We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Day user or camper...all good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ponderosa State Park

Ponderosa State Park
Ranked #2 of 21 things to do in McCall
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located just 1.5 miles from downtown McCall, Ponderosa State Park is a year round destination park. Covering a thousand-acre peninsula that juts into Payette Lake, this picturesque state park offers guided walks with naturalists, campfire programs and camping facilities. During winter months the park has groomed Nordic Ski trails and snowshoe trals.
USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Day user or camper...all good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

This park is BIG! camping, berry picking, hiking, swimming, horseshoes, swimming, and kayaking are just diversions from the beautiful views. Because others have reviewed summer in the park, and all they have written is absolutely true, may I also add that this park is an all year delight. Fall is beautiful with gentle, cool breezes. Wear a fleece, and light gloves, and bike on the paved trails. You will not see many other people. The trees are beautiful, and the smells are all ponderosa pines in transition. In winter, cross country ski trails are groomed, and are varied enough for all levels of skiers, including beginners.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank hank1USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    48
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nampa, Idaho
Level Contributor
95 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a beautiful place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We camped here for 3 nights. Beautiful setting, tall pine trees for shade. Every site has a fire pit and W/E, and there are nice restrooms and showers. Lots of trails to hike or bike. Scenic drive is lovely, deer can be seen at dusk. Picnic areas by the lake are wonderful. Swimming, boating. Canoes for rent. We found a meadow along the scenic drive where we picked lots of fresh wild huckleberries. Now we are back home and today I make freezer jam! We will definitely be back!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sisters, Oregon
Level Contributor
74 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fun on the lake without a motor boat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

On the northwest end of Payette Lake there is a State Park area with a vendor that offers rentals of canoes, kayaks, etc. You must pay $5 to park in this area. You can paddle up the river and into the marshy areas north of the lake. It is very peaceful and fun. We highly recommend this activity for anyone who visits McCall.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank pancakeprincess1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McCall, Idaho
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Great for hiking and picnicking. We always take visitors up to Osprey Point to see Payette Lake and surrounding mountains in all of its splendor. It never ceases to amaze. Bring your cameras!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Biking through the park”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

We rented bikes in McCall and rode them through the park. There are nice well marked trails for biking and hiking. We saw several deer and the trail had a great view of the lake.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Biker1355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ponderosa State Park also viewed

 

Been to Ponderosa State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing