We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not come here durring off season...this means terrible service after Labor Day.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Shore Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shore Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in McCall
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Do not come here durring off season...this means terrible service after Labor Day.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

We sat in the bar to watch a major NCAA football rivalry with aprox 15 other guests. The staff served the entire bar as "to go" (literally in boxes at the fine dining restaurant), required us to order all food and drink downstairs, treated us rudely,and openly discussed that we we acting unreasonably requesting some kind of guest service. This is usually a great resort durring high season winter/summer. We are sadly dissapointed with our experience.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sarakats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, General Manager at Shore Lodge, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thanks for the feedback, we appreciate it! The Narrows Grill opens at 2 pm in September, so food and beverage service was not available in the outlet at the time you visited. We are happy to have guests enjoy that space, with its great views and numerous TVs, to watch a game any time. However, the kitchen and bar for that restaurant do not open until later in the afternoon as to accommodate for morning and lunch service at our lakeside restaurant downstairs. This is why food and drinks were ordered to-go from the downstairs Lake Grill restaurant and the bar you were in was not staffed. We were trying to provide a special service by allowing accommodations in an otherwise closed area, but we do apologize for the confusion and inconvenience that resulted from the situation not being explained to you prior to you taking a seat. Thanks again for visiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    81
    20
    19
    10
See reviews for
219
329
19
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
huntington beach, ca
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed at the Shore Lodge in July 2013 (so I can't comment on staying there during Winter). It was a family reunion and there were a total of 15 of us, ranging in age from 4 to 82. I had been to McCall before, but never stayed at the Shore Lodge. BTW, McCall is simply a fantastic summer vacation spot. It has everything anyone could want....friendly town, a nice lake with all the water sports (water skiing, tubing, kayaking, etc.), swimming, mountain biking, whitewater rafting, hiking, or simply just relaxing on the beach and doing nothing. And it's an easy 2 hour drive from Boise airport (or take the air taxi by McCall Air).

Back to the Shore Lodge......it's really a 5 star resort, from the quality of the physical property and rooms to the level of service and dining. Because of the number of people in our group, we had a mix of rooms, including Lake View Suites and Standard Garden Rooms. While I would highly recommend the suites (we had 2 adults and 2 children in our room comfortably), the standard rooms were also very nice. I know that some reviewers have commented on the décor in the rooms, but we thought it was very nice and had a Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton feel, but the resort was in the process of updating all the rooms while we were there, so I assume all the rooms will be updated by next summer. We also rented the new Lake Cottage which is adjacent to the resort and has 3 huge bedrooms, a huge gourmet kitchen and plenty of living space. Our group of 15 ate many meals at the cottage (which is really a large lake house with private dock and beach).

In terms of activities and amenities, there is a kids camp (age 4+) which offers half day and full days, which was great to put the little ones in while the rest of us engaged in rafting trips or other activities. The lodge also has a marina where you can rent boats, canoes, kayaks, paddle boards, etc. The staff even delivered our rental boat to the private dock at the Lake Cottage. And the pool and hot tub are lake front and very nice. The resort also has complementary bikes to cruise around town or you can rent mountain bikes for the day to explore some excellent single track and downhill trails. A few of us also played golf at the Whitetail resort, which has to be one of the top golf courses in the region, both in terms of the course itself as well as the level of service. And, the spa was one of the best we've seen. The resort does charge for most things, such as renting a kayak, but it's easy to simply bill to the room. And with their resort feel very reasonable, I wasn't too bothered with paying extra for rentals, but perhaps they can institute an all-inclusive plan (i.e., a flat fee to rent and use whatever you like). Other things, though, are provided at no cost, like cruiser bikes, which was nice.

The resort itself has 3 restaurants (from casual lakeside service to fine dining) and the food and service were excellent. And cocktails are served poolside. We also utilized the personal chef services to have the resort chefs come over to the Lake Cottage and prepare meals. Again, simply excellent. And the kids loved free nightly smores on the beach.

The staff at the resort are very friendly and accommodating. A perfect mix between professional and friendly (i.e., great service but not too stuffy/formal). It was a pleasant surprise that a small town like McCall would have a resort with such first class service.

In summary, the Shore Lodge is simply a great destination. Everything was first class and there is something for everyone, regardless of age and interests. While we were a large family group, the resort would also be very nice for couples. I was the organizer of this family reunion and my family is very high maintenance.....yet everyone was pleased and I was a hero for organizing the trip.

Room Tip: Get a Lake View room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soladiamante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, General Manager at Shore Lodge, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share such a thorough and kind-hearted review. We have been proud to serve generations of families for decades and having yours here for the reunion was a true pleasure. We’re thrilled you were able to enjoy so many of the summer amenities and we look forward to having you back in seasons to come. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riggins, Idaho
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

The Lake View Suite was wonderful. The weather was beautiful despite a few thunderstorms but to be able to watch the lightning over the lake from the comfort of our balcony was rewarding. The accommodations are delightful and the facility itself is fabulous. I would recommend staying here. However, I was disappointed in our in room dining experience. Our Chicken Roulade was very dry and over cooked. The carrots were raw, not Al dente. Our Lake Grill Salad was suppose to come with Poached Pears and Candied Pecans; it did not. We paid a steep price for presentation of the meal because the majority of it went untouched.

Room Tip: Pamper yourself to a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle, Idaho
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Shore Lodge offers a wonderful getaway. It has wonderful lake view rooms (I recommend 3rd floor), a fabulous restaurant (The Narrows), and spa. We didn't get to try the Spa but enjoyed the setting and looked at the facilities. Outdoor, heated pool with spa was nice.
Full resort activities in the summer including water sports, golf course, and lake cruises. Winter activities are centered around snow activities and include packages at nearby Brundage Mountain.

Room Tip: In the summertime, 3rd floor lake view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
161 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed for three nights over Labor Day weekend. There were several weddings but it never seemed crowded. A great night was listening to the band in the bar and staying after to eat. The ribs were fabulous! Everyone working there was very friendly and ready to assist. Whitetail golf course as part of the package is a must for golfers. Make sure you stay on the lakeside

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank petersox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

This is truly a beautiful place. They make you feel very special. Our view was like a post card, with the mountains surrounding the lake, sailboats, etc. We visited for 4 days beginning July 4, 2013. I would love to return with our whole family. We could enjoy the beach right from our balcony. Our room was immaculate and kept that way during our stay by their staff, without us ever seeing them!! The bed was very comfortable and the shower great. I loved the soaps there and am going to try to order some. I cannot say enough about what a fabulous place and kind staff. We loved it there.

Room Tip: We loved our on the 3rd floor with a balcony overlooking the beach. Perfect for watching the fire w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

The hotel itself is pretty awesome, the views are amazing but what ever you do do not stay in what they call the "Garden View room" as others have mentioned the room smells like carpet freshner and the view consisted of nothing more than a roof and gutter! Very disappointing. No closet, no tub, the mirror on the wall hangs behind the TV? The bathroom was very small! If you can afford to upgrade to a lake view room I highly recommend it!

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McCall
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS McCall Lodge & Suites
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - The Hunt Lodge
1.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Tamarack Resort
Tamarack Resort
#1 of 2 in Donnelly
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brundage Inn
Brundage Inn
#6 of 8 in McCall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brundage Bungalows
Brundage Bungalows
#3 of 9 in McCall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Lodge

Property: Shore Lodge
Address: 501 West Lake St, McCall, ID 83638 (Formerly Whitetail Club)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > McCall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in McCall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the southern shore of Payette Lake, in McCall Idaho, four seasons of adventure awaits. A family favorite since 1948, Shore Lodge invites you to enjoy the spectacular views, friendly service and generous accommodations.Special amenities include three exceptional dining locations, a full service salon and spa, movie theater, fitness center, shop serving Starbucks coffee, pet friendly amenities, access to boat and water sport equipment rentals, transportation to skiing at Brundage Mountain, golf course, movie theater and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shore Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shore Hotel Mccall
Shore Lodge McCall, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing