We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in McCall
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed one night here with our infant while passing through McCall. It was a Sunday night, and the hotel was clearly rather quiet and empty. The staff were very kind and accommodating, offering suggestions for a dinner location and helping us with unloading our things into the room. The hotel room was quite clean, although perhaps a bit dated. The bed was unfortunately not as comfortable as we had hoped for and was a lumpy in places. That said, it worked for a relatively inexpensive and friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleGWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    30
    25
    15
    17
See reviews for
34
39
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedar City, Utah
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I had booked this motel well in advance, and I paid in advance in order to get the cheapest rate. The price was about $60, so I wasn't expecting much. I was surprised by the high quality of this facility. Modern rooms, nice breakfast, and very helpful staff. Within easy walking distance of several restaurants. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomcod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimWML, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Tom. Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate very much the opportunity to have served your overnight needs. We will be sure and pass your compliments along to the staff.

We hope to see you again soon!

Tim Cogdill / General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenns Ferry, Idaho
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2013

While we were taking a trip throughout Idaho, we stopped here for our first night. The beds were very comfortable, breakfast was VERY good, its easy on the pocket, and the staff is very friendly and professional. It does need some updating but thats about it!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimWML, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted we met your expectations and hope to see you again!

Regards,

Tim Cogdill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuna, Idaho, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Enjoyed our stay. Great room. Other hotels wouldn't let us stay there with our "large" dog. This hotel is very pet friendly. Hot tub & pool were very clean. The staff was very friendly. We will stay here again & will recommend this hotel to family & friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimWML, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

Short of potbellied pigs and miniature horses we pride ourselves on being pet friendly. We hope you were able to retrieve some of the treats we keep at the front desk for our furry friends. Did you know we received an award for "five bones" from bringfido.com? That means we got a perfect score from our pet owners who stayed with us. We were pretty proud of that.

We hope to see you again soon.

Tim Cogdill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

This hotel is in extreme need of some TLC and updating. We stayed only for one night (thankfully) and I will not be back unless there are some improvements to the property. If you are going to McCall, spend a little extra and stay at one of the many other options in town. The room was out of the early 80's and the hairdryer was so outdated it looked like something out of a 70's tribute museum (I even took a picture of it because I have never seen anything so terrible - it looked like a mini vacuum cleaner on the wall!). The bedding was cheap and provided no comfort or warmth, the sheets actually felt like they had fabric pills all over them. The mattress was hard and uncomfortable. Someone near us took a shower and it was so loud it sounded like it was in our room! There were shoe scuff marks (!!) on the wallpaper above the bed headboard. There was no screen in the window. There was this OLD lazy boy recliner in the room that was just nasty looking - and to make it even better, when you pushed out the foot rest, a big piece of it was missing showing just the frame. The breakfast was mostly cheap carbs and there was a creepy guy eating the breakfast when he wasn't clearing the tables. Common areas were out of date and definitely NOT something to rave about. Old TV in our room - and funny that on our way out the next day, they were selling the old TV's in the parking lot - NOT classy. The woman at the front desk was nice - but that is the only good thing I have to say about it, other than that it is in McCall, one of the most beautiful places in the world.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 103lisas103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimWML, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Your review of our property is appreciated and we thank you for your feedback. We also want to apologize for your experience. It truly is not lost on us you have many choices to meet your accommodation needs in McCall.

When I arrived at this property three years ago the ownership was excited as was I for the pending remodel. However, due to the economy that has not yet happened. On our own we have made gradual improvements such as the hair dryer you noted in your review. We have in fact replaced over half of those nostalgic (code for older) hair dryers and offer new ones at the counter upon request. We have replaced the wall paper in over a third of our bathrooms with a neutral, modern paint. We have new comforters, new pillows and some more improvements that are modest but that we hope will make a difference in our guest experience. Gradual improvements will continue.

Having spent 10 years with a major hotel chain in many different states (my wife often jokes with me that being in McCall is my sabbatical) I share with my staff all the time there are three key areas we need to ensure are perfect for every guest, every stay. 1. A clean room. 2. Friendly service. 3. A great breakfast.

As the General Manager I take personal responsibility we fell short. It is my intention should you respond to my inquiry to ensure accuracy, to refund your stay. I have also directed our facilities manager to inspect and remove any recliner / lounge chair that may present a negative impression.

If you are ever in the McCall area again, you certainly deserve an apology in person to which I would be happy to make.

Sincerely,

Tim Cogdill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these McCall hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Payette, Idaho
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

WE reserved the room for 2 nights just so my wife and i could get away as we raise 3 grandchildren who are severly ADHD. We got checked in, Our room being next to the pool had at least 20 kids screaming as loud as they could with no parental supervision....Thats the start of it all....Then went to use the eletronic door key and i had to go back 7 times to have it reprogramed to get back in! So i complained and they put us in another room,( packing all our stuff up) and moving, Guess what? Happened again so i asked to check out! Rachel the assistant manager felt bad and gave us the first night free, gave us a mini suit at normal room rates and a free bottle of wine! Thank you Rachel !! But the noise continued at the pool all night long and coming to find out that they let anyone off the streets come and use the pool and hot tub....I cant say i will stay there again but thanks again Rachel for trying to cover up your owners poor way of running a hotel! Jon Cline, Payette, Idaho

Room Tip: Stay away from the pool if you want to relax!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nashvillejonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimWML, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I want to apologize for your experience not being what it should have been.

We did indeed have problems with a bad batch of keycards and have remedied that issue. The pool hours are 7am -10pm and should be managed accordingly. That obviously did not happen and again, our apologies for that as well.

We do allow our local residents to use the pool for swimming lessons if those lessons are held in designated hours which do not impact our peak periods of business and do not affect the comfort of our guests. That policy may have to be revisited / managed better or altogether discontinued.

It is not lost on us you have other choices to accommodate your overnight needs. It is our hope if you are again in McCall that we may have another opportunity to "get it right". We did drop the ball on our service to you and though it appears we did make our best effort to correct the situation, we should have done better in that our employee was not put in a situation as they were. As the General Manager I take responsibility for that and will take steps to rectify.

You compliments to Rachel are appreciated and will be shared.

Sincerely,

Tim Cogdill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McCall
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - The Hunt Lodge
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Mccall Lodge & Suites
12.2 mi away
Long Valley Motel
Long Valley Motel
#2 of 2 in Donnelly
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Super 8 McCall
Super 8 McCall
#4 of 8 in McCall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
1.3 mi away
Shore Lodge
Shore Lodge
#1 of 8 in McCall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rustic Inn
The Rustic Inn
#7 of 8 in McCall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

Property: Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Address: 415 N 3rd St, PO Box 4297, McCall, ID 83638-3809 (Formerly The Western Mountain Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > McCall
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in McCall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
(Formerly the Western Mountain Lodge) In the heart of McCall Idaho and the heartland of the west, Americas Best Value Inn & Suites offers all the beauty of the outdoors within the city limits. Nestled among the mountains and lakes, rivers and wide-open spaces, you will experience all the adventures of this year-round playground in Valley County. Start your day with our Deluxe Breakfast - with Biscuits & Gravy! We also serve Hard Boiled Eggs, Hot Waffles, Yogurt, Fresh Whole Fruit, and Assorted Bagels, Cereal, Muffins. You will love our breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Western Mountain Hotel
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites McCall, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing