We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western hates U of I Students - true Vandal Supporters should avoid it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus University Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2006

The manager of this hotel, Bill Saylor, is hostile to U of I students (although he uses assistants and won't confront them personally).

My wife and I live in Moscow and have gone to the Pantry (their restaurant) for over a year and a half to eat and study. Although it has NEVER been known for very good service and has hit or miss food quality - we've gone there because the options are limited in Moscow. We typically go 4 to 5 times a week and spend over $20 each visit (that's ~ $100 a week!). We typically stay 2 to 3 hours, are quiet, polite and had a respectful relationship with the waitstaff and all employees.

The restaurant is typically 3/4% or more empty when we are there (with the exception of Sunday mornings for about 2 hours).

We were informed today that the Hotel General Manager (Saylor) has demanded that we are not allowed to stay there longer than 90 minutes. The only reasoning given by the assistant manager was that we don't pay for the electricity that we occasionally plug our computers into (from their single outlet in the restaurant) and we don't pay anything extra for that. She also said that the policy didn't really make any sense to her - but that she was ordered to enforce it.

We tried to clarify whether there was any other reasonable reasons we were being kicked out: like we drank too much coffee, were difficult customers, caused problems, anything . . . and she told us no, we were good customers and agreed that "normal" customers often take 90+ minutes to eat. It was just the Moscow Best Western's new policy.

So . . . even though we don't cause problems, don't prevent other customers from eating, and do pay high food costs ($400 to $500 a month) - they don't want business from the University of Idaho students. PLEASE HELP THEM OUT - AND TAKE YOUR BUSINESS ELSEWHERE!!!! True Vandal fans care about Vandal students - the Best Western cares about something else; although neither we (nor the assistant manager who informed us of this today) really know or understand what that is.

The La Quinta, Mark IV and Super 8 motels are great options in town.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank uivandals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (789)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

787 - 790 of 790 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Victoria, BC
837
Reviewed 1 July 2006

On our 2 week road trip, we selected best westerns to stay at a number of times, as we knew we would be comfortable, and not have to worry about what we were finding. This best western was as we expected. Comfortable, nice pool, nice staff...There was a great little courtyard - if we had been staying more than one night, I'm sure we would have taken advantage of that. It was also pretty quiet despite being on a busy highway.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2005

This Moscow Idaho Best Western Inn was quite clean, the staff helpful and the location amazingly quiet during our weekend stay. Extra towels arrived at our door within 3 minutes of our request. We were on our way to eat breakfast elsewhere when a desk person wished us a nice day and we told him we were headed to breakfast, he gave us a $10 coupon toward breakfast in the Inn's coffeeshop. We enjoyed a great meal at a fraction of the cost elsewhere. We will be returning soon.

PS-We came very close to booking another Moscow motel to save money...glad we didn't, as when we saw it in person, we were AMAZED that it rec'd the highest rating on this site...until we noticed that the managers had evidently written 2 of the reviews. Don't be fooled.

12  Thank Pavla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank x-ander2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPUI, Manager at Best Western Plus University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moscow
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Moscow Pullman
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Moscow
6.1 mi away
Residence Inn Pullman
Residence Inn Pullman
#1 of 6 in Pullman
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Pullman
6.7 mi away
Quality Inn Paradise Creek
8.0 mi away
Hilltop Inn
Hilltop Inn
#3 of 6 in Pullman
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus University Inn

Address: 1516 W Pullman Rd, Moscow, ID 83843
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Moscow
Price Range: £83 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus University Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business and leisure guests alike will love staying a the centrally located and newly renovated BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn - situated just minutes away from Pullman, Washington and Moscow's historic downtown, which makes it perfect for visiting both the University of Idaho and Washington State University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus University Inn Moscow Pullman Hotel Moscow
Best Western Moscow
Moscow Best Western
Best Western Plus University Inn Moscow, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing