We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall good, with a couple of issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sandpoint North
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ponderay
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Overall good, with a couple of issues”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Overall, this was a good place to stay. It's located on the north side of Sandpoint, if driving in from the south, it seems like it's way out of town and that you've missed it. But we finally found it. We originally had stopped in Coeur D'Alene at the Holiday Inn there, but they were all booked up but were kind enough to check in Sandpoint and they reserved a room for us there. It's a new building with new amenities. We had a 2 queen bed room, the beds were comfortable and big with several pillows. The room served it's purpose as a place to rest our heads on our road trip from Bellingham to Alberta. A couple of issues that we had while there were that the TV had no sound. We tried to adjust the settings and everything else to no avail. We finally gave up and went to bed. The next morning the power went out, at first we weren't sure if it was just us, but we phoned the front desk and they told us it was the whole place. Hard to get ready in the morning when there's no light in the bathroom. Also, we couldn't access everything during breakfast as some use power, such as the juice machines. I think the outage lasted for about an hour. Make sure you get to the breakfast early as it was picked clean by the time we got there at around 9:30. We didn't use the pool facilities, however I overheard a few people talking about how the night before it was over chlorinated and not enjoyable to swim in.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank yomo360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sandpoint North, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Dear yomo360,

Thank you for staying with us. I am pleased you liked your sleeping accommodations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. I am sorry for the inconvenience you experienced due to the power outage. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    73
    19
    8
    5
See reviews for
84
47
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
103 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

The hotel was great. The service at the front desk was top-notch and the daily cleaning crew were most accommodating. They even came back and cleaned the room when we left for an early dinner. We were there during a big storm and when we arrived back at the hotel around 10:00 they had no electricity but were there at the door to make sure we made it okay to our rooms. No bad things to say about the hotel

Room Tip: We had the suite room which gave us extra space to entertain friends who stopped by for "happy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
151 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We had left Missoula, MT in the morning and headed North around Flathead Lake and then West. The weather was wet and gloomy for mid August and then turned nasty with thunder and lightening. My husband and I switched off driving, but it was tiring. As the day wore on I started trying to find a place to stay. We were lucky to find a room at this Holiday inn even though their price seemed high. The room was comfortable and the beds very nice. And we had a lovely view out our window. Didn't really like stepping on a few raisins on the carpet when I was barefoot. And sitting at the desk, it was apparent the lamps had NEVER been dusted! Great restaurant across the parking lot..Sweet Lou's. A casual place offering high quality food. Breakfast at the hotel was typical of so many on this road trip at a variety of properties. The best thing they do here is that they keep the hot food hot. Sadly they had a hard time keeping up with demand and there was a long span of empty containers. One problem was the noise level. It seemed we could clearly hear guests and TVs in other rooms channeled through our air/heat system. Fortunately they went to bed early! Also the WiFi was inconsistent and I got kicked off regularly! So that was annoying.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HRCinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Great Newer hotel with rerstaurant right next door. Room was really nice with newer amentities.The breakfast bar and room was very good and staff was helpful. Next time I am up that way we will stay again. Beautiful location.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Nice place with clean and comfortable room. Room is very spacious. My favorite thing was to be able to work outside with the forest views and delicious mountain air on the porch outside the breakfast area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 440MTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
219 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Had to wait an hour after they were supposed to have our room ready. Different stories each time we checked the status. Checked into the room and it was very nice, but we decided to cancel reservation and just go home early.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Good choice to stop in Standpoint. Off main road, yet very quiet. Very comfy bed and fluffy pillows. Very clean room, good service, adequate choices for hot/cold breakfast. Well managed. Very friendly service. Great seatings for breakfast....outdoor with great nature views.

Room Tip: My room was on 1st floor, toward the from, not far from the restaurant but still very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apain_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponderay
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ruby Ponderay
Hotel Ruby Ponderay
#1 of 3 in Ponderay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Edgewater Resort
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Sandpoint
Days Inn Sandpoint
#3 of 3 in Ponderay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Lodge at Sandpoint
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 6 in Sandpoint
3.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
2.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandpoint
La Quinta Inn Sandpoint
#2 of 6 in Sandpoint
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sandpoint North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sandpoint North

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sandpoint North
Address: 477326 Hwy 95 North, Ponderay, ID 83852
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > Ponderay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ponderay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sandpoint North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newest hotel in Sandpoint. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sandpoint welcomes you to a 100% smoke free hotel dedicated to making your visit to Idaho's 'Adventure Playground' memorable. Our Ponderay, ID hotel's location is ideal for corporate and leisure guests. You can host a meeting in our lovely meeting facility, or use the 24-hour Business Centre to prepare for a presentation. Naturally, we offer free high-speed, wireless Internet access throughout the entire hotel. Only minutes away from Schweitzer Mountain Ski Resort, Lake Pend Oreille, Silverwood, and Shopping. The area offers fun for all seasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sandpoint North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Sandpoint North

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing