We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“private lake cruises on Payette Lake” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Payette Lake Scenic Cruises

Payette Lake Scenic Cruises
Boise,ID
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“private lake cruises on Payette Lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

This cruise is wonderful, not the big slow boat that charges outrageous money for small drinks. Capt. Ray Dupree is a USCG 100-ton Capt. and is insured. He knows Payette Lake like no one else! It's your cruise; stop for a swim, picnic, or what ever you want. Wonderful, fun, and informative! Beautiful 28 foot cruiser, spotless, great seating, and safe.

You get more than your money's worth.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boise,ID
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wrong business was reviewed by TRIPADVISOR”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

Payette Lake Scenic Cruises has been in business for 10n years on Payette Lake, McCall. Some reviews have made a mistake and reviewed Payette Lake cruises, new on the lake and does not always use a USCG licensed, and insured Captain for it's cruises. as this business.

THERE IS A BIG DIFFERENCE between Payette Lake SCENIC Cruises, 10 years on the lake and uses a USCG licensed and insured Captain, and the other business. Please be sure and use the correct name.

PAYETTE LAKE SCENIC CRUISES is wonderful and has ALWAYS gotten EXCELLENT reviews!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

My boyfriend and I went on the 90 minute tour of Payette Lake on Saturday afternoon Labor day weekend. It was a nice, relaxing time to sit back and enjoy the scenery. Would have really enjoyed more if it was a brunch tour but we were to late in the season. I do agree with the other reviews about the drinks- packed to the top with ice and over priced, but we were advised from the beginning

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank id832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VANCOUVER
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful afternoon cruise around the lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

I went on this cruise with my mother and aunt.

We loved the cost of the cruise. For a 1.5 cruise, the cost was only $20 per person ($18 for seniors/military).

The cruise itself was nice and steady. Seth was the captain and gave us a very smooth ride. He also narrated key points throughout the tour. The first part of the tour went on the east side of the lake by Payette Forest up to the narrows. The second part of the tour went on the west side of the lake by all the lake homes. Seth balanced the information nicely with some down time to just enjoy the lake. He told us about the history of the lake, "Charlotte," history of the region, and some famous inhabitants around the lake.

The boat was incredibly clean and spacious. You had three options for viewing - inside, front of the boat and on top of the boat. People were free to move around the boat throughout the tour.

The only thing I would recommend is that they advise you when you purchase your tickets that they are unable to take debit cards on the boats for beverages and snacks. Also, we didn't know we couldn't bring on beverages and had to dump them. That would have been good to know ahead of time.

Also, please note if you have mobility challenges you should allow extra time to get from the street to the dock. You will have to go down a gravel path and about 12 stairs. There are signs posted that say assistance is available. I would recommend arriving early so you don't feel rushed going down the hill - it is a bit steep.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank movian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Leisurely lake tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

This small ferry type boat takes you on a 90 minute tour around Payette Lake in McCall. We were able to watch sailboats, kayakers, see Ponderosa Park and the variety of lake front lodges and cabins along the shoreline. We liked that there was not too much onboard narration. I would guess that the guide talked less than 25% of the trip, which made for a more relaxing ride. If you are looking to become an expert on McCall history, however, this isn't the trip for you. The tickets were $20 for adults.

There is seating inside the cabin as well as on the rooftop deck. An onboard bar served some snacks, sodas and cocktails and the prices were not too bad. Be forewarned that they do not allow any outside food or drinks (including bottled water). I believe it was a cash bar.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank aubreyrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Payette Lake Scenic Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Payette Lake Scenic Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing