We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Functional - needs update”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - The Hunt Lodge
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in McCall
Certificate of Excellence
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
212 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Functional - needs update”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

The hotel is nice enough. A bit far to walk to restaurants. The breakfast is good in the morning although not for early or late risers (6:30 - 9:30). My first few mornings I struggled with a shower that wouldn't drain so the tub filled with cool water during my shower. However, the day I reported the problen it was fixed! The tv's are old tube style, no HDTV. Not mini-fridge. Toilet has a bit of brownish moisture around the base. The tub enclosure and bathroom counter is stone... nice, but the soap dished also stone in the shower have no drainage. So the soap and shampoo sits in stagnant cold water for your entire stay. Decent coffee in the lobby. Bed has a single comforter/duvet that is all, no smaller light blanket. The ac / heat unit is the older syle that you twist a dial on a unit mounted under the window. Exercise room has a decent variety of equipment and a nautilaus type machine, but the rest of the equipment is old and needs updating. Not bad overall, but dated.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RFA2249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehuntlodge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - The Hunt Lodge, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Dear RFA2249,

Thank you for the comments about your recent stay.

I'm happy to write that we've recently upgraded all of our TVs to 37" LED HDTVs to improve the guest experience in the hotel rooms and public areas. Come back and check them out!

The information you've provided helps enhance our awareness of the hotel and the overall condition issues you experienced. Thank you again for your help.

Best regards,

Jon Glidewell
General Manager
The Hunt Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    44
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
41
56
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

We stayed for 2 nights during Mccall's winter carnival. The rooms were clean, close to downtown and also happened to be the winner of the ice carving competition. Our children loved the pool and for the price of the room, also included a very nice breakfast. We would definitely stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank udontknowjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehuntlodge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - The Hunt Lodge, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Dear udontknowjack,

Thank you for commenting on your stay! Wasn't our grand prize ice sculpture awesome?! We can't wait to see you again the next time you're in McCall.

Sincerely,

Jon Glidewell
General Manager
The Hunt Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny SoCal
Level Contributor
124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights to go to a wedding in McCall. Beautiful, rustic hotel. Perfect location to shops and restaurants, including a year round Christmas store across the street! Room was clean and perfect, too bad the weather wasn't. It snowed our first night, then rained every day after....... Would definately recommend this hotel, just arrive at a better time of year. : )

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Canada Flintridge, CA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

Two months ago, I wrote a review titled "sub-standard cancellation policy". My husband and I had booked a room in early spring which we had to cancel several months before the actual stay. We were not given a refund, and instead were given a gift certificate towards another stay. We were not pleased, since we had no idea when or even if we'd ever be getting back to that area. Subsequent to that review, the manager of The Hunt Lodge contacted me and offered to refund our money, even though, he explained, there was a no-refund policy for rooms booked online as we had done. In view of that fine print which we had not seen, it was very decent of him to refund to us, nonetheless, and though I can't review the hotel since we've never actually stayed there, I commend the manager for his action. Having said that, I think a hotel of any size should reconsider such a strict cancellation policy. If a reservation is cancelled months in advance, there really shouldn't be a penalty.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DHBall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

I stayed here on a recent trip to McCall. The location was great, only a couple minutes from the lake and across the street from The Pancake House. The rooms were comfortable, however they were a little dark. I wished they'd had more lighting. We also got the rooms at a great price and we were able to check in early since the hotel was not full. I'd recommend this hotel if you're visiting McCall.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curlyk2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

Wow what a surprise.. a wonderful Holiday Inn.. Very Friendly front desk.. and helpful .. and for once I felt he meant every word he spoke instead of the normal robotic "have a nice day" ! so three cheers for the lad on the front desk....A****a credit to Holiday Inn McCall..( maybe he could train new trainees all over USA you wouldn't go wrong)...We had a suite just above the entrance and exit stairs which I thought may be a problem ..but I only heard someone coming in once or twice and it was before 10..so no problem .. The room was very spacious very clean and had a view out of the front of the hotel... we didn't take breakfast as we left very early next morning but we recommend the pancake house across the road..I wish all holiday inns were the same as this...

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ENGLEWOOD
Level Contributor
215 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

A really nice hotel, well located in a super small town on Payette Lake. We thought this was a brand new hotel when we arrived. My wife said "Wow, this is nice..." Only after we checked in and read the awards they had received over the last 5 or 6 years did we realize what a great job they do in maintaining the hotel. They had a very nice breakfast with pancakes and fresh pastries, plus scrambled eggs and then all the other breakfast food. A really nice pool and a big hot tub. And they had a smallish workout room. I would stay there again, no doubt.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor, near the main elevator. The rooms are HUGE.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglewoodDane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McCall
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS McCall Lodge & Suites
0.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
16.0 mi away
Tamarack Resort
Tamarack Resort
#1 of 2 in Donnelly
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Shore Lodge
Shore Lodge
#1 of 8 in McCall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
0.5 mi away
Super 8 McCall
Super 8 McCall
#4 of 8 in McCall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
1.9 mi away
Brundage Inn
Brundage Inn
#6 of 8 in McCall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites - The Hunt Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites - The Hunt Lodge

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites - The Hunt Lodge
Address: 210 N 3rd St, McCall, ID 83638-4403
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > McCall
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in McCall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites - The Hunt Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hunt Lodge in McCall, Idaho. A stunning Mountain Lodge located on Scenic Highway 55 in the heart of Idaho's west central mountains. Enjoy the rich ambiance, our attentive staff, indoor heated pool and spa, conference center, and high speed wireless internet in our luxurious guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites - The Hunt Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - The Hunt Hotel Mccall
Holiday Inn Express And Suites - The Hunt Lodge
Holiday Inn Express Mccall
Holiday Inn Mccall
Mccall Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - The Hunt Lodge McCall, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing