We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun on the lake without a motor boat”

Ponderosa State Park
Ranked #2 of 21 things to do in McCall
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located just 1.5 miles from downtown McCall, Ponderosa State Park is a year round destination park. Covering a thousand-acre peninsula that juts into Payette Lake, this picturesque state park offers guided walks with naturalists, campfire programs and camping facilities. During winter months the park has groomed Nordic Ski trails and snowshoe trals.
Sisters, Oregon
Level Contributor
74 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fun on the lake without a motor boat”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

On the northwest end of Payette Lake there is a State Park area with a vendor that offers rentals of canoes, kayaks, etc. You must pay $5 to park in this area. You can paddle up the river and into the marshy areas north of the lake. It is very peaceful and fun. We highly recommend this activity for anyone who visits McCall.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank pancakeprincess1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    49
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McCall, Idaho
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Great for hiking and picnicking. We always take visitors up to Osprey Point to see Payette Lake and surrounding mountains in all of its splendor. It never ceases to amaze. Bring your cameras!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Biking through the park”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We rented bikes in McCall and rode them through the park. There are nice well marked trails for biking and hiking. We saw several deer and the trail had a great view of the lake.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Biker1355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foresthill, Ca
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Worth a Trip While in McCall....”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We drove 650 miles from Northern California with our two Labrador retrievers......tried to find a place to let 'em run and stumbled across Ponderosa State Park....beautiful place on a beautiful lake with meadows on one side......5 bucks to get in but well worth it.....head down the scenic loop (believe its to the North) and spend some time.....we're surrounded by state parks where we live and this one is real special.....went on a Sat night about 5 pm and was ample parking, etc.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ScottB68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellsville, Utah
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic gem in McCall”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

For a small little state park, Ponderosa is beautiful. We walked 3 miles on the trails this morning and absolutely loved it. Running and biking trails. Very easily accessible. Wish they had a multi-day pass rather than just $5 entrance daily, but it's only $5 for vehicle entrance, not walkers or bikers.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sdw72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ponderosa State Park also viewed

 

Been to Ponderosa State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing