We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food But....”

Canyon Creek Restaurant & Lounge
Ranked #144 of 204 Restaurants in Nampa
Restaurant details
Wilder, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Good Food But....”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stopped by to get a bite before going to grandsons ball game...there were 4 of us.. 2 ordered breakfast 2 lunch...One ordered a veggi omlete without eggs and recieved it with no problems...all food was good but..I had a BLT that had almost no Bacon....2 half pieces on each half..that was disappointing...fries and tots were great...crispy out and lite and fluffy inside...all and all everyone thought food was good and priced right...we will probably stop by again when in the area....Note to owners..a make over might be a good idea..carpet ,booths and tables are very worn and a little on the dingy side..we were there on a Friday at noon and only 5 tables of people...food is good so maybe this is why only a few costumers

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Onionguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    8
    7
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The food was very fresh and tasty, make sure you order from the bistro menu. We went into the lounge to eat, I don't know if the bistro menu is available in the restaurant or not. The lounge was quite loud (due to one boisterous table) but was still enjoyable.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nampa, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good old fashioned food”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I live about a mile from the place and have been walking down for either b'fast or lunch for the last couple months (since Sep 2013). The food is consistent - home-style American food, good, with nice variety. Service has been good to very good, with the wait staff cheery and friendly, orders accurate and very quick. The morning cook even understands what "over medium" means for eggs (which I've found to be difficult to get in many places.) It's not a fancy dinner restaurant - just an old fashioned roadside diner. I'd recommend it to anyone traveling through or even for others like me - who live nearby and enjoy a less-rushed place. Oh yes - the price is a big plus. I can get my breakfast for about $5 - and it's fresh cooked, not something wrapped in foil and warmed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nampa_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nampa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food and Pie!”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Had lunch here the other day. The soup was homemade and really good. The service was very quick, got me in and out on my lunch hour. I also had the coconut cream pie. Wow! Homemade and really good. This is a great place to have lunch. I see they have banquet rooms too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“I generally don't review bad experiences, but I'll make an exception.”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The hotel manager suggested the restaurant owner would benefit from hearing constructive criticism, so here goes:
1 -- solve your staffing problems. You simply cannot operate without motivated, well-trained people who enjoy their customers and their work (by the way, the fewer visible tattoos the better, no matter how tattooed your customers are, unless you are shooting for the biker bar niche).
Are your people actually better than they are allowed to be (they probably are)? You simply cannot operate if you have good people who are thwarted by inadequate systems and ignorant, know-nothing management. Keep this up and you'll go out of business. If you, personally, don't have the required depth (no disgrace in that -- I couldn't run a place like yours if my life depended on it) hire someone who does. They're everywhere, and they're looking for work.
2 -- take a look at your competitors. And I don't mean Denny's. That's not your competitor. Nampa (and the rest of the world) doesn't need another second-rate Denny's. It needs a Denny's killer. And in your niche, Denny's is pretty hard to beat. So look for a niche that is currently unoccupied, or occupied by someone who isn't performing well.
3 -- rethink your lounge. It's a dismal failure. Yikes.
Until you get serious, and get some serious expertise on-board, you're headed down the tubes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Adox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Canyon Creek Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Canyon Creek Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing