check in. She told me all of the reservations, for that night, had already checked in,, (tip-always bring a copy of your reservation conformation) after showing her my reservation information she went out of her way to find us a room and made us feel welcomed. The hotel was beautiful and filled with antiques, being close to Halloween, they had it decorated with some fun, cute and appropriate decorations. Our room was more then adequate, it was clean, spacious and had all the amenities needed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank becky o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We did not make a reservation because we were not sure we would make to McCall on our motorcycles with the changing weather, when we arrived they only had condo rooms available but gave us a discount which was pretty considerate and not much then a standard hotel across town that was not within walking distance of restaurants. After riding in the rain for the past two hours we took the room. A really great surprise was the room had a washer and dryer; these came in very handy as our riding gear was really wet. Worth the extra expense! The room was nice, clean and has been up-dated. The only drawback was the trash truck frequenting neighboring buildings well before dawn! The hotel cannot control the city services, but the sound seems to have no barrier as if we have open windows and doors. I would stay again but avoid a Thursday night stay to not hear the trash collection way too early on Friday morning!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We had reservations for this hotel for one night day after the road to McCall was closed (September 6th). We didn't know the road was closed until we came to the spot where we were turned around. After realizing the detour would take us another 3 hours to reach McCall, making a total of a 5 hour drive, we called the hotel to see if we could cancel or use our reservation another time. Since our time in McCall was to be so short, we didn't want to spend all of our time in the car getting there and back.

The front desk clerk was rude and condescending. Rather than politely saying no, she acted like we were putting her out and stupid for asking. When we arrived, she was no better. We were tired and frustrated from the long drive and she greeted us with distain. When we expressed our frustration about her customer service skills, she said in a snotty and hostile way, "Welcome to McCall, people."

We understand cancellation policies, but when it comes to an act of God and circumstances we couldn't avoid, some measure of cooperation would have been appreciated. At least some grace and customer service would have made the 5 hour drive to McCall from Boise more bearable.

Other than your front desk clerk's lack of hospitality, the facility is very nice. However, we won't be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McCall
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - The Hunt Lodge
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Mccall Lodge & Suites
16.5 mi away
Tamarack Resort
Tamarack Resort
#1 of 2 in Donnelly
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Rustic Inn
The Rustic Inn
#6 of 8 in McCall
59 reviews
1.1 mi away
Super 8 McCall
Super 8 McCall
#4 of 8 in McCall
346 reviews
1.6 mi away
Brundage Inn
Brundage Inn
#7 of 8 in McCall
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel McCall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel McCall

Address: 1101 N 3rd St, McCall, ID 83638
Region: United States > Idaho > McCall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in McCall
Price Range: £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel McCall is located downtown and on the shore of Payette Lake. A recent remodel has introduced a full service restaurant and bar. Indoor salt water pool . Individually decorated rooms with A/C. Limited meeting room space available. Homemade continental breakfast,complimentary glass of wine or beer at Rupert's. Plus milk and cookies for bedtime. Complimentary DVD library at front desk. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel McCall Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing