We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Biker Friendly - We will be back”
Review of Big Iron Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Riggins
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big Iron Motel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Riggins
Meridian, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Biker Friendly - We will be back”
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Weekend trip for Riggins Ride and Raft - clean and friendly . Belive the have the best service I have ever had from a motel . We will be back .

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prblmchld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    15
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
36
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
meridian idaaho, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Stayed at the Big Iron Aug. 5 &6 2011 with a group of friends.... had the most AMAZING time. Beds were fantastic, decor was updated....and complimentary beer, ice tea and cookies....room came with a coffee pot, microwave and fridge.... even had super soft pillows unlike those other motels !!!.....Scott and Rose were the best host/hostess I have ever had....can not say enough about the service and quality of our stay........would definately be a shame for anyone to stay anywhere else other than the Big Iron................EXCELLENT does not even begin to describe this place !!! Making my reservations for next year, right now because I do not want to be left out in the cold by staying somewhere else !!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bcolpitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuna, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We were greated with a friendly smile, complimentary beer and ice tea. The rooms were spotless, Larger apartment refrigerator with Ice trays ready to go. For a "budget" motel the beds were amazingly comfortable with clean, homey linens and the towels were nice and large and super soft.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IDMommaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meridian, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Scott and Rose are the kindest couple you will ever meet. The motel was so clean and comfortable. Lots of parking. Hot tub, free movies, wonderful cookies! Rose is a GREAT COOK! I will stay at the Big Iron Motel every year for the Riggins Ride & Raft event. Thank you for everything!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrieta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2011

The owners continue to be delightful and keep the place very clean and friendly for such a small community. For a back country location this is the place to stay. Fishing, hunting, rafting and just for fun and relaxation this is the spot. The entire town (Pop. 410) is friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gretchensto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

This is a little motel right in the heart of town, built in the classic L shape. It has the appearance of an old 70's Motel 6 on the outside but rooms were amazing, including the microwave, fridge and coffee with the typical TV etc. Movie rental was free, free beer or icetea, free homemade cookies, wonderful staff. Cheap and yummy room service, seriously cheaper than going out. Perfect for our honeymoon. The other guests were friendly, some Harley couples but mostly rafting tourists. Really queit, river across the street. We loved the hottub too. Thank you Big Iron Motel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerihampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 December 2010

We are a married couple, each have a Harley, and tour and travel extensively. We have NEVER stayed in a hotel or motel that has better customer service than the Big Iron in Riggins, ID. We checked out of another motel in Riggins which was so unfriendly we were shocked! Called Scott at Big Iron and he could not have been more accomodating, friendly, and inviting, Our bikes were dirty from the trip, and the other motel we left in hurry told us we could wash them at the car wash. Scott and Rose, the owners of the Big Iron, gave us clean bike rags, hot soap, a shammy, and the best cold Sweet Ice Tea we've ever had, and cookies. Yup, For Real!! We had clean bikes, clean and very comfortable rooms, free movies, free beer..yes! free beer if we wanted...unbelievable. We look forward to multiple trips to Riggins this upcoming summer, and we will look so very forward to staying at The Big Iron and visiting with Scott, Rose, and their wonderful kids.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilwingtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Big Iron Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Iron Motel

Property: Big Iron Motel
Address: 515 N. Main, US 95, Riggins, ID
Region: United States > Idaho > Riggins
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Riggins
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Big Iron Hotel
Big Iron Motel Riggins, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing