We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WHAT AN AMAZING PLACE!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Riggins
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mackay Bar Outfitters & Guest Ranch
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“WHAT AN AMAZING PLACE!!!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had a family reunion here, and all I can say is "What an amazing place". Actually, I can saw a lot more than that.

We really did not know what to expect...yes...we did read their literature, reviews, etc. But all the reading materials and pictures, could not cover everything that we experienced. The trip to the boat launch was an adventure, but then you get on the boat to go to Mackay Bar, and, wow!!! The boat ride was better than any roller coaster. I told my daughter you don't need Disneyland and the Pirates of the Caribbean ride, you have this amazing jet boat ride up the Salmon River. Buck, owner, does a terrific job navigating the rough water...not sure, how he reads it, but I know from other family members, it is a talent.

We were able to stop a couple of times traveling up the Salmon River, which the kids enjoyed cause then they could get out and play in the water and on beaches. The entire time we stayed at Mackay Bar, we enjoyed the jet boat...so much fun!!!! The jet boat was our way to everything, Campbell Ferry, Painter Mine, fishing, fishing and more fishing.

We saw wildlife, historical sites, and amazing mountains. With an amazing host family, Joni and Buck, are terrific people and amazing hosts. Everyone we encountered at Mackay Bar was terrific and extremely nice and wonderful.

The kids even learned about rattlesnakes, as well as adults, and understood the complex nervous system and danger when it comes to the fangs.

The worse part was leaving, it felt as though the owners and everyone on the ranch were part of our family at the end of our time at Mackay Bar. The weeks following our stay, we continued to talk about Mackay Bar and our adventures. Our kids, 12 & 9, totally enjoyed every second of the trip.

And now we are trying to figure out how to get back!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jkinney4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
2
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

If you are looking for the best family reunion ever, look no further!

Mackay Bar Outfitters & Guest Ranch is incredible. The scenery, location, accommodations, gourmet food, and adventure of a life time are all here. Owners, Buck & Joni do everything to make your stay truly amazing and unforgettable. Our family voted Mackay Bar Outfitters & Gust Ranch the best vacation we have ever had. This is truly a very special place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Cedro, CA
Level Contributor
212 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

If I were able to give more "green dots" for this vacation I would...first time ever!! Buck and Joni (along with Dax and their staff) run Mackay Bar Outfitters and Guest Ranch and you will NOT have a better vacation than this..don't even think twice. We were not sure what to expect when we arrived at Vinegar Creek to catch the jet boat for an hour ride to Mackay Bar where we spent 4 days (we are a family of 14 ranging from 7 to 75). Buck was an incredible boat manager, ensuring safety and everyone's enjoyment. Every single person on our trip would do this again...and want to, in fact, our grandson is convinced he is going back to Mackay Bar in November for Steelheading. People that had never fished before enjoyed fishing. The river runners in our group really had high praise for Buck and his boat handling (and these are professional guides with high standards).
Joni ensured our stay was perfect. We were constantly busy with a variety of activities, all designed to meet the standards of 14 very different people. The food was amazing. The accommodations are great. Cabins have a double and twin bed downstairs and have 2 twins in the loft, making them perfect for families. There are three cabins and three rooms in a main lodge.
Every day we had the jet boat available to us from sun up to sun down...and Buck/Joni took us on a wide variety of adventures. Hiking, exploring historical sites, fishing, and just plain having fun.
I cannot overstress how hard the folks at Mackay Bar worked to ensure we had a great family get together. The young kids were really interested in horseback riding (as were several of us not so young kids). Buck got up very earlier to bring the horses down to the coral, ensuring they were there for riding in the early morning. The horses are beautiful and well cared for...plus they were VERY gentle with the kids (which ranged from a couple who had taken a number of lessons to two who had never been on horseback).
We have managed outdoor/park concessions, etc and have pretty high standards for nature/adventure operations...wow, Buck and Joni do such an excellent job, they are right on the top of our list of resort managers. You will not experience a higher level of personal attention or attention to detail. Also, Buck is extremely knowledgeable about fishing and hunting...and makes an excellent guide. Our grandson is still talking about how much he learned about fishing from Buck and he has had a number of fishing lessons.
When we first researched this vacation we knew it would be delightful, but did not expect the level of service, fun and great time Buck and Joni ensured that we had at Mackay Bar...don't hesitate, BOOK immediately, you too will LOVE it.

Room Tip: The cabins are great...but if you only have two people the rooms in the main lodge are good too. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank qsmamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Close friends were married here in early May 2014. It was just perfection. The owners and staff did everything within there power to make sure we (14 people) were happy and satisfied at all times. Buck and his family work so hard they seem to never stop moving.
The cabins are clean comfortable and secure. The grounds are very well kept. The food is fantastic. The runway is in good shape with plenty of room for parking. The resorts jets boats are in great condition and are expertly piloted.
We will recommend this to anyone almost for any occasion. A competent outfitter, and an excellent host.
Thank you !
Bear and Pam

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bear L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marathon, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The new owners of Mackay Bar are incredible. The food, service, and attention to detail is impeccable. The rooms are spotless and cozy, the grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The perfect ending to a river trip!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MyrtleAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mackay Bar Outfitters & Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackay Bar Outfitters & Guest Ranch

Property: Mackay Bar Outfitters & Guest Ranch
Address: Salmon River, Frank Church "River of No Return" Wilderness, Riggins, ID
Region: United States > Idaho > Riggins
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Riggins
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most unique getaways offered in the lower 48 states, Mackay Bar Outfitters provides top quality guided hunts, fishing trips and all-inclusive vacation packages, all in a beautiful back-country setting. We cater to large groups, families, or individuals who are seeking an adventure of a lifetime. The ranch is located along the banks of the famous "River of no Return" Salmon River and encompasses one of the largest outfitting units in Idaho. Nestled in the Frank Church Wilderness Area, guests can experience over 273,000 acres of road less adventure including 75 miles of the pristine main Salmon River. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mackay Bar Outfitters & Guest Ranch Riggins, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing