We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent service, delicious breakfast !”

The Pancake House and Christmas Shop
Ranked #1 of 63 Restaurants in McCall
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent service, delicious breakfast !”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I have spent a great summer vacation by the Payette lake with family and had our breakfast in The Pancake House, We really liked the pancakes, omeletts, hash browns, espressos and more.
Recommend this delicious and beautiful place, excellent food and service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    124
    49
    29
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“McCall classic you should try for breakfast”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

When in McCall our family always attempts to have at least one meal at the Pancake House. My wife enjoys browing their gift shop too.

Wait times on weekends in the summer can be long, so be prepared to wait.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BRIANivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Popular, but worth a wait”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I've had times where we got a table as soon as we walked in the door, and I've experienced a 30+ minute wait. However, there is no better breakfast. The cinnamon rolls are as large as a dinner plate, and the decorations (vintage tins, vibrant flowers, and year round Christmas stuff, if I'm not mistaken) are a fun part of the experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We moved to mccall ten years ago. Used to love to take the family to the Pancake House when they visit.
Last time we visited ( two years ago) after waiting forever for a table and also the owner yelling at me and my granddaughter to get away from the flowers (she was smelling them, not touching) we all decided the food and service was not worth the wait. We have not been back.
It's possible things have changed since then but based on our last visit we can get a better and happier breakfast experience in McCall.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank dootdah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Pancake House should be on everyone's McCall bucketlist”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Every visit to McCall for our family includes a stop at the Pancake House. With high vaulted ceilings and vintage western decor, the restaurant has a "fun" feel. It is very kid friendly, though we have learned that even the kid portions are so large that it is better for our little ones (three boys 7 and younger) to share meals.

Breakfasts offer traditional (and delicious) pancake, french toast, and waffle options. Don't forget the try the delicious Huckleberry syrup! It's wonderful! They also have great hams, sausages, and bacon. I've yet to order something that I didn't love.

There are also more traditional lunch and dinner offerings. In the past I've ordered sandwiches and soups and have not been disappointed.

Our last trip to the Pancake House was for an afternoon "snack" to tide the kids over on the trip back to Boise. We ordered French toast, two pancakes, and a cinnamon roll to share between us. The two pancakes filled an enormous plate! The cinnamon roll also filled a plate! The French toast was delicious. The cinnamon roll was very good, but tasted like the bread was starting to go a little stale (perhaps it was a day or so old). Still, it was very good.

I highly recommend the Pancake House.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BenMN80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pancake House and Christmas Shop also viewed

 

Been to The Pancake House and Christmas Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing