We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Making the best of it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus University Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Making the best of it”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I initially gave this place a 2-star review, based on my initial experience. I promised to update if anything changed, so I deleted that review and I'm replacing it with this one.

Check-in was still a nightmare. They left us standing in the lobby for an hour as they tried to figure out what to do with us. We had an advance reservation, but nobody offered us any explanation. First one, then two, then three, then four people came out to stare at the computer screen. We were finally given keys to our rooms (along with two $10 certificates for the restaurant) and told we'd have to change rooms after the first two nights.

I understand they were undergoing renovations. But they need to be upfront about what's going on.

We loaded our luggage onto the rolling cart and asked for the nearest elevator. We were pointed toward where the elevator would soon be installed and told they didn't have any yet. We were told the pool was closed (something not mentioned on the website among all the happy renovation news). We were told the breakfast room was closed but breakfast was still available in the Silver Room. (This was accurate.)

So. Rooms were clean and comfy, if old-fashioned, and the bathrooms are very small.

On the second day, they called us and woke us up to tell us our next room was ready, and could they move our stuff for us? Um, what? Once we were up and about for the day, we packed up all of our things and they did, in fact, move them for us.

However, the AC in the second room wasn't even turned on, so that was less than delightful when we returned to our room on a hot July afternoon. We cranked it up as high as it would go, but it never really cooled fully.

All that being said--the restaurant food was much better than expected for a hotel restaurant, and the staff in the restaurant and bar were very good, professional and friendly. Front desk people were also extremely friendly and polite.

But--if you're switching cable providers and most of the channels are out on the TV, just tell me that when I phone the front desk--don't make the maintenance guy schlep to our room just to tell us that. If you're renovating the room we're staying in the first two nights, just tell us why you have to move us instead of making us stand there, tired and impatient.

When we checked out of the hotel, they apologized for the inconvenience and comped us for all three nights. If they're willing to admit their mistakes and make up for it, I'm more than willing to recommend them, and to try them again next time I'm in town. But please, be upfront with your guests, and don't leave them guessing/hanging in the dark.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPUI, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus University Inn, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Emby,

Thank you for taking the time to write another review about our hotel and your initial experience.

Your review has helped us decipher what the pros and cons were during your stay and sincerely appreciate that you took the time to review most of the services we have at our facility.

Come August 1st our remodel will be completed. All of our rooms will then be fully remodeled with contemporary furniture, top-of-line-mattresses, and floor to ceiling aesthetic improvements in our guest rooms and throughout the facility. Our elevators will be completed as well, giving easier access to our second floor rooms.

On behalf of the entire team, we would like to apologize for the lack of communication with the pool closure and TV channel availability. Our pool was closed as part of the remodel but reopened July 14th and apologize that prior notice was not given. As for our TV system, the switch in providers was a necessary step and all of our rooms will be featuring 120+ HD channels.

Thank you again for your candid comments as they enable us to grow and improve the level of customer service we provide. We sincerely hope you stay with us again the next time you visit the area so we can provide you with the superior customer service you and all of our guests deserve.

If I can provide any assistance, please feel free to contact me directly at 208-882-0550 EXT 307.

Your friends at Best Western Plus: University Inn

Jacqueline Vazquez
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    197
    66
    18
    10
See reviews for
347
88
27
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, AL
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We selected this motel because of its high rating on TripAdvisor. Upon arrival, the parking lot was largely blocked off due to construction. When we stated our concerns about construction noise, the receptionist stated that she had few complaints. The male clerk stated that the renovation was concluding with the parking lot phase. Upon going into our room, we found that the television channel list was inaccurate. There were only 10 channels available other than music channels. We called the front desk and the receptionist advised that she was very surprised to hear about the lack of channels. She said that she would have the maintenance employee come to our room and fix the problem. Upon entering our room, the maintenance employee said that he hated to tell us but the hotel only offered the 19 limited HD channels because the hotel did not want to replace the televisions until the renovation is complete. Upon being told what the clerk had said about being surprised, he agreed that the clerk could have told us rather sending him to our room with a preprinted channel list. There were also construction workers at work in the restaurant. We asked to check out and the desk clerk processed us out and apologized for our experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drsyn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPUI, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus University Inn, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear drsyn2,

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We are aware that we only have one time to make a first impression and that this was not the best circumstance considering our parking lot and remodeling throughout the hotel.

We sincerely apologize for our unclear communication about the TV situation. Once all of our rooms are completed we will be offering 120+ HD channels in all of our rooms. Our extensive remodel will also be showcasing newly modernized guest rooms furnished with contemporary furniture, top-of-the-line mattresses, 42” HD TV’s, floor to ceiling aesthetic improvements and more.

Come August 1st we will be the newest hotel on the Palouse with 36 years’ experience and we hope that you will return, so we may have a chance to provide you with a pleasant stay.

Your comments can only help us improve the level of service we provide to all of our guests and thank you.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 208-882-0550 EXT 307.

Sincerely,

Jacqueline Vazquez
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, United States
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Our stay at the Best Western in Moscow, ID. was very comfortable. 10 family members stayed while we attended a wedding. We all had a great experience. The rooms were very comfortable. The restaurant and bar were excellent food and service. The breakfast service was also excellent. We also enjoyed the pool and hot tub.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dalwyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPUI, Manager at Best Western Plus University Inn, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Dalwyn R,

Thank you so much for your kind review about our facility.

We were more than happy to accommodate you and your family members during such a special occasion. More so, we are happy to hear that you and your family were able to enjoy all of the amenities our hotel has to offer.

Come August 1st, our guest rooms will be completely remodeled with top-of-the-line mattresses, furniture, HD TV’s and floor to ceiling aesthetics making each guests stay more relaxing and comfortable. Our in-house restaurant and bar really do make a difference in our guests stay as well and are happy you enjoyed its convenient location, food and the staff service.

We often have guests comment on our extended complimentary breakfast buffet and are content that it made your stay that much more valuable. From our chef prepared breakfast potatoes, to eggs, biscuits and gravy, fresh fruit, breakfast pastries and more, we seem to have options for everyone.

Thank you again for your generous review and we look forward to accommodating you on your future visits to Moscow.

Your friends at Best Western Plus: University Inn

Jacqueline Vazquez
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The hotel was clean, the bed was comfortable. The staff greeted me coming in and going out. The breakfast is a hot breakfast. The hotel is conveniently located next to a grocery store. There is a mini fridge and micro in the room. You don't hear any noises coming from the room next to yours. It was so quiet and relaxing, even though it was the 4th of July. I highly recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the front of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CurlyInSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPUI, Manager at Best Western Plus University Inn, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear CurlyInSeattle,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

We are glad you enjoyed our facility and found it quiet and relaxing. We do have a one of kind staff and your kind words have been passed on to thank them. Our convenient location is within a couple mile radius of the Palouse Mall, Winco, University of Idaho, biking trails, restaurants, and downtown Moscow.

From all of us here at Best Western Plus: University Inn, we would like to say thank you and look forward to your next visit!

Jacqueline Vazquez
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The hotel was clean, the staff very pleasant and the beds were very comfortable. Our group was treated very well. The only drawback was the construction that was going on to the grounds around the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Paddy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPUI, Manager at Best Western Plus University Inn, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Paddy W.,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

We appreciate your kind words regarding our pleasant staff and that their efforts made your stay valued.

We receive several positive comments regarding our comfortable beds, so it’s great to hear that we have another satisfied guest. It’s very important to us that all our guests are comfortable and get the best night sleep possible.

Come August 1st, our remodel will be completed and our guests will be enjoying contemporary rooms equipped with top-of-the-line mattresses, large HD flat screen TVs, and floor to ceiling aesthetic improvements.

Thank you again for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you upon your next visit!

Jacqueline Vazquez

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The weather didn't cooperate, but the venue was great. I was there with a group of BMW motorcyclists. Despite the on-going construction, the hotel staff made us feel welcome and were most accommodating. The breakfasts were a spread to behold. Better than expected, bravo to all involved. A special shout-out to Peter, the bar-tender at a couple of our private events. I would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPUI, Manager at Best Western Plus University Inn, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Peter A,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

It was our pleasure to help accommodate you and the BMW Group. Meeting our guests’ needs and accommodating whatever we can is our pleasure.

Our complimentary guest breakfast includes a wide selection of choices. Scrambled eggs, bacon or sausage, chef-prepared breakfast potatoes, pastries, yogurt, cereal, and juices are all included plus more. We are happy you found it exceptional.

Also, thank you for your kind words to all of the staff especially Peter as they have been passed on.

Come August 1, our remodel will be completed and look forward to your future stays with us in our newly renovated facility!

Your friends at Best Western Plus: University Inn

Jacqueline Vazquez

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The hotel was very helpful with all of our needs for the whole week-end. Our class got a discount and set of rooms set aside. There in the middle of a remodel but nothing spoiled the experience. The bar had a friendly waitress and our group was surprised at how cheap the delicious drinks were. The hotel is so close to the university which made it easy to get around to all the events.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 970bonniea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPUI, Manager at Best Western Plus University Inn, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear 970bonniea,

We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff provided attentive, helpful and friendly service. We work diligently to provide the best service possible.

It’s great you had the chance to take advantage of our convenient location. We are located in close proximity to Moscow’s main attractions including the Palouse Mall, University of Idaho and only minutes away from the Washington State University.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our facility and we look forward to your visits!

Sincerely,

Jacqueline Vazquez

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moscow
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Moscow Pullman
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Moscow
6.1 mi away
Residence Inn Pullman
Residence Inn Pullman
#1 of 6 in Pullman
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Quality Inn Paradise Creek
6.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Pullman
8.0 mi away
Hilltop Inn
Hilltop Inn
#3 of 6 in Pullman
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus University Inn

Property: Best Western Plus University Inn
Address: 1516 W Pullman Rd, Moscow, ID 83843
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus University Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business and leisure guests alike will love staying a the centrally located and newly renovated BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn - situated just minutes away from Pullman, Washington and Moscow's historic downtown, which makes it perfect for visiting both the University of Idaho and Washington State University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus University Inn Moscow Pullman Hotel Moscow
Best Western Moscow
Moscow Best Western
Best Western Plus University Inn Moscow, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing