We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Beer Selection”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Notch 8 - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Notch 8
Cuisines: Bar, American
Dining options: Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Seating
New Plymouth, Idaho
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Beer Selection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

The menu for beer choices is enormous and amazing! The staff is extremely knowledgeable of their products and are very friendly. The food is average but not bad. I definitely will be visiting them again and again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hrenk89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Foresthill, Ca
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“2 Hours For Takeout Service....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We went on a Sat night, around 7....took two hours to get our hamburger, fries and Caesar Salad because the cook called in sick.....food was only ok, typical bar food...Servers were clueless on why it took so long for the food when the dining room was mainly empty......other patrons were about to incite a riot as they experienced the same........only reason they get two stars, outstanding beer selection - one of the best on tap menus that I've ever seen.....I won't go back, worst service I've had anywhere in the world but the beer was good.....

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottB68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buhl, Idaho
Level Contributor
105 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“$2.50 to substitute a salad??????”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

We like this place. BUT if you order a sandwich you get a choice of a side salad or fries--same price. If you order the fish and chips it is a $2.50 upcharge to substitute a salad (1/2 cup of greens on the dinner plate) for the fries. ARE YOU KIDDING ME? Our waitress, while being annoyed with my complaint, did bring another cup of greens (greens only) on a side plate. But honestly! I still paid an extra $2.50 for an equal or lesser value. Think about it before you go.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Janetinbuhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
Level Contributor
86 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Huge beer selection!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

We ate here for lunch. They have a great selection of beer (and wine) on tap, including many regional beers. The wings, with an apricot bbq sauce, were fantastic! Slightly sweet at first, then tangy with just enough heat at the end. Buffalo burger and Kobe beef sliders were also very good, though the burger was a bit overcooked. It was at least medium-well. The service was good. Our waitress was attentive and engaging. We really liked the atmosphere, and will be back, at least for the beer and wings.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Attentive service by Ellie, great beer selection, excellent smoked salmon sandwich: what's not to like?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

The headline says it all; very good experience all around. Ellie was very attentive and helpful. The restaurant was about half full on a Monday night. Nice big screen over the bar. The bar should be faced toward the lake to take in the view, an idea that may have been discarded in the remodel. As a semi-regular in McCall, I'll be back again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hangdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing