We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Heron Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Heron Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Rigby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

I think we would have enjoyed our stay at the Blue Heron Inn has our room been part of the main house. We were in the carriage house witch is separate and not all that close to the main house. It is a beautiful B&B. Our hosts were friendly and the breakfasts were special. We would happily stay there again, but only if we got a room in the house and not across the way.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judydrake11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    10
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
128
13
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

This charming B&B was even better than the enticing on-line write-up and photos! Our friendly hosts, Dennis and Sandy, offered a welcoming retreat - every aspect of our stay was wonderful: the serene creekside setting; the home decorated in country elegance; the magnificent breakfast; relaxing on the private deck in their hot tub under starry skies; a comfy luxurious bed with river view (we stayed in the South Fork room); and many other thoughtful details that added to our comfort and delight. We only wished our travel plans could have included a few more days in this haven. Staying at the Blue Heron Inn B&B following a week-long road trip through Yellowstone/Grand Teton was the perfect last stop before heading home.

Room Tip: I don't think you would go wrong with any of the rooms - all the other guests we chatted with we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carrigancourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We spent two nights on the way to & from Yellowstone National Park in the South Fork room.

The owners go over & above on every detail - beautiful rooms, breakfast, cold drinks in the small fridge, plush bedding & bath linens.

We also enjoyed eating breakfast out on the back deck while having a great view of the Snake River; food was fabulous.

Don't miss this great bed & breakfast if you are in this area.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mimiof6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The Blue Heron Inn is the perfect place to stay. Relaxed atmosphere, beautiful scenery, great rooms, impeccably clean, and an absolutely fantastic breakfast. But, most importantly are the friendly hosts and assistants. New owners took over about a year ago and have continued the warmth that the previous owners had developed. Highly recommend and will be going back for sure.

They have a handicap accessible room.

Room Tip: They have seven rooms. Each room is different but that are all excellent. They do have a handicap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Quest_4_good_food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

My colleague and I were lucky enough to stay at the Blue Heron Inn while in-town for a business meeting in Idaho Falls. What an absolutely pleasant surprise! The lodge was located near the river and all sorts of wildlife called the Blue Heron its home. I woke up early the morning we were leaving to see quite the "show"— a moose and her baby, bald eagles, humming birds, blue heron and more!

The owners were friendly and kind, making us breakfast to take with us as we had to leave quite early. Let's just say we wished we could have stayed for breakfast! It looked delicious and the presentation was great!

Looking forward to another visit here for leisure and can't wait to take my husband to this lovely place!

Room Tip: Definitely select a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank playagirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, CT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We visited as a side trip when headed for Yellowstone and Grand Teton National Parks. Stayed in the Carriage House room -- very comfortable for 2 adults and a teenager. Good mattresses, including the day bed (not the usual for an extra bed -- just ask my daughter). The house and grounds are beautiful; we enjoyed a walk by the Snake River. The breakfast was delicious and quite plentiful. And the hosts were friendly and helpful -- they directed us to the Mesa Falls Scenic Byway (check out the rainbow at the Upper Falls).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ELK-Orange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

The room was comfortable. Breakfast was delicious. The hosts were friendly and hospitable. The setting and views were stunning. We saw a couple bald eagles. We stayed only one night - should have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rigby
5.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rexburg - BYU
18.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Idaho Falls
5.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Rexburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Idaho Falls
7.3 mi away
Quality Inn Rexburg
Quality Inn Rexburg
#3 of 4 in Rexburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
18.2 mi away
Le Ritz Hotel & Suites
Le Ritz Hotel & Suites
#15 of 23 in Idaho Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heron Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Inn

Property: Blue Heron Inn
Address: 706 N. Yellowstone Hwy, Rigby, ID 83442
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > Rigby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rigby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Heron Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new Western-style lodge is located on the banks of the South Fork of the Snake River. The award-winning inn is known for it's exceptional hospitality, relaxing atmosphere, and gourmet breakfasts. The Inn's beautifully decorated rooms, each with private bath, include ammenites such as balconies, fireplaces, jetted tubs, and comfy robes. The Innkeepers can make arrangements for guided fishing trips, trail rides, or make arrangements for other area activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Blue Heron Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing