We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take a flight”

Legacy Flight Museum
Ranked #2 of 15 things to do in Rexburg
Attraction details
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Take a flight”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

/wow what a rush. they have so many opportunities to clear the head and play Walter Mitty. I am experienced with aircraft and these are well maintained war birds.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cds123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rigby, Idaho
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cool planes - awesome history of SR-71 (YF-12)”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Not that many planes (about 12), but they range from old bi-planes, a P51 Mustang (of course!), and a Russion MIG fighter.
A pilot with the SR-71 program is/was involved, and there is a very nice details associated with the development of that particular plane (It was the YF-12 then). Worth it for a real airplane-o-phile, though it may be boring for your wife.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing piece of history”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

This event was sponsored by our church leadership. We were trained about some of these amazing machines and how it can relate to us in our lives today. I felt a strong connection and renewed gratitude for those who fight for our freedom.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ririe, Idaho
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Neat”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

The volunteer that was there the day we went was a retired army air corpsman, very knowledgeable about the planes and other oartifacts. He also told us lots of history about them. My family really liked it

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
120 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Well worth the time, very interesting”
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We truly enjoyed our time at this museum. My grandson had to fulfill a merit badge and I offered to take him there... and am so glad I did! The museum guide was excellent in his patience and time to explain and show the kids (boys, ages 7 and 10) all the features and workings of these great old planes. They even had one that the kids could climb into and make the flaps and rudder work. The memorabilia in the museum above the office area was wonderful too as they have a huge display of items from around the world. The collection of model aircraft in the office is spectacular and evidence of the many man-hours and dedication of the men involved in this endeavor. Many thanks to the volunteers and owners to make this museum available to the public to enjoy. It is a true labor of love, and something really special in Rexburg. I highly recommend this activity to anyone with interests in our nation's history and mechanical workings.

Check out their website for the hours and fees. The flight museum is all on the main floor, but the memorabilia area is upstairs without an elevator. It is located in a hangar, so dress warm.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank IdahoTraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Legacy Flight Museum also viewed

 

Been to Legacy Flight Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing