We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Down Home Goodness”

Famous Willies Barbecue
Ranked #6 of 92 Restaurants in Post Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Barbecue
Description: http://maps.google.com/maps/place?hl=en&qscrl=1&nord=1&rlz=1T4TSNF_enUS417US418&bav=on.2,or.r_gc.r_pw.&biw=1249&bih=539&ion=1&wrapid=tlif131188814504710&um=1&ie=UTF-8&q=Famous+WIllies&fb=1&gl=us&hq=Famous+WIllies&hnear=0x5361b4f8ba557c8f:0x5fe5995b05bf5290,Coeur+d'Alene,+ID&cid=6291308439382538389
Restaurant details
Description: http://maps.google.com/maps/place?hl=en&qscrl=1&nord=1&rlz=1T4TSNF_enUS417US418&bav=on.2,or.r_gc.r_pw.&biw=1249&bih=539&ion=1&wrapid=tlif131188814504710&um=1&ie=UTF-8&q=Famous+WIllies&fb=1&gl=us&hq=Famous+WIllies&hnear=0x5361b4f8ba557c8f:0x5fe5995b05bf5290,Coeur+d'Alene,+ID&cid=6291308439382538389
Post Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Down Home Goodness”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Excellent casual dining in a cosy, rustic cottage. Love the 8-track tape and horseshoe motif throughout the place. Best brisket anywhere!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John-from-Idaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    29
    8
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
64 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Brisket is amazing”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

One of the best brisket sandwiches I have ever had. Portions are perfect for the price. Also the coleslaw is my favorite coleslaw ever. Very helpful and friendly.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank lewichris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not for bbq officianados”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Growing up in the south, my bbq expectations are high. This was very disappointing. Better choice in Coeur d'Alene: Porkys. That's the real deal.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PatricksID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Would stay in business in Texas”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Not a lot of memorable BBQ restaurants in this part of the country, but this one is good enough that we don't feel the need to go on a pilgrimage back to Lockhart, Texas for some decent BBQ.

All of it is pretty good, but purists will appreciate the sliced brisket with the regular sauce. Slaw is different, but nice. Desserts are great, if you still have room.

Didn't sit outside this time of year, but it is nice during warmer times of the year.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane,WA
Level Contributor
137 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“UNIQUE and LOW-KEY”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We go for the brisket. It is smoked on the premises Texas style and well-trimmed of fat. BUT, the buns on which it is served are blah. For enhancement, I could see improvement in the bread department, along with simple garnishes like a tomato slice and a piece of lettuce. Both the potato salad and the cole slaw side options are home-made good and fresh and not too mayonnaise-y.
I was disappointed that a complaint I had about chipped dishes (from a previous visit) still dogs the restaurant's servings. Two out of four of us were served on chipped plates. Sorry, that bugs me.
Our waitress was sweet as was the yummy buttermilk pie(4.00)
The place was well-filled at lunch on a Saturday.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BossTweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Famous Willies Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to Famous Willies Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing