We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blue Heron Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Rexburg(Rexburg)(Great Value!)
US$71
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SpringHill Suites Rexburg(Rexburg)(Great Value!)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Rexburg)
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Idaho Falls)
US$60
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Cottontree Inn(Idaho Falls)(Great Value!)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveller rating
208
12
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
208
12
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssnake riverb bhot tubbreakfast was deliciouscarriage housegreat roomtheater roomthe main houseview of the riverfriendly hostsmallard roomprivate balconyperfect hostsliving roomeach morningdennisyellowstone
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 224 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed the night before our daughter's wedding. What a fabulous location! My husband didn't realize the place I had reserved was right on the river. After a 9 hour drive, we were delighted to spend a few minutes unwinding right beside the river. We found our accomodations to be everything we would like and more. The bed was comfortable, the rooms were clean and attractive.
We had a delicious breakfast in the morning-- a fruit bowl with yogurt and toasted coconut, "homemade" hash browns, and stuffed French toast. Excellent!
The host and hostess and their daughter were friendly and very helpful with the special diet our daughter requires. We enjoyed talking with them about the fishing possibilities and the moose they regularly see on the property.
There was so much more we could have enjoyed if we had more time. We'll just have to plan another trip!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I cannot say enough about this place!! So clean, so inviting, SO peaceful - it's truly a retreat!! They really have all the amenities you could ask for in a B&B - soaps, lotions, bathrobes, water and snacks in your room, cold drinks and popcorn in the kitchen, movies, puzzle, hot tub, telescope, BEAUTIFUL lodge!! The owners were away when we arrived, but our key was waiting for us along with a letter that had dinner recommendations and breakfast times. We immediately felt at home and thoroughly enjoyed our stay!! I have no idea what would bring us back to that part of aid sho, but I'd love to stay here again!!! (The only complaint we had was that breakfast was VERY carb-heavy...delicious, but carb-heavy - fruit, waffles, potatoes. No eggs or bacon.)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank amylovesred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

After driving up every street and track, we eventual found the Inn. We even door knocked and a local religious sect had no idea of the Inn's location. Upon arrival our keys were in an envelope selotaped to the front door. There were 2 other lost souls in the names of Gomez and Livingstone. It was like a treasure hunt. Tom Tom cannot be trusted for this location. (I was chuffed to beat that entrepped African explorer).

The answer to the the riddle is you turn off the freeway at Rigby from Idaho Falls. Instead of driving either East or West; take the parallel road facing you which runs next to the slip road heading north, it suggests nothing is down that road but persevere. Even drive east over the railway tracks and the Inn is right there, virtually out of site. The local council will not allow them signage.

The rooms are themed. Right by a huge river. Great views. We laughed ourselves to sleep that night over our experiences in locating the Inn. Yes we did call for directions and got an answer phone. We slept with great enjoyment , trusting the 6 foot pot plant behind our bed did not have a gravitational issue. Rooms unique, clean, well furnished. A little on the small side as the bed was at an angle to accomodate the plant, making limited space for our 2 suitcases.

Did not have the breakfast as in a rush to Yellowstone. Had a quick fast food breakfast in the next town.

Dennis was nice, never met his wife as i think she was resting

Room Tip: Don't trust your Tom Tom. Ring ahead for directions
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tourerBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I just happened to stumble across this one as I was looking for one night's lodging after seeing Yellowstone and the Tetons. It appeared to be further from the parks than I would have liked, but it also made for a shorter drive home. The alternative was a hotel in Idaho Falls. If you opt for Idaho Falls, you are insane. For the price this is an incredible bargain. Few B&Bs I have stayed at can even come close to matching their facilities. Stunning log home, attractively landscaped and the South Fork Snake River in the backyard. Throw in a comfy bed and the best French Toast on the planet and what is not to like? OK, maybe the shower doesn't heat up real quick and the pressure is a bit light. Seriously, I could not come up with anything else on the negative side. Dennis and Sandy are excellent hosts and create an atmosphere where you will soon get to know the other guests. We did not have time to enjoy the home theatre or pool table which are nice extras you don't often find. Chances of staying here again are high...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winston_Orvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My wife and I spent 4 nights in the Suite at the Blue Heron Inn while on vacation and decided that overall, this is probably the nicest place we've ever stayed. Everything about the Inn is extraordinary, from the location and views to the breakfasts and the hosts. The excellent reviews on tripadvisor are well-deserved. Nature was abundant with moose, Ospreys, Bald Eagles and beavers observed from our balcony. The images on tripadvisor do not do the Inn justice. Being situated on the Snake River and only a few minutes outside the nearby towns was a huge attraction for us, as the setting is very peaceful and quiet. The hosts were superb in their friendliness, helpfulness and professionalism, and I don't believe more could have been expected from them. The Blue Heron Inn is truly an extraordinary place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews