We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“that's a winner”
Review of Blue Heron Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Heron Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Rigby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I just happened to stumble across this one as I was looking for one night's lodging after seeing Yellowstone and the Tetons. It appeared to be further from the parks than I would have liked, but it also made for a shorter drive home. The alternative was a hotel in Idaho Falls. If you opt for Idaho Falls, you are insane. For the price this is an incredible bargain. Few B&Bs I have stayed at can even come close to matching their facilities. Stunning log home, attractively landscaped and the South Fork Snake River in the backyard. Throw in a comfy bed and the best French Toast on the planet and what is not to like? OK, maybe the shower doesn't heat up real quick and the pressure is a bit light. Seriously, I could not come up with anything else on the negative side. Dennis and Sandy are excellent hosts and create an atmosphere where you will soon get to know the other guests. We did not have time to enjoy the home theatre or pool table which are nice extras you don't often find. Chances of staying here again are high...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winston_Orvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
There are newer reviews for Blue Heron Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

My wife and I spent 4 nights in the Suite at the Blue Heron Inn while on vacation and decided that overall, this is probably the nicest place we've ever stayed. Everything about the Inn is extraordinary, from the location and views to the breakfasts and the hosts. The excellent reviews on tripadvisor are well-deserved. Nature was abundant with moose, Ospreys, Bald Eagles and beavers observed from our balcony. The images on tripadvisor do not do the Inn justice. Being situated on the Snake River and only a few minutes outside the nearby towns was a huge attraction for us, as the setting is very peaceful and quiet. The hosts were superb in their friendliness, helpfulness and professionalism, and I don't believe more could have been expected from them. The Blue Heron Inn is truly an extraordinary place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had a delightful 2-night stay at the Blue Heron Inn and wished we could have stayed longer. It is every bit as lovely as the pictures--very clean and well maintained. The decor is Western, but is absolutely classy, not cheesy. The breakfasts were great and the hosts were personable and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATV-steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here just for a stopover from a long trip driving from Montana to California . The inn exceeded our expectations for comfort. We also had 2 teenagers in tow and they enjoyed the entertainment room with pool table.
The only downside is the pool table is too close to a wall to shoot well.
The view of the river is outstanding and the breakfast abundant and delicious !

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My wife and I were on a trip touring CO, WY, ID and MT. We had no planned itinerary and were wandering the states enjoying what we could find. Normally we don't stay at B&Bs but decided to give the Blue Heron a try. What a wonderful place to stay! The house is in the style of a timber frame cabin with wonderful details throughout like a high vaulted ceiling, fireplace and glass back giving an excellent view of the Snake River.

We stayed in the "Bunkhouse room" which was anything but. Wonderfully decorated with a cowboy motif, it was a fun place to spend the night. Although we didn't try it, the downstairs has a full theater with free movies to watch. Another family took advantage of the theater and we did not hear a sound from it all evening.

Breakfast was wonderful with very tasty food served by the owners. If we are in the area, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimikenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

What a fantastic B&B about an hour from the West Entrance to Yellowstone. Our room was on the second floor with a spectacular view of the Snake river. Beautifully decorated and the bed was super comfortable. Breakfast was outstanding. If you have plans to be in this part of the country, you should definitely stay here.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We recently spent one night in the Blue Heron Inn on our way from a trip to Yellowstone and Montana. It is a beautiful inn and immaculately kept up. Had a room on the upstairs with a small porch which was great for looking at the Snake River in the afternoon with the sun behind us. Lots of birds. The Innkeepers were great with a wonderful breakfast the next morning sitting looking out the back. The only issues were that it is a bit out of the way and the dinner choices which are close are quite limited. We ate at "Gator Jacks" in Rigby which was O.K. but a bit funky. Food was not bad but service slow and place a bit weird. It's at least 20 miles into Idaho Falls, however, which was farther than we wanted to drive after a day on the road. The inn sits right on the highway, but this was not really an issue as looking out the back we could not hear any road noise. Overall a very nice place. Would certainly stay here again but might figure out something better for dinner.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rigby
5.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rexburg - BYU
5.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Rexburg
7.7 mi away
Super 8 Rexburg
Super 8 Rexburg
#3 of 5 in Rexburg
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Cottontree Inn
7.3 mi away
Quality Inn Rexburg
Quality Inn Rexburg
#5 of 5 in Rexburg
97 reviews
18.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Idaho Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heron Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Inn

Address: 706 N Yellowstone Hwy, Rigby, ID 83442-5224
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > Rigby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rigby
Price Range: £85 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Heron Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new Western-style lodge is located on the banks of the South Fork of the Snake River. The award-winning inn is known for it's exceptional hospitality, relaxing atmosphere, and gourmet breakfasts. The Inn's beautifully decorated rooms, each with private bath, include ammenites such as balconies, fireplaces, jetted tubs, and comfy robes. The Innkeepers can make arrangements for guided fishing trips, trail rides, or make arrangements for other area activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Blue Heron Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing