We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice people and park” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wagonhammer RV Park & Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Fork
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wagonhammer RV Park & Campground
Camino, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice people and park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

POSITIVES: The people that run this park are some of the best I have experienced! Very kind, welcoming and friendly. They even host a "social gathering" BYOB each afternoon. They escort you to your site and make sure you have everything you need. The offer a store with many RVing supplies as well as a small gift shop.The park is right on the river and a really nice setting. Several sites back up to the river, but the river view is blocked by the brush. Very clean and nice restrooms.

STUFF TO KNOW: As you read this, keep in mind that I recommend this park and would return. These are the things you probably want to know before going there. Not too many shade trees and it can be hot. Many sites are very close together. We had site 31 and it was in the trees, but the site next to us was just a few feet away (like 6 feet off our slide out). The electrical and water hook ups were at the front right of the trailer. I needed to use two hoses and an extension to my electric to reach it. I did not have a site with sewer (the river sites are electric and water only). They charge an additional $10 to use their dump station.

I traveled with a 5th wheel in July 2013.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMB-MJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    8
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

Who would have thought in the Village of North Fork that you would have such wonderful hospitality from the owner/operators. We have yet to run into anyone more accommodating and friendly. The park is well structured. There are back in spaces on the Salmon River that only have water and electric but are easy to back into with wide spaces. The pull throughs are not as wide but still plenty of room with gravel pads and grass in each space. The office includes a small store that has a good selection of gift items and a few RV supplies. They are pet friendly and there is lots of space to walk your pet in the grassy areas. We observed deer running through the perimeter of the park and could see elk and bear through binoculars on the mountains across the river as well as bald eagles right across the river. We have never been here before but will not hesitate to come again. If you have the opportunity, have the owners contact the 100 Acre Wood Lodge, a B & B where you can have a first class dinner at lower level prices. They can compare with a gourmet restaurant any day despite located in a rustic yet charming facility that they have owned/operated for 18 years.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JediMaster49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We spent one night at this RV park on our way home, as it was getting late and we didn't want to drive over the pass. It is a lovely, quiet spot on the river with clean restroom and shower facilities. HOWEVER, in the midst of dumping our tanks, we were told there was an ADDITIONAL $10 fee for that! We were not informed of that when checking in, nor was it noted on the invoice with the other pertinent campground information. The propriator did point out a very faded, handwritten sign with "$10" barely legible, but without other information, one would assume that was for non-guests. I would like to give this spot a 5-star rating, and would have enjoyed staying here again, but to not let guests know that some things are not included is poor customer service. If you do say here, there is a free dump site up the road just a couple of miles.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

Beautiful location with helpful friendly staff. Clean, easy to use and reasonably priced. Bathrooms are very clean and spacious. Most definitely will stay here again. Be aware the spots by the river are electricity and water only.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thepoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison
Level Contributor
142 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

We love this campground and return year after year! We always choose to stay on the river, if spots are available. The sites are long and spacious and many have tree coverage. Other sites have limited tree coverage for those desiring satellite coverage. There is nothing better than waking up to the beauty of a river and mountains for a background. The bathrooms and laundry are spotless. The owners are delightful people and are full of information regarding the area. They willingly arrange dining, horseback, whitewater, and river cruise reservations. If you are looking for a peaceful campsite to relax and rejuvenate, this campground offers that and more. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Room Tip: Select the Water and Electric on the riverfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Headwindtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Discovered Wagonhammer last year and just had to come back again this year .... only for a longer stay. It is such a pretty setting along the Salmon River. We've seen elk on the far side of the river and bald eagles nesting and raising young ones. The couple who own the campground and the hosts are so accomodating. We feel like family now and love getting together at 9 o'clock coffee as well as 5 o'clock happy hour for visits with all the other campers as well as the staff. The Wagonhammer is so peaceful and quiet ... good for relaxing ! If you are more energetic there are many hiking,biking,rafting,jeeping and horseback riding venues to check out. There are also lots of cool places to go out for a bite with really good food but not break the bank to do so.
We find the sites quite spacious with lots of old growth trees for shade. There are some spots that do not have much shade but typically the bigger rigs,with their larger awnings, park there. At times when it is too hot, my buddy & I will wade into the clear fresh running water, in the shallows , sit and enjoy a cold beverage. Life doesn't get any better !

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelinggypsies_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

The RV sites were close together with no privacy screening. We were basically parked in a grass lot and were within arm's length of the travel trailer next door. We kept our blinds down for some privacy. The Wifi is weak. There is no Cell service. If you need to use the guest phone in the office, it is only available during their office hours of 9AM-7PM. I was refused use of their phone at 7:10PM on our late arrival date & the owner made me wait until the next morning to call our family. The laundry facilities also are available only when office is open. Be sure to empty your tanks ahead of time or else you will be charged $10 EXTRA to use their on-site dump.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Fork
14.7 mi away
Stagecoach Inn
Stagecoach Inn
#1 of 4 in Salmon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
15.5 mi away
Sacajawea Inn
Sacajawea Inn
#3 of 4 in Salmon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wagonhammer RV Park & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wagonhammer RV Park & Campground

Property: Wagonhammer RV Park & Campground
Address: Highway 93 Mile Mark, North Fork, ID 83466
Region: United States > Idaho > North Fork
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in North Fork
Number of rooms: 50

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing