We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view!”
Review of Shore Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shore Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in McCall
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a view!”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Shore Lodge was a great stay- the view is amazing. Breakfast outside on the lake was wonderful. Nice, spacious rooms. Would definitely pay more for a lake view room next time. Had apps and drinks in the bar which were great also.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoopersMom40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    86
    20
    19
    10
See reviews for
220
334
19
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We stayed in one of the garden view rooms because it was the cheapest. Despite the horror stories I read on TripAdvisor for how cramped these rooms are, our room, #355, was spacious and elegant with its own inroom mini refrigerator. The sheets were really soft, mattress was great and I loved the pillows. The doors are narrower than standard, and my wife couldn't find shelf space in front of a mirror to put on her make-up in the morning due to the podium sink, which was stylish but not as functional.
We stayed here because of the extra amenities, like boat docks, lake front swimming area, free bike rental, and swimming pool.
We rented a jetski at Mile High Marina for a day and the hotel had a beach that we could park it on when we wanted to trade drivers or rest for lunch.
The swim beach was clean as was the water and had a water trampoline toy. We noticed the water at the public beach by the marina was very green full of plant debride. I didn't really feel comfortable swimming at the public beach because of all the crud in the water.
The hotel has a very warm pool, bath-water temperature, which is nice, and a hot tub. There was also an indoor raquet ball court.
Everyone was courteous and helpful. The indoor restaurant was really pricey, ($27-$48 a plate), the more casual outdoor food was still pricey at $15 for the fish and chips, on up to $38 for fancier items for dinner, for lunch you pay $14 for a burger on up to the $30 range.
We were very pleased with the extra amenities and will gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
88 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

A previous reviewer mentioned Shore Lodges’ unusual recent history. They got it mostly right, except that the ownership by the San Diego tycoon was a less than happy experience for McCall, despite the improvements he left behind (see my Shore Lodge review of 9/3/10 for details.) I don’t believe he sold the hotel back to locals due to financial difficulties; I think he just grew tired of alienating the good citizens of McCall, who largely despised him.

And the lodge itself was never in crummy shape. Not luxurious, certainly, but not cheap or run-down. Folks like Bing Crosby used to stay here.

I’ve had the pleasure of two return stays since my 2010 review. Here are some recent observations:

SPA: Brand new and fabulous (and nothing whatsoever to do with the San Diego millionaire.) “The Cove” is a lovely facility with talented spa therapists. Worth every penny. The “Mountain Mist” facial was the best facial I’ve ever had, anywhere.

FOOD: We loved it two years ago--not quite as much last year--but they seem to have re-discovered their culinary mojo. Don’t miss eating breakfast or lunch on the back patio in the summer. In the evening, we’d sit staring out the bar’s large windows while sipping something cool and fruity.

ROOM SERVICE: They brought us the wrong food and forgot silverware and water. It took a couple of calls to get it all straightened out. Apparently they had a new hostess that morning. Hopefully this was just a one-day glitch. Food was good, otherwise.

STAFF: Such a great group of energetic, friendly workers. Many of them are college-aged folks. I enjoyed chatting with them and finding out more about their lives and experiences in McCall.

FAMILY FUN: They still have the awesome little “Ford Theatre.” You can pick from a list of videos on-hand and reserve a showing during your visit. (Other guests are welcome to join you.) They’ll bring you free popcorn and pop to enjoy during your screening.

In evenings, staff set up a lake-side fire pit, providing fixings for s’mores. Kids of all ages looked pretty happy there.

SPACES: Shore Lodge used to have small sitting room spaces scattered throughout the hotel for hanging out or playing the piano. These have largely been replaced with office or meeting rooms. I miss the sitting rooms. The gym has been greatly abbreviated to provide extra room for the spa.

ROOM: It’s hard to beat waking up to a view of Payette Lake from your bed. I just wish they would get rid of the lingering English Manor décor, specifically the fox hunting paintings. They make absolutely no sense at Shore Lodge. (I imagine the former San Diego owner fancied himself Lord of the Manor?) Please remove these embarrassments. Replace with local art or McCall scenery, or even Western or 1940s art (from when the hotel was built). Blank walls would be preferable to the fox hound atrocities.

I can handle the lingering 90’s décor of floral wallpaper and brass bathroom fixtures, but they really should remove the billowing draperies, which obscure the lake view. Pull ‘em down—easy fix. It’s time.

I noticed they lowered the late check-out fees from $100 to $50 per hour. A step in the right direction, but still a specific threat like I’ve never seen before. Perhaps they have issues with skiers checking out late?

OVERALL: They do so much right at Shore Lodge. With a couple of easy fixes, it would be perfect. I’ll even help them yank down the big floral, view-blocking draperies, if they want.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ArtistJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Shore Lodge, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Hi there!

First off, thank you so much for being a longtime guest and sharing the story of Shore Lodge with everyone. We truly appreciate your compliments and are thrilled to hear you’ve had some wonderful experiences here. You’ll be happy to hear that we have indeed begun updating our guestrooms! We’ve replaced the curtains and art in about 20% of the rooms so far and we hope you’ll come back and check out the changes soon!

Thanks,
Dan Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

I have been a lot of places for conferences and this one is right up there at the top for beautiful setting, beautiful place and excellent service. After a spectacular drive from the Boise airport (it takes about 2 hours to McCall) you arrive at this gem of a Lodge. The weather was perfect so that added to the whole experience. Definitely a family friendly place and at the same time can hold formal events and professional meetings. The views are breathtaking and the seating out on the docks are a great idea.

Room Tip: Lake view either on the lake level so you can walk right out of your room to the lake shore or the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LinGal2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Absolutely loved this place! It is the perfect place to refresh and unwind. We made a few weekend getaways here with and without the kids. We had a room on the beach with great views of the lake and mountains. We watched a movie as a family in the private theatre and loved that each movie is served with complimentary popcorn. This place had a turn-down service that gave us a yummy cookie each night. Loved this place!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseburg, Oregon
Level Contributor
65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We didn't stay here, but visited the bar area WOW! Great views , reasonable prices and friendly environment. Food was very good. Find a few minutes/hour to enjoy this very old establishment (built 1948). Great old style in great shape.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Segmead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Arrived from a Sydney Australia summer to a wintry, snowy McCall. The sun shone, the full moon came up over the mountains and was breathtaking, and the frozen lake looked beautiful. We held a Conference there. The food was OK but not brilliant. Unfortunately the conference room was really cold and that was distracting. I was spoiled with Suite. It was enormous and comfortable. I'd go again for a Conference but with more warm clothes for the Conference room. I sadly didn't get time to experience any of the other amenties but some people were in the hot tub in the evening in the snow!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lono60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McCall
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Mccall Lodge & Suites
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - The Hunt Lodge
1.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Tamarack Resort
Tamarack Resort
#1 of 2 in Donnelly
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brundage Inn
Brundage Inn
#6 of 8 in McCall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brundage Bungalows
Brundage Bungalows
#5 of 9 in McCall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Lodge

Property: Shore Lodge
Address: 501 W Lake St, McCall, ID 83638-3444 (Formerly Whitetail Club)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > McCall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in McCall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the southern shore of Payette Lake, in McCall Idaho, four seasons of adventure awaits. A family favorite since 1948, Shore Lodge invites you to enjoy the spectacular views, friendly service and generous accommodations.Special amenities include three exceptional dining locations, a full service salon and spa, movie theater, fitness center, shop serving Starbucks coffee, pet friendly amenities, access to boat and water sport equipment rentals, transportation to skiing at Brundage Mountain, golf course, movie theater and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Shore Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shore Hotel Mccall
Shore Lodge McCall, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing