We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Acceptable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rodeway Inn University
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Pocatello
Asheville, North Carolina, Usa
Level Contributor
230 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Acceptable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2009

My wife and I spent one night at the Rodeway Inn. I wouldn't want to take up residence there, but it was cheap, clean enough, and immediately next door to a good breakfast restaurant. (We didn't eat the "continental" breakfast at the Rodeway Inn, but it looked pathetic.) It's also within easy walking distance of Portneuf Valley Brewpub.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadMode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    32
    34
    21
    16
See reviews for
23
33
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2008

We stayed here for the night on our way to Yellowstone from SLC. It worked out perfect since we arrived late evening at SLC and the hotel's location helps cut out 2 hours on the next day's journey.

The room is pretty basic, a bit dated I feel, but adequate. The towels and bathroom were clean. Nothing to rave about but nothing to complain either (remember, its a budget motel).

Now comes the good part - the free breakfast.
The breakfast room was adequately stacked with bagels, cereals, milk and juices. They even had a waffle machine so you could make fresh hot waffles. All budget motels who don't skim on breakfast get an extra star from me :), hence the 4 stars instead of 3 (I know they adv it so it should not be considered a bonus, but we all know how lot of them just have coffee and sorry looking muffins/donuts as breakfast).

The location was good too it's right across a University campus.

Overall, a good place for a night's layover.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trekker_globe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2008

This is a clean and comfy budget motel for a quick overnight stay. Everything seemed to be in good shape. The room had a micro, fridge and coffee maker. The room is small and rather cramped, but good enough for an overnight stop. The continental breakfast did not look impressive so we pigged out at Elmers next door.

  • Liked — Clean, comfy, close to restaurants
  • Disliked — A little cramped, but OK for a short stay.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MTSwanSong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefferson, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2005

We stayed at this property in mid July 2005 in route to Yellowstone NP.

The Bad:

The property is old and dingy. We had a king room located on the first floor. It was the room at the very end of the hall located to the right of the office. Our room was very dark and looked neglected. The dark burgandy carpeting near the closet are had a thick dust on it. The bathroom also was well worn and grimey. I did not walk in the room without socks on. The furniture was very dark in color, appeared to be from the 70's or early 80's. There was a recliner in the room but it looked dirty thus we never sat in it. There is also no pool which was a disappointment.

The Good:

The breakfast in the morning was good with a wide range to choose from; waffles, cereal, danishes, bagels, toasts, fruit, coffee, juices, etc. There were two computers in the breakfast room which was great to check email. The property is directly across the street from the University. Since there was no pool, we walked the University grounds which were very nice and relaxing.

Overall:

I would not stay at this property again. There are newer properties up the road which appeared to be a better deal.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hrlychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranston,RI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2005

My grandson and I stayed six nights at this motel as part of an intergenerational elderhostel. We found our room to be clean and quiet,with plenty of fresh towels and comfortable beds. The free breakfast includes make your own waffles, Danish, bagels, muffins and hot and cold cereals. There are two computers in the breakfast room that are free to guests; also a daily newspaper. The staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oldexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2005

I stayed here from April 17-19 (checking out on the 19th) in room 118. At this time I'm actually still in the motel (it's the evening of the 18th). I'm here on business, interviewing for a faculty position at Idaho State University, which is right across the street.

This is nice motel. Nothing special, but clean and comfortable. This place has the usuals, and does it well.

Good points:

+ A nice continental breakfast.

+ Plenty of towels, soap, etc. Bed is comfortable

+ In the "Bengal" room there are two computers for internet access and there is a wireless access point also. If you're going to go wireless here the best reception is in the Bengal room itself, although you can use the wireless LAN from some of the rooms. I'm in my room as I'm writing this, sitting near the door on the floor so that I can get decent reception. Also, they do not have wireless cards for guest use, so bring your own.

Not so good points:

- Shower has a soap/shampoo/conditioner dispenser. The "Soap" nozzle dispensed conditioner, and both the "Shampoo" and "Conditioner" nozzles dispensed (what I assume is) shampoo. Instead, I used the stuff I brought along.

- Shower curtain does a poor job of stopping water from getting onto the bathroom floor, and the wall by the toilet has some bad water damage.

- No floor lamp by the recliner--impossible to read while seated in it.

  • Stayed April 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgsenecal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pocatello hotels
2.7 mi away
Super 8 Pocatello
Super 8 Pocatello
#3 of 13 in Pocatello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pocatello Inn
BEST WESTERN Pocatello Inn
#4 of 13 in Pocatello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 13 in Pocatello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites - Pocatello
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pocatello
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pocatello
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn University

Property: Rodeway Inn University
Address: 835 S 5th Ave, Pocatello, ID 83201-6638
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > Pocatello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Pocatello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn University 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Pocatello
Pocatello Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn University Pocatello, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing