We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice rural pub.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pendle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pendle Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Barley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A nice rural pub.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

I have called to the Pendle four times in recent months, its location is wonderful, truly rural.

We found the food was good and so was the staff, particularly Stewart who was very helpful, even the locals in the pub section were friendly, recognising you when you went in more than once.

On one occasion there was a 'mature' women behind the bar who was rather 'grumpy', a native of the village said she was the owner, perhaps she should read the reviews and take notice of her staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CowsHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    33
    11
    3
    5
See reviews for
16
49
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

just dined at the pendle inn@ barley. 4 of us had a groupon voucher . good service ,food and local beers. lamb steak was excellent as was the lamb hot pot.good portions that after starters and mains we couldn't manage desserts.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

This is a fantastic country pub, but when we got to our room/apartment, it was like a 1970's bed sit hard flakey plastic settee, stained carpets, smell of cig smoke and DOGS. We turned round and drove 78 miles back home rather than stop here.
Shame the beer and food looked very good.

Room Tip: Sorry could not take the sleep quality mark off, to choose a good room - find some other place to st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Forkliftphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Spent 2 nights here with a deal from deal monster, couldn't fault it really, staff were very pleasant and nothing was too much trouble for them. Food was lovely and plenty of choice. The lodge was basic but warm and had everything you needed. The area for walking was enjoyable, a lovely experience, would

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed here for two nights last week - and loved it! The cottage was warm and cosy and had everything necessary for a short stay. Reading one of the recent reviews which advises taking toilet roll - well we did - only to find there were three there already! The same review mentions taking extra towels but there was a bath and hand towel each and a tea towel - what more do you need? We had taken supplies for breakfasts and packed lunches with us and ate in the pub both evenings. The food was excellent and the portions huge - my husband is a "pudding" person and could not manage one the first night - so the second night he passed on the starter! The review which says the portions are small also says only one person can fit on the settee - we had no problem with two of us! The only downside is the fact that the cottages are connected so the sound from next door carries but we had a lovely time - weather cold and frosty and snow on the hills -beautiful! Incidentally we came by public transport (bus to Clitheroe and then from there to Barley) and still managed to bring all we needed. Thank goodness for the reviews which said that there is no shop - no post office, cash machine or anything! Thankfully there is also nothing to spend money on so we did not need the cash! I am not sure I would have paid £60 per night as a B & B would not be much more than that but for £99.00 for two nights including a two-course meal the first night and bottle of wine the second, it was excellent value.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianVaughn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Lovely rural village setting and the Inn is a welcome break after a long walk up and around Pendle Hill. Unfortunately the food leaves a lot to be desired. There doesn't seem to be a lot of effort put into the preparation and the Apple Pie dessert had been microwaved. I visited after buying a Groupon voucher, but even the benefit of a healthy discount didn't make the meal value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Holly2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

I visited here for a special occasion dinner with family & we used some online vouchers for a main & dessert each. We decided to top-up with starters as they looked so tempting.

A nice real-ale pub within a very rural setting in the small village of Pendle. Unfortunately, we were all a bit cold in the enormous conservatory we were seated in - nice open fires in the main pub area though, I'd recommend sitting here if possible over the newer conversion of the restaurant.

The quality of the food was good, great menu options and the portion sizes reasonable - especially for 'The Famous Pendle Pie' which was enormous!

Personally, I enjoyed our visit, and would visit again if it wasn't so far from home. It's remote location is worth noting - I wouldn't advise a weak-stomached person to attempt a trip here during darkness. It's located down some very dark, very narrow hillside roads and quite difficult to find in the winter weather - not for the faint-hearted! I'm sure it's very picturesque and lovely in the height of summer, however.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RainbowRach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barley
4.9 mi away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Burnley Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
7.9 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Barley Mow
The Barley Mow
#1 of 5 in Burnley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pendle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pendle Inn

Property: The Pendle Inn
Address: bb12 9jx | Burnley, Barley BB12 9JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Barley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Barley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pendle Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Pendle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing