We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW! WOW! WOW!”
Review of Hells Canyon Raft

Hells Canyon Raft
Ranked #3 of 7 Tours in McCall
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Since 1982 we have outfitted river trips solely in Idaho. From our home and office on the canyon rim we are pleased to tailor a trip to your interests. Hells Canyon Raft offers 2-6 day professionally outfitted rafting and fishing trips. We challenge the myth that adventure travel has to be dangerous and uncomfortable. Instead, we create an ultra comfortable river trip in one of the most beautiful settings in the world. Hells Canyon Raft offers 2-6 day trips on the majestic Snake River through Hells Canyon, and the beautiful Lower Salmon River gorge.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“WOW! WOW! WOW!”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

WOW, I cannot say enough good things about Hells Canyon Raft---they DELIVER!!! My wife and I just finished a 3 day, 2 night, raft trip on the Snake River and had a WONDERFUL experience. They exceeded our expectations! The river-guide team of Patrick, Ilene, Court and Scott were absolutely terrific; an experienced and balanced group that knows how to make the river trip fun and safe. From the moment we met the team and got on the river we knew we were in good hands. Lunches on the river were very tasty, dinners were amazing gourmet productions prepared on camp stoves and in dutch ovens, baked trout on evening one and ribeye steaks on evening two. Breakfasts were scrumptious; the first morning’s included blueberry and riccotta pancakes-----mmmmm good! The guides were very knowledgeable and worked very hard(long days) to make our experience the best it could be. And what an experience it was! You are in the middle of “by God nowhere”, absolutely awe inspiring scenery, and thrilling class 3 & 4 rapids. Sharon and I opted for the paddle raft for the first 2 days, with Court as our guide. We had a BLAST!!!! Now we had done day-trip rafting before, but this three-day expedition was just incredible. We saw lots of wildlife and the guide team landed an 8 ft sturgeon—catch and release of course, but still a wonder to behold. Did I mention the stars at night were absolutely breathtaking. I congratulate Heidi & Kurt, the owners of Hells Canyon Raft for running a first class operation and would recommend them to anyone.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kennewick, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb customer service, fantastic fun”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We recently did a 2-night, 3-day trip with HCR. We had an absolute blast! The staff of HCR was outstanding. They really focus on ensuring that you, as the client, have your needs met and that you (and your family, if you have one), have a wonderful time. They definitely go above and beyond.

Definitely plan to give the raft guides a decent tip (guidelines suggest ~10%). Those of us on the trip were all blown away by how hard the guides work. They literally never. stop. working. 14-16 hours a day, every day.

My only quibble is about bugs. The HCR site states that there are no mosquitoes, which there aren't. However, don't think that you won't have a variety of biting insects. The yellow jackets were fierce on our trip, and several people (including me) were stung. The Asian lady beetles (look just like lady bugs, but are more orange-ish, and they bite, although there is no after-effect to the bite...feel free to squish them as they are an invasive species, and are pushing out our own native, gentle lady bugs) were quite present, and, at times, little gnats would bite. They were annoying, but did not affect our ability to have a fabulous time.

Our kids are 8 & 11, and the 3-day trip was perfect for them. I think they could have gone longer, but they were perfectly happy to get off the river. If you/your family has never rafted on a multi-day trip before, it might be wise to do a shorter trip first. I highly recommend you do it with HCR. The food alone is worth it!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Surpassing Expectations”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

There's a reason why Hells Canyon Raft has stellar reviews here -- their operation on the Snake River is nothing short of a First Class experience. We took a two night - three day trip and we were blown away by not only the beauty of the canyon, but the adventures to be had. Not only did we experience some of the exciting, refreshing, thrilling rapids ever (and we've been on quite a few whitewater trips) but we also explored old homesteads that are scattered along the Snake back from the depression era. Each homestead has it's own history and each homestead has it's own goosebump inducing story. Pretending just for a moment while visiting these homesteads, how life must have been back in the day was an incredible experience, especially for our ten year old son. He was quite taken. In addition, we learned about the Native American culture that once inhabited the rugged terrain of the canyon and viewed, up close and personal -- the pictographs left behind by the Native Americans. !! We enjoyed floating down taking in the scenery and in between rapids our guides would hand us "ready to go" fishing poles for us to reel in fish - after fish - after fish. Our son caught so many rainbow trout, it was amazing! When lunchtime rolled around, our guides picked some of the most beautiful sandy beaches where we would enjoy riverside dining. A fully equipped outdoor kitchen was set up in no time flat complete with umbrellas to shade us from the sun (I felt super sorry for a group of rafters who we later saw down river enjoying their lunch in the hot sun. They must have been really hot because that tour company didn't provide them with umbrellas). Gourmet lunches were all so delicious and were always accompanied with fresh fruit and a salad. Beverages from nice cold bottled waters, sodas, juices and beer were also available anytime in coolers on all rafts and also at camp. Speaking of camp, when it was time to call it a day and hang out by the river with new friends the scenery was absolutely breathtaking. Hells Canyon Raft knows what they're doing. They know their stuff and it's no surprise. They have been around for over 25 (twenty-five) years -- basically one of the very first outfitters on this river and everything they do, and how their run their operation shows their long experience. When entrusting your safety on the river, THIS is the company to go with. NO question (and believe me, we did our research especially since we took this trip with our young son). Thank you Hells Canyon Raft for the most incredible trip !!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank J5MM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Ride”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Our guide was great, and he gave us a great deal of information about the lake. He did a masterful job of navigating the rapids and we still got wet! Too fun!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Des1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, WI
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Incredible Rafting Trip...made friends and memories”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

What an awesome trip. My wife and family (adult children) took the 5 day Hells Canyon raft trip. The scenery is beautiful, whitewater a lot of fun, incredible food and fun at the campsites and some great fishing (caught a sturgeon). We were joined by a young couple who quickly became friends and part of our 'extended family'. But what truly sets this trip apart was the guides (Eli, Dillon and Scott). Their knowledge of the river, canyons, wildlife and history of the Snake River was incredible. Got to see some eagles and otters. The days on the river are broken up by some hiking tours, an awesome lunch, some cliff diving / jumping followed by incredible dinners (salmon, Cornish hen, steak) and a fun evening. It's amazing what they can cook with those dutch ovens - even made a birthday cake for my daughter. And the stars at night are spectacular. The equipment is first class with a major focus on safety; so those that have a fear of that 'whitewater' should fear not - they'll get you through it with a lot of fun. Kurt and Heidi have put together a business and experience that has that family feel to it. I heartily recommend the trip and look forward to going again!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Running_Man69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hells Canyon Raft also viewed

 

Been to Hells Canyon Raft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing