We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A horrible experience at first but got better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in McCall
Payette, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A horrible experience at first but got better!”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

WE reserved the room for 2 nights just so my wife and i could get away as we raise 3 grandchildren who are severly ADHD. We got checked in, Our room being next to the pool had at least 20 kids screaming as loud as they could with no parental supervision....Thats the start of it all....Then went to use the eletronic door key and i had to go back 7 times to have it reprogramed to get back in! So i complained and they put us in another room,( packing all our stuff up) and moving, Guess what? Happened again so i asked to check out! Rachel the assistant manager felt bad and gave us the first night free, gave us a mini suit at normal room rates and a free bottle of wine! Thank you Rachel !! But the noise continued at the pool all night long and coming to find out that they let anyone off the streets come and use the pool and hot tub....I cant say i will stay there again but thanks again Rachel for trying to cover up your owners poor way of running a hotel! Jon Cline, Payette, Idaho

Room Tip: Stay away from the pool if you want to relax!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nashvillejonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimWML, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I want to apologize for your experience not being what it should have been.

We did indeed have problems with a bad batch of keycards and have remedied that issue. The pool hours are 7am -10pm and should be managed accordingly. That obviously did not happen and again, our apologies for that as well.

We do allow our local residents to use the pool for swimming lessons if those lessons are held in designated hours which do not impact our peak periods of business and do not affect the comfort of our guests. That policy may have to be revisited / managed better or altogether discontinued.

It is not lost on us you have other choices to accommodate your overnight needs. It is our hope if you are again in McCall that we may have another opportunity to "get it right". We did drop the ball on our service to you and though it appears we did make our best effort to correct the situation, we should have done better in that our employee was not put in a situation as they were. As the General Manager I take responsibility for that and will take steps to rectify.

You compliments to Rachel are appreciated and will be shared.

Sincerely,

Tim Cogdill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    30
    25
    15
    17
See reviews for
34
39
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caldwell, Idaho
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We've stayed here for the past 3 or 4 years and we love it. We've had hiccups but every hotel will. The rooms are comfortable and large and reasonably priced. My son loves the breakfast and the pool. This morning there was a large bowl of fresh strawberries which make his day. Last year I spent 20 minutes on the phone with one of the gentlemen telling me all the great (free) sledding hills and any time I've asked the staff for anything they've always been smiling and helpful. I can't wait to see what the upgrades will bring.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimWML, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Thank you. We appreciate your feedback and are happy to have met your expectations for several years in a row!

Your comments will be shared with the staff. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,

Tim Cogdill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meridian, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We almost gave up on our trip to McCall when we couldn't find a hotel for under $100 a night that would take all 6 of us in one room and then I stumbled upon the America's Best Value Inn and honestly thanked God for it!

Not only did we get a room with 3 beds, but we got a decent breakfast, great service, and a pool to play in when it was too chilly out to go to the lake. It is all about expectations. We understood that this was a budget hotel and things weren't going to be the same as The Shore Lodge or other upscale area hotels.

The Good:
The service is excellent. We balked for a moment when we found out that there wasn't any elevator and our room was on the 2nd floor, but the staff was willing to help lug our stuff up stairs, and it really wasn't that hard.
They helped me with patience when I had trouble (user error) with the washing machine.
The place is a great value for a family. The family sized rooms are over the lobby and common areas, which alleviates the stress for trying to keep the little ones from running and jumping every second.
The tub was large and a jacuzzi.
The breakfast was helpful to have for our large family. I would like to see more healthy options – whole wheat bread options, more fruit, and non-dairy milk.

The Bad:
The place is older and is a bit worn. It could use some paint and such.
The beds were hard for us, but that is because we are used to memory foam.

Room Tip: If you need the 3 beds, they are ONLY on the 2nd floor, so be prepared.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASchroader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, IL
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

From the previous reviews and a 4-ball rating, I expected a bit more. I'm not picky; I just like clean, well-maintained properties. Unfortunately, Am. Best Value fell a bit short. The areas where they fell below the very good rating were: no elevator so we had to schlep our luggage up the stairs, hallways looked worn, only 3 pillows on the bed and scratchy sheets, no fan in the bathroom that worked (the one there was dirty and gross-looking and had no effect on the humidity), only 2 bath towels in the bathroom, breakfast was OK but no one was there to keep it clean so there were spills and only 2 pieces of a strawberry left for fruit. Overall, it was an OK place to stay, but only average at best.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pumpkin51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimWML, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
My first order of business is to apologize for not exceeding your expectations, much less meeting them. As the General Manager I take full responsibility for your experience and will share your comments with the staff for training purposes. It is not lost on us that you have many places to choose to stay in McCall and your put your trust and confidence in us. You deserved better.

We pride ourselves in three key areas. Cleanliness, friendly service and a great breakfast. We realize these "key" areas are critical to our success. So I thank you for your feedback.

It is my hope if you are ever in the McCall area again you will give us a "second chance" to provide you with an experience you deserve. Should we be so fortunate to have that opportunity, please make it a point to contact me directly before your arrival and relate your previous experience to me so that I may personally monitor your comfort.

Sincerely,

Tim Cogdill / General Manager
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - McCall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We needed a place to rest from Boise to Winchester and stumbled across the Western Mountain Lodge online. We booked a night and were greeted with warm and yummy chocolate chip cookies and a very friendly front desk staff. The walk around the town was great and not far from the hotel. The drive around the lake was nice as well - but lots of mosquitoes so bring repellant if you want to get out and walk around. Milkshakes at the place across the street were delicious. They suggested we book a room for the trip back, and good thing we did because the entire town was totally booked up when we got back in town later on the same week. Breakfast both mornings helped to kick start us each day and the pool and jacuzzi were well maintained and we went when there were no screaming kids. Room was nice with a couch, frig, microwave - everything was perfect. Even got to see a bear in the garbage early one morning. Overall a great place that even gave us the government discount - even better place with the great price. We would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank regina812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimWML, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Well "for sure" we like your comment! (humor).

Thank you for taking the time to tell us how we did. We appreciate all feedback from our guests. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Tim Cogdill / General Manager & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We were up at McCall to ski Brundage and eat at the Blue Moon Yurt, and made no reservations to stay anywhere. Dropped into the Western because it is "downtown" and the manager was nothing less than amazingly gracious! Gave us a little upgrade to our room, was super friendly and humble, and just repeatedly let us know how he could be of any assistance. There was an expanded continental breakfast from 6-10 that was also nice. The room was fine, the heating unit was tremendous, and we walked everywhere we needed to go.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hartimage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timcogdill, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted you found our service and our hotel met your expectations. We always strive to give an upgrade whenever we can, we are happy you noticed.

Please keep us in mind for your next trip to McCall.

Regards,

Tim Cogdill / General Manager
& Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2011

I left my ring at the hotel and a worker found it and promptly gave it to the front desk. I called as soon as i realized it was lsot they sent it to me the next day. I was also impressed with their willingness to help out when my son asked them a million questions. The hot tub is so hot, so rear do you find this.
I will always stay at this hotel when I travel to McCall.

Room Tip: call the hotel directly to book a room for best price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Araminta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timcogdill, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Thank you for your comments.

We are very happy to have helped recover your ring. Guests leave us many things each month, but something as special as a ring makes us nervous to find (humor).

Please consider us for your accommodations the next time you are in McCall.

Sincerely,

Tim Cogdill / General Manager
& Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McCall
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - The Hunt Lodge
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Mccall Lodge & Suites
16.4 mi away
Tamarack Resort
Tamarack Resort
#1 of 2 in Donnelly
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Long Valley Motel
Long Valley Motel
#2 of 2 in Donnelly
7 reviews
0.8 mi away
Super 8 McCall
Super 8 McCall
#4 of 8 in McCall
334 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rustic Inn
The Rustic Inn
#6 of 8 in McCall
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

Property: Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Address: 415 N 3rd St, McCall, ID 83638-3809 (Formerly The Western Mountain Lodge)
Region: United States > Idaho > McCall
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in McCall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
(Formerly the Western Mountain Lodge) In the heart of McCall Idaho and the heartland of the west, Third Street Inn offers all the beauty of the outdoors within the city limits. Nestled among the mountains and lakes, rivers and wide-open spaces, you will experience all the adventures of this year-round playground in Valley County. Start your day with our Deluxe Breakfast - with Biscuits & Gravy! We also serve Hard Boiled Eggs, Hot Waffles, Yogurt, Fresh Whole Fruit, and Assorted Bagels, Cereal, Muffins. You will love our breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Western Mountain Hotel
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites McCall, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing