We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking, Tranquil & Relaxing”
Review of Blue Heron Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Heron Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Rigby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My family stayed here in late July while we were visiting Rigby for my aunt's 70th birthday. We got a little lost finding it, but once we made it up the gravel driveway there was no mistaking that we were in the right place. The main house looks like the most beautiful life-size Lincoln Log dwelling every made. The view from the back deck (or really anywhere around the house) is incredible. The owners/hosts were super friendly and completely spoiled us with the scrumptious breakfasts they made each morning. My sister and I stayed in the Blue Bird Room while our parents stayed in the South Fork Room, and it was pretty difficult for any of us to muster up the will to leave the property. And if you're lucky you may get to meet the incredibly friendly cat that belongs to the neighbors but spends most of his time wandering around outside the Blue Heron--if you see him, give him a head scratch for me!

Room Tip: The Blue Bird Room is a corner room with two windows that get a lot of light (no TV). The South Fork...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

We have 2 sons attending BYUI in Rexburg and were about to just stay in the local Super 8... Glad we found the Blue Heron which made the trip much more fun for my wife and I... The Blue Heron was exceptional. It was very clean and roomy. The decor was all in perfect condition. It was quiet and tranquil with the River gently flowing in the backyard. The host & hostess were very kind and the morning breakfast was prepared to B&B perfection. Rigby and Rexburg are not known for having fine accomodations... but the Blue Heron will make you think otherwise... Very conveniently located right off the HWY in North Rigby...

Room Tip: All the rooms are great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RacerX1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Loved it. If you are looking for a peaceful rest with friendly hosts this is the place! We had plans in Idaho Falls and this was just a short drive. It was fun and a great place to relax. The moose was fun to watch

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We were on the road during the Government shutdown which affected our plans to go to Yellowstone and Glacier. We located the Blue Heron thru bedandbreakfast.com and were pleasantly surprised at how beautiful the location was and the inn itself. Dennis was able to fish on property in the "world renowned" Snake River. Our room was beautifully decorated as was the rest of the inn. Breakfast was 5 *s also. We highly recommend the Blue Heron Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msborbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

My wife and I were returning to Idaho Falls from Jackson Wy to make a flight back home. Mary had researched B&Bs in the area and found Blue Heron Inn, in Rigby ID. We pulled in around 4:00 P.M. just in time to watch a herd of cattle cross the Snake River. The view from our Suite was beautiful and the setting remarkable. As the sun went down, my camera never stopped clicking as one of the prettiest sunsets light the sky pink and purple. As a painter, my paint brushes will be very busy very soon!
Mary and I made the decision not only would we return to Blue Heron, but we wanted to make a trip exploring Idaho. B&Bs are the way to go. No way around it. You can not beat the price or the breakfasts. In the seven days were were traveling, Blue Heron was one of the least expensive stays and by far the most comfortable and luxurious.
Check it out when you go potato hunting!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lolasoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying at the Blue Heron Inn. We give it the highest marks. The grounds are beautiful. Our room was spacious and had a wonderful view of the river. Sandy and Dennis prepared a delicious Sunday brunch that was exceptional. They were wonderful hosts. We even picked apples, pears and plums right off their trees. We are so glad we stayed there and we highly recommend the Blue Heron Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rickyb91390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

As evidenced by all but one of these reviews, my wife, Kris and I also had an excellent experience at the Blue Heron. We stayed three nights, had three great breakfasts and thoroughly enjoyed the well-kept, well-stocked inn. The location is perfect for trips to Yellowstone, Jackson Hole and Craters of the Moon. And, the hot tub in back was always ready to go with a great Western sky as a backdrop.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank moodynews1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rigby
5.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rexburg - BYU
21.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 24 in Idaho Falls
778 reviews
18.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Idaho Falls
Hilton Garden Inn Idaho Falls
#7 of 24 in Idaho Falls
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Motel 6 Rigby
Motel 6 Rigby
#1 of 1 in Rigby
36 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heron Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Inn

Address: 706 N Yellowstone Hwy, Rigby, ID 83442-5224
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > Rigby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rigby
Price Range: £87 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Heron Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new Western-style lodge is located on the banks of the South Fork of the Snake River. The award-winning inn is known for it's exceptional hospitality, relaxing atmosphere, and gourmet breakfasts. The Inn's beautifully decorated rooms, each with private bath, include ammenites such as balconies, fireplaces, jetted tubs, and comfy robes. The Innkeepers can make arrangements for guided fishing trips, trail rides, or make arrangements for other area activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Blue Heron Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing