We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Keegan's Beachside Hotel,Apartments & Cottage
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lower Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We were really looking forward to staying at Keegan's -- the location on Lower Bay seemed very appealing and it is so reasonably priced but unfortunately, that was about all that we found appealing once we arrived. It is not the cleanest place (and we have stayed in quite a few places including small hotels and we are not terribly picky). It also is quite noisy--the Number 10 room is right next to the kitchen and there was kitchen noise and loud music all night, way past midnight. It did not get quiet until the early morning hours. Also, it says it has A/C and there are units in each bedroom but there is no glass in the windows and there are no screens either--just shutters that you can close but they do leave gaps, so the A/C doesn't work that well and noise and bugs can still come in. We had to leave this property earlier than we expected. Also, the night we arrived, there was a private party in the restaurant, so we couldn't eat there. The bedrooms do have a toilet and shower -- they are literally right in the same room with just a shower curtain around them. I wondered if the excellent reviews of other travelers were mostly because they had come to Keegan's during the high season and maybe the hotel isn't fully functioning during low season, we came in June. Unfortunately, while the location is fine, we do not recommend this hotel. On the other hand, Bequia is truly wonderful and it's totally worth visiting, even with the long trek that it requires.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank goldbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2010

Very reasonably priced hotel, right on the beach, great place to stay, I really enjoyed it, don't want to oversell it, but a great value.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Travelmonkey_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2009

We stayed at Keegans (calling it Keegans Beach RESORT is a bit over the top) but it is a great option for a family run operation.
It sits directly across from Lower Bay Beach on a very un-busy dead end road which is a perfect situation for families with kids.
Our two bedroom apartment was just fine for the price paid-clean as a whistle and with everything you would need to prepare most meals-which saved us a bundle of money with two kids. Lower Bay is a great beach.
They have a great B.B.Q. on weekends that gets a lot of locals and an onsite restaurant that serves breakfast if you choose.
Its within walking distance to Port Elizabeth and Princess Margaret beach and the restaurants and watering holes of town. Altho-be warned-the walk from Lower Bar to the harbor is not for those with heart conditions-a good part of the walk is up a STEEP hill.
The help at this place are quite helpfull and courteous and attended to our every need.
We are going back with family members for easter week and the yearly regatta in 2010.
I would recommend this place hands down for those that are seeking some local flavour and some good accomodations at a reasonable price!!!
I

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank info_posadamargarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2009

We went to Bequia as a short trip -3 days during our holiday in Barbados at the beginning of Feb this year.
The hotel rooms are quite basic but very clean with everything you need. Aircon, fridge, a cooling breeze and a shower that has hot water!
The staff at Keegans are excellent - very friendly and nothing is too much trouble, also they suggested "Fatman Taxis" who we used and would also recommend.
The location is perfect - two steps from the beach bar onto Lower Bay - beautiful beach with 3 other beach bars in close proximity.
It is easy to get to P/E either by taxi or water taxi only a few minutes away with the bars/restaurants and bank there.
The view over the bay is stunning and the beach is great .
Would love to go back there and would stay at Keegans again

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank trip7Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
north palm beach FL
242
Reviewed 14 April 2004

Keegan's is a fantastic place to escape. Located on a lovely stretch of beach with swimming and snorkeling. Easy access to town via taxi or water taxi. These people treat everyone like family. They have a basic guest house and self catering apts. meal plans avail. and a restaurant/bar on site. At least 4 other restaurants within walking distance! They are happy to arrange transportation, day trips etc. Just Ask! This is truly the place for a stress free vacation and the island of Bequia is Awesome! Crime is almost nonexistent here and all of the Residents seem truly intent upon making your visit a great one. Day trips are easily arranged to The Tobago Cays, Mustique and many St.
Vincent sites. Next trip I'll just choose to relax right at Lower Bay and Keegans!

32  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank Olle0530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeegansBequia, Front Office Manager at Keegan's Beachside Hotel,Apartments & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeegansBequia, Front Office Manager at Keegan's Beachside Hotel,Apartments & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Bay
0.6 mi away
Bequia Beach Hotel Luxury Boutique Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Sugar Reef Bequia
Sugar Reef Bequia
#2 of 10 in Bequia
180 reviews
1.9 mi away
Spring Hotel Bequia
Spring Hotel Bequia
#1 of 1 in Port Elizabeth
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bequia Beachfront Villas
Bequia Beachfront Villas
#2 of 2 in Friendship
14 reviews
1 mi away
Frangipani Hotel
Frangipani Hotel
#1 of 1 in Belmont
73 reviews
9.8 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
#2 of 16 in St. Vincent
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keegan's Beachside Hotel,Apartments & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keegan's Beachside Hotel,Apartments & Cottage

Address: Lower Bay Road, Lower Bay, Bequia
Region: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Bequia > Lower Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lower Bay
Price Range: £43 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Keegan's Beachside Hotel,Apartments & Cottage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Keegan's on Lower Bay, Bequia, St Vincent and The Grenadines, right by the beach with a choice of Hotel rooms, apartments and a cottage. Situated on beautiful Lower Bay, a near mile long stretch of golden sand lapped by the turquoise waters of the Caribbean Sea. Swim before a leisurely breakfast served on the terrace overlooking the beach and sea. Enjoy our home cooked meals and the hospitality our family has been providing since 1978 in Lower Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Keegan's Beachside Hotel,Apartments & Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keegan`s Beach Hotel Bequia
Keegan's Beachside Hotel,Apartments & Cottage Bequia/Lower Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing