We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Views!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Post Falls
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My Daughter and I and a friend took our kids to Silverwood for the day. Kids were worn out, but slept like angels in comfy beds!
Enjoyed the buffet breakfast!
Great view of the river and mountains!
Loved it!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MontanaNana05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLionTemplins, Manager at Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

We truly enjoy the location of our property. The view is breathtaking and sharing it with our guests is why we work hard to make your hotel visit a memorable experience. We appreciate you choosing us to recover from Silverwood fun and hope you choose us again in the near future for more family fun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 487 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

We have sped through Post Falls on the way to and from Montana many times. Never got into town.

But, we wanted to attend a Studebaker Drivers Club zone meet/rally and it was held on the grounds of Templin's. Right on the river with great grassy spaces. Didn't have all those interstate noises.

We ate at both the burger/BBQ stand down by their marina and in the hotel. Great and friendly service at both locations. Great burger at the stand and pretty standard hotel/conference center banquet food at the hotel. And breakfast was a buffet that wasn't quite what we wanted, too boring, too much, too plain. But, great service and view.

Red Lion hotels are pretty nice but this one was starting to smell a bit musty and really needs to get freshened up a bit. But overall, really good.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vintagetrailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLionTemplins, Manager at Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

It is wonderful to hear you came to visit us to enjoy the events and amenities we have on property. Our goal is to provide a clean, comfortable and welcoming experience for our visitors. We are delighted our goal was able to reflect on your visit. We hope you will stop by again during your next trip to or from Montana to enjoy the beautiful winter scenery or next summers boating season at our Marina.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stay there one night on our way to Montana.
arrived late, but received great service. one room had a bad AC - within 20 minutes they put in a new AC unit. another had a problem with the toilet that was fixed immediately - so yes - rooms might be a bit old but with that service who cares. we needed a mattress and a crib - both arrived fast.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Yaronkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLionTemplins, Manager at Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Our service is the best in our market and it is great you got to experience this first hand. We appreciate you being so patient with the problems you had in your room. It is so kind of you to overlook those minor issues and recognize how quick and attentive the staff was to correct the problems. Thank you for the recognition and your patience. We are excited to have you return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The discount tickets for Silverwood attracted me to this hotel. But the clean rooms, quiet location, pool and river walk are what ensures we will stay when we next go to Silverwood.

Only "con" was my own fault. I thought breakfast was included in the price of the room, but it wasn't. The server told me it's usually included if the room is hooked through a third party. (I have no idea if you can get the discounted Silverwood tickets if you book through a third party, though.) The buffet was about $10 and a decent value for the price. It's simple (scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, O'Brien's potatoes, cereals, breads, fruit) but adequate for $10, I thought.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank Laura V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLionTemplins, Manager at Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

We are a great spot to rest and relax after a fun day at Silverwood and it is exciting to hear you were able to do just that with us. To clarify your questions, breakfast can be added at the time you reserve your room. We have an offer when you reserve the room, you can add breakfast for 2 guests at the price of 1. We will also give the discounted promotion code for Silverwood tickets with this offer. Thank you for visiting us, we appreciate you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I regularly stay at Templins when visiting the Coeur d' Alene area since it is the only affordable hotel in the area with water access. Most hotels in Coeur d' Alene are well away from the lake and Spokane River, though, there are some B&Bs that have limited space available. A new Hampton Inn is not too far from the Spokane River in Coeur d' Alene and a nice Worldmark property is a considerable distance east and south of the city. Of course, the Coeur d' Alene Resort in the town dominates the area, but, while a great facility, it is well outside my price comfort zone.

Templins offers a nice swimming beach, tables with umbrellas, paddleboard, jet ski, and boat rentals, and a nice snack bar right at the river. Occasional water tours are also scheduled. A large, grassy play area extends up from the beach. The hotel, which is starting to show its age, still offers large, clean rooms, and flat panel TVs, Rooms on the south side have a patio or deck with nice river views. Rooms on the first floor north side of the main building have direct access to the parking lot via a second door which is quite handy for getting luggage to and from the car. Another hotel wing to the north has fewer such perks. Since the property is well south of the I-90 freeway and on the edge of Post Falls, it is very quiet outside at night.

In the main building are a number of convention rooms that didn't seem to be very active when we were at the hotel. The Mallards restaurant seemed to be understaffed and so service could have been better, but the waitress was friendly when she was around and business eventually got done. The food was pretty good, but a little more costly than it could have been. However, most of the time we commuted into Coeur d' Alene to visit the Texas Roadhouse, Hudsons Hamburgers (not to be missed), or Dockside in the Coeur d' Alene Resort.

Check-in was done via Hotwire and initially they located us in the satellite building to the north. However, they were able to move us to the main building. The process all went smoothly and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was quite adequate and comfortable, though, the ACs on the second floor were somewhat noisy, especially if the door to the parking lot was open. We did notice that the walls were not well insulated from conversation in adjacent rooms and the people above us made their presence known when moving about. The bed was quite comfortable.

So overall, I continue to like this property since it provides quick access to the city of Coeur d' Alene and to points to the north. It also has some nice outdoor facilities of its own that are worth taking advantage of. These include an indoor pool which is nice when the weather is not cooperating and some nice river views when it is.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a river view on the south side of the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GenoNorthridge_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLionTemplins, Manager at Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

We could not thank you enough for your loyalty to our property and to Red Lion. It also means so much to us the time you took to provide great detail of how your visit with us went. Your feedback is great motivation for us to keep improving and to focus on our guests needs while away from home. We will be happy to host your next family visit. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We'd decided at the last minute to travel to Idaho for a couple of days at Silverwood. I questioned staying so far from the theme park but our options were few given the latest of our plans (we booked the same day we were leaving).
What a blessing in disguise. We all slept better in this hotel's beds than we do at home! The beds were extremely comfortable, the rooms clean and the staff delightful.
I wish I remembered the one clerk's name. We stopped by the front desk for some extra shampoo & conditioner. There were two people in front of us. One woman had booked the wrong room and decided to take it out on the clerk, cussing and insisting the hotel needed to fix her mistake. Another wanted someone else's room number and became belligerent when the clerk refused to provide it. She offered to call the person's room for the woman but that wasn't good enough.
We approached and the clerk was extremely friendly - no hint that the two previous customers had been rude and abusive. She smiled and even thanked us for being there. I doubt I could have been as professional. She deserves three gold stars.
We only had a couple of negatives to our stay: 1) the air conditioning in the room we stayed in was quite noisy - when it worked. It didn't operate all of the time, 2) the rooms weren't very sound proof. We could hear people walking in the hallway and flushing the toilet in the next room and 3) The restaurant was over priced. That said the food was delicious and plentiful. We had dinner there one night and breakfast the next. Some guests were confused thinking the buffet was free. Given the poor choices (undercooked scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage - make your own waffle), it should have been but costs $9.95.
A side note -- there is a delightful underused space near the front desk. It's labeled vending/atm - but only had an atm and some brochures for local attractions. Just a dark room with no seating and no vending machines.
One last thing -- the hotel discount for tickets to Silverwood is non-existent. The price is the same as anyone buying tickets online.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeattleNMNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLionTemplins, Manager at Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this great review about us. We are thrilled our bedding package provided great comfort for you and your family. The issues you encountered such as the air conditioner unit we are happy to correct as soon as our guests inform us. We will work hard to avoid the issues you encountered. Thank you again for your honesty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I read all reviews online before we went and was a little nervous because we read a couple of the negative reviews but we were so happy with this hotel. Great value. Very clean. Awesome outdoor area! A roped off area in the river to swim, tons of tables just to relax outside on the river front, nice private beach, went for a dip in the swimming pool and jacuzzi after which were both clean and good temps. No towels at pool but we were there pretty late and I'm sure we could have called up for some. Awesome indoor and outdoor access to our room. Room with a view was more expensive so we didn't splurge but it stayed light so late we spent a ton of time on the beach. Lively hotel but quiet room. Didn't hear any of our neighbors and we had some on both sides, I was nervous about this because there have been a couple comments on thin walls but that was not our experience. Hotel staff was nice enough and pleasant to deal with.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank irishchk333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLionTemplins, Manager at Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you so much for choosing to visit us. We take all of our guests feedback, positive or negative and work hard to improve from it. We are happy to hear our daily improvements made a difference to your stay. Next time we will be sure to create an even better experience. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Post Falls
2.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#1 of 5 in Post Falls
202 reviews
2.5 mi away
SilverStone Inn and Suites
SilverStone Inn and Suites
#2 of 5 in Post Falls
158 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 5 in Post Falls
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Coeur d'Alene
7 mi away
Best Western Plus Coeur D'Alene Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River

Address: 414 E 1st Ave, Post Falls, ID 83854-7564
Region: United States > Idaho > Post Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Post Falls
Price Range: £61 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Lion Templin's Hotel on the River is located directly on the Spokane River is nestled among the majestic mountains surrounding the quaint city of Post Falls, Idaho. Our hotel is a short 10 minute drive from Coeur d' Alene, Idaho. Our 163 guest rooms and suites feature king or queen beds and all the comforts of home including Red Lion's signature Sealy pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, coffee makers, irons and hairdryers. Resort amenities include a fitness center and indoor pool, tennis and volleyball courts, a private beach and unlimited mountain and river views. For full service dining with unsurpassed river views guests can enjoy sumptuous breakfast, lunch and dinner choices. Our guests can also choose the new signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet served daily at Mallards Restaurant. Mallards Lounge features flat screen viewing for your favorite sports or entertainment. Templin's Marina thrives as a scenic and exciting community with an identity tied to boats. 176 Covered boat slips lay just feet from Templin's River Grill. Enjoy live music and a huckleberry barbeque buffet every Thursday evening 5:00 - 9:00 P.M. June through Labor Day. Cruise the Spokane River on a pontoon boat available for rent by the hour, half day or full day at our full-service marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Templin`s Hotel Post Falls
Red Lion Templins Hotel
Red Lion Post Falls
Post Falls Red Lion
Red Lion Templin’s Hotel On The River Post Falls, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing