We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extraordinary!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Heron Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Heron Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Rigby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bowling Green, Kentucky
1 review
“Extraordinary!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

My wife and I spent 4 nights in the Suite at the Blue Heron Inn while on vacation and decided that overall, this is probably the nicest place we've ever stayed. Everything about the Inn is extraordinary, from the location and views to the breakfasts and the hosts. The excellent reviews on tripadvisor are well-deserved. Nature was abundant with moose, Ospreys, Bald Eagles and beavers observed from our balcony. The images on tripadvisor do not do the Inn justice. Being situated on the Snake River and only a few minutes outside the nearby towns was a huge attraction for us, as the setting is very peaceful and quiet. The hosts were superb in their friendliness, helpfulness and professionalism, and I don't believe more could have been expected from them. The Blue Heron Inn is truly an extraordinary place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    10
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
128
13
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had a delightful 2-night stay at the Blue Heron Inn and wished we could have stayed longer. It is every bit as lovely as the pictures--very clean and well maintained. The decor is Western, but is absolutely classy, not cheesy. The breakfasts were great and the hosts were personable and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ATV-steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgecrest, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here just for a stopover from a long trip driving from Montana to California . The inn exceeded our expectations for comfort. We also had 2 teenagers in tow and they enjoyed the entertainment room with pool table.
The only downside is the pool table is too close to a wall to shoot well.
The view of the river is outstanding and the breakfast abundant and delicious !

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Vermont
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

My wife and I were on a trip touring CO, WY, ID and MT. We had no planned itinerary and were wandering the states enjoying what we could find. Normally we don't stay at B&Bs but decided to give the Blue Heron a try. What a wonderful place to stay! The house is in the style of a timber frame cabin with wonderful details throughout like a high vaulted ceiling, fireplace and glass back giving an excellent view of the Snake River.

We stayed in the "Bunkhouse room" which was anything but. Wonderfully decorated with a cowboy motif, it was a fun place to spend the night. Although we didn't try it, the downstairs has a full theater with free movies to watch. Another family took advantage of the theater and we did not hear a sound from it all evening.

Breakfast was wonderful with very tasty food served by the owners. If we are in the area, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimikenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

What a fantastic B&B about an hour from the West Entrance to Yellowstone. Our room was on the second floor with a spectacular view of the Snake river. Beautifully decorated and the bed was super comfortable. Breakfast was outstanding. If you have plans to be in this part of the country, you should definitely stay here.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We recently spent one night in the Blue Heron Inn on our way from a trip to Yellowstone and Montana. It is a beautiful inn and immaculately kept up. Had a room on the upstairs with a small porch which was great for looking at the Snake River in the afternoon with the sun behind us. Lots of birds. The Innkeepers were great with a wonderful breakfast the next morning sitting looking out the back. The only issues were that it is a bit out of the way and the dinner choices which are close are quite limited. We ate at "Gator Jacks" in Rigby which was O.K. but a bit funky. Food was not bad but service slow and place a bit weird. It's at least 20 miles into Idaho Falls, however, which was farther than we wanted to drive after a day on the road. The inn sits right on the highway, but this was not really an issue as looking out the back we could not hear any road noise. Overall a very nice place. Would certainly stay here again but might figure out something better for dinner.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank micro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We were very pleased with the cleanliness and charm of the Blue Heron B&B. The breakfast was outstanding. Our only complaint was finding a good restaurant for dinner.....options are very limited.
I find it annoying that more "characters" are required.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rigby
5.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rexburg - BYU
18.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Idaho Falls
5.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Rexburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Idaho Falls
7.3 mi away
Quality Inn Rexburg
Quality Inn Rexburg
#3 of 4 in Rexburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
18.2 mi away
Le Ritz Hotel & Suites
Le Ritz Hotel & Suites
#15 of 23 in Idaho Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heron Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Inn

Property: Blue Heron Inn
Address: 706 N. Yellowstone Hwy, Rigby, ID 83442
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > Rigby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rigby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Heron Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new Western-style lodge is located on the banks of the South Fork of the Snake River. The award-winning inn is known for it's exceptional hospitality, relaxing atmosphere, and gourmet breakfasts. The Inn's beautifully decorated rooms, each with private bath, include ammenites such as balconies, fireplaces, jetted tubs, and comfy robes. The Innkeepers can make arrangements for guided fishing trips, trail rides, or make arrangements for other area activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Blue Heron Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing