We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place in a nice town”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Orofino
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Helgeson Place Hotel Suites
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Orofino
Lenore, Idaho
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice place in a nice town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We were traveling in Idaho, and found this hotel in downtown Orofino. Liking older type hotels in small towns we decided to stay here. The room was really a suite, with a full kitchen. Think I even saw plates and cups in the cabinet. The older type elevator was neat too, with the gate that had to be closes to operate. The breakfast items were good as far as we were concerned and we didn't have to go out for more to get more or different items as we sometimes have to do. For being in the center of town we found it still quite and had no trouble sleeping.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie D, Public Relations Manager at Helgeson Place Hotel Suites, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you so much for your five star rating!!! We are so happy that you and your family had a great stay at the Helgeson! I will share your comments about our breakfast and staff... everyone enjoys happy guests!!!
Also your comments on our location are "spot on"... we love that we can be downtown near all the food vendors... yet not have all the traffic noise!
Happy travels; and we hope to see you again soon!
Stephanie De.
Marketing & Events Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    14
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
11
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Council, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

The 1st time I came to Orofino Idaho was on Nov.8th.2013 - (to visit my fiance, who is temporary staying in Orofino until Feb/March 2014). My future mother in law and myself (and her dog Duke) were checking out a few different hotel's before deciding which one we wanted to stay at, we stopped by one other hotel (I won't say which one) before going to the Helgeson Hotel and we were not impressed, the prices were to high for what they had to offer and they weren't "Pet Friendly" like the sign outside said it was, so we decided to go check out the Helgeson Hotel next, we are glad we did, (including Duke). When we went into the hotel the young lady at the front desk (Kristie) was awesome! She is actually the reason we choose to stay at the hotel that day, she was very polite, friendly, and answered all of our question's and concern's we had, (and our dog just loves her). The next morning after we had checked out of the hotel, we took a walk around town to check out some of the stores and cafes and we met a few people that lived in, or close to Orofino, I have to say they were some of the friendliest folks I've ever met. We had so much fun that day that we decided to stay in town for another day, so we went right back to the Helgeson Hotel to get a room. I have been coming to Orofino every weekend since that day and will continue to do for the next few months, and the Helgeson Hotel will be the only Hotel I will be staying at. The staff there is wonderful! Thank you to Kristie and Angie for everything you do, and also to the housekeepers for the great work keeping "my weekend getaway room" clean and neat. See you all on the weekends! LOL

Room Tip: We stay on the 2nd floor when were there. During one of our visits there was a guest on the 3rd floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie D, Public Relations Manager at Helgeson Place Hotel Suites, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
First of all thank you so much for the kind review! We also think Kristie, Angie and our Housekeepers are wonderful, I will pass on your kind words to them (They really do love to hear when people notice their stellar service!).
We are also glad that you, your fiance and your (future) mother in law took the time to visit downtown Orofino, it has a certain charm that makes this a wonderful town to live in!
We hope that you will consider returning again before you leave... or even coming back to Orofino later on for a little honeymoon! :)

Stephanie D.
Public Relations Coordinator
Helgeson Hotel

p.s. Congratulations on the engagement!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmett, Idaho
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

We travel to Orofino frequently and always stay at the Helgeson. The rooms there are very large and so comfortable! They offer a very nice breakfast and the staff are among some of the best! The location is right downtown within walking distance to all of the shops and restaurants. Would recommend the Helgeson to anyone visiting Orofino.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie D, Public Relations Manager at Helgeson Place Hotel Suites, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you so much for your high recommendation! Being in the heart of Orofino allows us to be close to everything yet far enough away from the hustle and bustle to have a peaceful atmosphere.
I will pass on your kind comments about our staff, they really do treasure hearing positive feedback about their efforts.
Thank you so much for your kind review, and for choosing us! Please come back soon!
Stephanie Deyo, Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orofino
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

This hotel is downtown and is the grand old lady of hotels: the room clean and very roomy with kitchen area. We actually would rather stay here than Best Western which is on the river and owned(I believe) by the same couple.

Room Tip: There is a hot tub that you can use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie D, Public Relations Manager at Helgeson Place Hotel Suites, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed The Helgeson Hotell! The fact that our rooms have a kitchen area really is unique... and makes for a great eat-in/stay over combination.
We are in fact owned by the same owner as the Best Western Plus Lodge At River's Edge, both properties benefit from an owner who cares about their businesses and employees.
Thank you so much for your kind review, and for choosing us! Please come back soon!
Stephanie Deyo, Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We've stayed here many times & always will when passing through Orofino. Rooms are amazingly spacious. Staff is topflight. Breakfast is decent. The cost is amazingly low for what it is. One of the nicest rooms & best deals in the Columbia River basin.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawknjaguar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie D, Public Relations Manager at Helgeson Place Hotel Suites, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you so much for your gracious comments. I will pass them on to the staff and owners, it will mean the world to them that you wrote such a complementary review!
We hope you will come visit us again soon!
Stephanie Deyo
Helgeson Hotel
Orofino, ID
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blairmore, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We were in Orofino to have our vehicle serviced at Hanson garage. The Best Western was booked and they recommended Helgeson Place (same owner). We had a large two bedroom unit with the kitchenette. The decoration is a little dated and the room had an odor on one side of the bed but otherwise seemed quite clean. We were on the third floor in the back corner of the building so although there was some noise it was acceptable. The continental breakfast was comparable to what we have gotten elsewhere with scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon and the like. It is hard to beat the price at $68.00 for the night.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tombees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie D, Public Relations Manager at Helgeson Place Hotel Suites, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your wonderful scoring and hope to see you return again soon. We had maintenance look into your bed issues ASAP, thank you for letting us know of the problem.
We are also happy that you visited Hanson Garage while you were in town, we are big supporters of local business.

Thank you again!
Stephanie Deyo
Marketing & Events Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

We were enroute from Montana back to Idaho and rolled into town needing lodging for one night. We scouted around and decided on this hotel mostly due to its location and we always enjoy hotels with historical background. A very nice front desk woman set us up and boy, were we surprised! It FAR exceeded our expectations! It was pristine! It was spacious (it used to be a boarding house, hence the suites), and so very clean! Not a spot anywhere! The bed was one of the most comfortable beds we had ever slept in - so much so, that we wrote down the name for our next bed purchase! They supplied crisp white robes and the best scented toiletries. We felt like royalty, We will definitely be back! My husband and I both agreed it was the deal of the century! Never will you find this quality for this price again! You will be delighted! And... they send you a thank you note... now, that's good service!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John and Harrie... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie D, Public Relations Manager at Helgeson Place Hotel Suites, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
First of all thank you for choosing our hotel, we know you have other choices and we love that you enjoyed our location and history! The fact that you noted our housekeepers were doing a great job means a lot to us and we will pass on the praise!

I also love the beds... a good nights sleep really starts your day off on the right foot! Thank you for the feedback on the toiletries, we have many choices and are always happy to know we made the correct ones!

Thank you again!
Stephanie Deyo
Marketing & Events Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orofino
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lodge at River's Edge
18.5 mi away
Hearthstone Elegant Lodge
0.1 mi away
White Pine Motel
White Pine Motel
#4 of 4 in Orofino
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helgeson Place Hotel Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helgeson Place Hotel Suites

Property: Helgeson Place Hotel Suites
Address: 125 Johnson Ave., P.O. Box 463, Orofino, ID 83544
Region: United States > Idaho > Orofino
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Orofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing