We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel on the Snake”
Review of Blue Heron Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Heron Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Rigby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A jewel on the Snake”
Reviewed 12 January 2012

My boyfriend surprised me with this New Year's gift (we stayed on the 29th). It was about an hour and a half from where we live in Jackson Hole, WY. AMAZING. We were greeting with a GENUINE smile and the woman showed us around the place in a friendly and authentic manner. It was GORGEOUS, homey, full of light with a great fireplace, tall ceilings and great decorations. Our room was better than any room I believe I have stayed in. Ever. I travel a lot and I am pretty picky and I found the suite to be super clean and really cozy. The bathroom with Jacuzzi tub were elegant. the fireplace added the perfect ambiance and we loved all the books in the room (and the extensive library was great as well!). The BEST part of the room was the view, with a huge balcony which overlooked the Snake River. Wow. We watched the dawn-pretty much unforgettable. Breakfast was delightful-SUPER sunny and cheerful. The staff served us delicious, thoughtful dishes with great coffee, all on the sweetest plates. Everything in this place was thorough and polished, well thought out and full of great energy. I would like to return here and most certainly will, but I'd like to stay for a bit longer. This is a place were people can really RELAX.

Room Tip: Get the suite. The view, the tub, the big bed, the fireplace...Romantic, cozy, pretty and very inti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alice b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    10
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
38
128
13
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Middleton, Idaho
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Beautiful lodge located in a remote feeling wilderness area but only 15 minutes from BYU-Campus in Rexburg. Our room looked out over BLM land and the river. The lodge's seven rooms were full but when we made it back that evening and grabbed a homemade cookie and a drink in the dining room, we almost felt like we had the place to ourselves, except for a loud family who stayed up late talking right next door and whose children were fighting in the morning, but that's not the Inn's fault. (I felt so at home I even went out to look for a movie in my pajamas=).I wish we would have had more time to explore inside and out. Super clean.

We received a complimentary $50 room upgrade (not sure why) which put us in a more rustically decorated room than I had originally chosen, but it was very nice and the view made up for it so we're not complaining. The lodge look isn't my first choice for atmosphere but it was very beautiful and tastefully done and definitely created an impressive ambiance.

There was a hot tub right under our balcony, but it was covered and I didn't ask if it was working since we didn't bring our swimsuits, but that would have been a nice perk.

This will definitely be our go-to place whenever my husband and I visit our children at college.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachBloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cascade
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

We have been staying at the Blue Heron Inn for ten years and have always enjoyed each stay. We used to stay when visiting our kids at college but now our kids are long graduated and we go to eastern Idaho for the scenery, the fishing and the relaxation of the Blue Heron Inn and the hospitality of our friends Claudia and Dave.

Room Tip: We love to stay in the Blue Heron Suite but all the rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeCascade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackfoot, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2011

If you feel like staying somewhere that feels "like" home, but more beautiful, clean, yummy, comforting and cozy than your home, this is the place. It was calm, and un-demanding. The owners were very nice and I felt completely pampered just by being around all the nice decor and cozy nooks for relaxing/reading/looking out on the river. The fireplace/jacuzzi tub and PERFECT sheets were my favorite. Oh, and the deck off our bedroom over the river... so cool.
Great stay, great people, fantastic place.
You should go!

Room Tip: Definitely get one of the suites, they are well worth it :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
klinkk, Owner at Blue Heron Inn, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. Satisfied guests is the best part of being an innkeeper!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horseshoe Bay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We are not B&B people per se...but this one is incredible! Very spacious and private rooms beautifully decorated (we stayed in the Blue Heron Suite). The owners are wonderful and made our stay so nice! The house is just beyond beautiful filled lovingly with Claudia's handmade quilts, art, books, several areas to relax and to enjoy one incredible view of the river! Breakfast was a real treat...they are fabulous cooks that make sure their guests don't go away hungry. They are attentive to every little detail, down to the lemon curd for our scones. We have stayed at some 5-star hotels and this B&B outshines them all by far!
We will definitely stay there again! What a great place for friends & family to gather! Thank you Claudia & Dave for sharing yor lovely home with us & making us feel so welcome!

Patrice & Pat Hanlon

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pittypat054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho Falls, Idaho
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Dave & Claudia are warm & friendly innkeepers who attend to all the details to make you comfortable and to ensure your stay is enjoyable. The location of the Blue Heron Inn is wonderful & peaceful, the Inn is warm, inviting, and comfortable and the breakfast/brunch is incredible. Claudia's quilts throughout the Inn could be on display in a museum! Thanks for a great night away!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunsetlovin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
173 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Claudia & David could not have been nicer. Very friendly and warm. They have put thier hearts into the details, and the B & B is cosy and spacious at the same time.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnKare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rigby
5.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rexburg - BYU
7.3 mi away
Quality Inn Rexburg
Quality Inn Rexburg
#3 of 5 in Rexburg
91 reviews
5.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Rexburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Super 8 Rexburg
Super 8 Rexburg
#4 of 5 in Rexburg
348 reviews
19.5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Idaho Falls
18.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Idaho Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heron Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Inn

Property: Blue Heron Inn
Address: 706 N Yellowstone Hwy, Rigby, ID 83442-5224
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > Rigby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rigby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Heron Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new Western-style lodge is located on the banks of the South Fork of the Snake River. The award-winning inn is known for it's exceptional hospitality, relaxing atmosphere, and gourmet breakfasts. The Inn's beautifully decorated rooms, each with private bath, include ammenites such as balconies, fireplaces, jetted tubs, and comfy robes. The Innkeepers can make arrangements for guided fishing trips, trail rides, or make arrangements for other area activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Blue Heron Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing