We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, "The Big Iron Motel"”
Review of Big Iron Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Riggins
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big Iron Motel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Riggins
Certificate of Excellence
Redding, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place, "The Big Iron Motel"”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This is my third stay at the Big Iron Motel, Scot Rose and family are wonderful and what a beutiful location. The beers upon check in and the Food, always incredible.

Wouldnt stay anywhere else in Riggins

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    16
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
36
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Everett, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The rooms are basic, clean, and in good repair. Bed in the king room was very comfortable. We didn't get the chance to use the hot tub, but Scott, the owner, made sure it was clean just for us! Scott and Rose offered us a beer and a chat when we arrived. They made great suggestions for places to eat, all within walking distance. They are preparing to open a cafe on site - maybe next year? We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Amazing place incredibly friendly, fresh baked cookies delicious, a cold beverage, and a decent rate all on arrival!! I can't wait to try the meal truck they are going to have there soon! Rooms are what you need clean and comfy I will stay there again and again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
days creek
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The hotel is clean and inviting, hot tub, barbeques, and great food,

We really enjoyed our visit with Scott, Rose and the girls. They set us up with river rafting, a fish fry, and enjoyed hiking up the the ranger lookout tour, heavens gate, Just awesome!

Thanks for the hospitality!

We are really looking forward to our next adventure to the Big Iron Motel.

Room Tip: Do not get mislead by the non-name brand it is an excellent place to stay. Definitely goes beyond t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank l a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gower, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

As we pulled in on our motorcycle on a warm afternoon, Scott greeted my husband with a "cold beverage" while I checked us in (even though he didn't know we already had a reservation). It is obvious that a lot of pride goes into this TOP NOTCH family-run business. The owners care about their guests, rooms are well furnished & very clean, the bed was extremely comfortable & they have added a table & chairs outside the room to enjoy the fresh air -- a very nice touch to enjoy the beautiful surroundings! A memorable part of our stay was that we walked a few blocks to eat dinner & while away from the hotel the town lost electricity. On our "unfamiliar & dark" walk back to the hotel we were greeted at the hotel's entrance at the road by Scott holding a flashlight to guide our way & they had placed a lit candle on the table outside our room so we could at least see to get in the door. If we are ever in Riggins, will we definitely stay at the Big Iron!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curtisma13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grangeville, Idaho
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stopped on our way through Riggins later in the evening and this place was such a nice surprise. The folks at the front desk were so friendly. The exterior or the Motel was very well cared for and the rooms were great. The room was spacious, very clean and everything in the room was well cared for. The king bed was very comfortable. The price was reasonable. We slept great and were so glad to find this little gem. We definitely will pass around to others this information and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We have fallen in love with southern Idaho and travel there from Canada every summer. For the past 4 years, we have been staying at the Big Iron and Scott & Rose find ways to make it even better each year. It's clean, comfortable, well located, and has everything you could possibly need. The welcome with a cool drink is especially great after a long ride in the sun! Scott & Rose make recommendations for activities and dining and we look forward to their own restaurant on site next year. Hospitality is in abundance and honestly, we just love the way Scott & Rose and daughter Fera have made our stays worth coming back for. We'll keep coming and we hope you will too. This is a gem and a great value for your dollar. Stay for a night or stay for a week and enjoy the fishing, rafting and hiking in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Big Iron Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Iron Motel

Property: Big Iron Motel
Address: 515 N. Main, US 95, Riggins, ID
Region: United States > Idaho > Riggins
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Riggins
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Big Iron Hotel
Big Iron Motel Riggins, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing