We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Real Class Act”
Review of Shore Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shore Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in McCall
Certificate of Excellence
Utah
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Real Class Act”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My comments are coming from a perspective of a couples visit and NOT from the "extended family" type of destination visit perspective. While this hotel has many amenities that would appeal to families and such. It made for a perfect retreat for my wife and I. We timed it right as it was prior to the summer rush when more children would have been present, so it was still peaceful. The room are immaculate and well appointed with 2 separate rooms, one for the bed area and a 2nd for more like a living room. The restaurant is very classy and perfect for an intimate dining experience as we had. Same with the bar as well. We came in mid may prior to the Memorial Day rush that would likely involve a more packed and noisy environment. As such we enjoyed a good peaceful time. We walked around the premises with the lake and enjoyed a movie and popcorn in their private theater. The help there were highly professional and answered our questions regarding the hotel. All in all a great stay and one we hope to have again. The view alone is worth it on the lake side of the hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcisive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    86
    20
    19
    10
See reviews for
220
334
19
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We were here at the end of the season so pretty much had it to ourselves. The area is beautiful and this hotel captivated every bit of it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monirae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

A friend recently got married at the Shore Lodge, so my husband and I stayed here during the wedding weekend (along with many other guests). We would not have known to visit McCall, Idaho, otherwise. What a beautiful spot. The Shore Lodge backs up to the Payette Lake. Throughout the weekend we cruised the lake on pontoon boats, kayaked and waterskiied.

Rooms vary - especially in size. My husband and I arrived at 1pm prior to 4pm check in. Our room was not ready, so they accommodated us in a different room (at our request), which was miniscule - smaller than NY hotel rooms. We ended up changing rooms the next day and upgraded into a Lake View Suite which was lovely. If you are going to visit, it is worth paying the price for a lake view room.

We would have enjoyed more time here... the resort keeps beach chairs and rocking chairs on the shallow beach looking out onto the docks and the lake. There is an oyster and shrimp bar on the back deck overlooking the lake. Also a nice pool. It is a very relaxing place.

Room Tip: Ask lots of questions about room - size, view, etc. .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EES_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

The view is breathtaking, the staff fantastic and the food delicious. We were there for a family reunion and they accommodated us in everything. The room was huge and opened right on to the beach with the backdrop of snow covered mountains on the other side of the Lake.

Room Tip: The beach view is really worth it and if it is in the summer ask for the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karenosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bountiful, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

I loved it so much last fall I brought my husband this summer. I might have loved it even more the 2nd time. The staff are amazingly friendly, the setting is unbeatable, the rooms are huge and feel new even though the hotel was built in the 40s. We LOVED the free bikes and rode all the way around the lake on them and thought we'd died and gone to heaven, it was so beautiful and fun. We loved sitting on their dock in rocking chairs. Loved the free s'mores. The landscaping, pool and spa area are gorgeous. Loved our deck overlooking the lake, the iPod dock, and wifi connection. There is NOTHING not to love about this place.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovetoTravel84010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

This is our third year to come to Shore Lodge, and it never disappoints! We come for a family oriented business meeting. The rooms are spacious with an amazing view of Payette Lake. Each room has a refrigerator (a must if travelling with kids), and a separate shower and tub. There is a sound dock for your iPod in the room as well as the most luxorious robes! There are kayaks set out daily along with a ton of lounge chairs and umbrellas. Each evening they have a fire pit going where you can make smores. The pool is heated and we were swimming outside with our one year old in 75 degree weather. The sandy beaches are also fun to play on and they provide foot washing stations and towels for your use.

The downside to this hotel in my opinion is that it is not very stroller /rolling luggage/handicap friendly. There are stairs everywhere and very few ramps. It can be a maze to figure out. The prices at the restaurants are also a little steep, but the food is wonderful. Overall, this is a great place to get away in the summer, and we look forward to our stay each year!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jp43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

My husband and I stayed here for one night for a quick anniversary getaway. It was really beautiful! We had a room that overlooked the lake, and the view was spectacular! We used the complimentary bikes to ride into town, which was really great. The town of McCall is pretty cute, but we wished there we more interesting shops and places to see. However, the lake and views are wonderful. We ate dinner at the restaurant that night and the service was slow and clumsy, and the food was ok. Nothing amazing. We actually preferred the bar in the hotel...we got a fruit and cheese plate there when we arrived and found it excellent. I doubt we will ever go back to McCall, but if we did, we would for SURE stay here.

Room Tip: Splurge for a lake front room. Amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank october-road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McCall
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Mccall Lodge & Suites
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - The Hunt Lodge
1.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Tamarack Resort
Tamarack Resort
#1 of 2 in Donnelly
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brundage Inn
Brundage Inn
#6 of 8 in McCall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brundage Bungalows
Brundage Bungalows
#5 of 9 in McCall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Lodge

Property: Shore Lodge
Address: 501 W Lake St, McCall, ID 83638-3444 (Formerly Whitetail Club)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > McCall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in McCall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the southern shore of Payette Lake, in McCall Idaho, four seasons of adventure awaits. A family favorite since 1948, Shore Lodge invites you to enjoy the spectacular views, friendly service and generous accommodations.Special amenities include three exceptional dining locations, a full service salon and spa, movie theater, fitness center, shop serving Starbucks coffee, pet friendly amenities, access to boat and water sport equipment rentals, transportation to skiing at Brundage Mountain, golf course, movie theater and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Shore Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shore Hotel Mccall
Shore Lodge McCall, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing