We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get a lakeview room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lodge at Sandpoint
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sagle
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Get a lakeview room”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The location is great just beautiful. It's has friendly family style atmosphere. The breakfast was on the boring side. I just got a banana/cup of coffee and sat by the lake. We rented a boat for the day, I highly recommend that!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLJ123, Owner at The Lodge at Sandpoint, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank-you for your comments.

In 2014, in addition to having paddle boards, kayaks and bicycles, there will be 2 20' power boats readily available for guests to rent.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you return!
Lodge at Sandpoint
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    42
    8
    6
    9
See reviews for
36
106
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This was our sixth summer vacation in Sandpoint but our first in July. When we booked our rooms we hoped that Sandpoint would knock itself out for Independence Day. Wow! Did they ever! It was awesome. The Lodge at Sandpoint hung huge baskets filled with American flags and red, white and blue flowers at the entryway and they placed a gorgeous bouquet of American flags on the front desk counter. It was beautiful. The rooms were immaculate. The breezes flowed through the doors that lead out to the lobby's magnificent balcony. We even had bald eagle sightings in the pine tree out front. It couldn't have been more patriotic. The fireworks at City Beach were spectacular. We ate blueberries and strawberries on top of vanilla ice cream from our balcony and watched the beautiful show. We're going to do this again next year!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reginew33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLJ123, Owner at The Lodge at Sandpoint, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
We agree that the 4th of July was very spectacular and are happy you enjoyed it!
We look forward to your return!
Thank-you for taking the time to share your experience.

Lodge at Sandpoint
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Great location, high end boutique hotel with wonderful amenities. The room was well decorated and and very pleasant. The staff were pleasant and very accommodating. Great views from the large balcony.

We will be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLJ123, Owner at The Lodge at Sandpoint, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Brian,
Thank-you for taking the time to share your comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return!
The Lodge at Sandpoint
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberty Lake, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Had a great suite at far end of property with very comfortable king-sized bed, larger than necessary bathroom, and living room/kitchen (without stove), and large balcony/deck. Enjoyed sitting outside and watching lake activity, some noise from highway and train tracks across the lake, but not something that would keep you awake at night. Bed and sheets very comfortable and soft, unit well cleaned, but confused as to why no stove. Had dinner outdoors at adjoining restaurant and were seated graciously without a reservation on a Friday evening. Obviously a very popular place for locals as well, with boat dock access. Enjoyed sitting on dock next morning after a rather average continental breakfast. Recommended changes; rates a little high for the amenities and the rooms, staff shouldn't be constantly cleaning in breakfast room while people eating, add a few more items to breakfast, and perhaps add complimentary wine/fruit in rooms when spending over $400/night.

Overall enjoyed the getaway and would recommend to others. Suggest you try to negotiate rates (I didn't) and see what happens.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are best ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rskattum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLJ123, Owner at The Lodge at Sandpoint, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to share your observations and constructive criticism.

The Lodge was originally built with an eye to hotel-condo but when the economy turned the condo idea was dropped and thus the large kitchen with no cooking facility.

Our housekeeping staff endeavors to maintain a clean breakfast area for the use and enjoyment of all guests. I'm sorry if you felt they were a little over zealous.

Again, thank-you for your comments and we hope you'll come again!

Lodge at Sandpoint
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This "lodge" is sandwiched between a highway and an asphalt parking lot. Worse: the proprietors were so un-hospitable. We arrived 9:30 pm one night, checked out by the regulated time of 11 am and after an expensive lunch in their restuarant took a quick swim, whereupon the proprietor marched out to say "why are you still here?" It's not a place for kids, who can't swim on the so-called "beach" without a life-jacket, though the only way to get a life jacket is to rent a boat. All-in-all one of the worse hotel experience I have ever had -- and I'm in a hotel on average of 2 times a month.

The rooms looked decent, but the cabin and house are dingy and dark.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msamelia2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLJ123, Owner at The Lodge at Sandpoint, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
I do regret having to remind a guest for the 1st time in 6 years that they are expected to leave when they have checked out of the hotel. This family arrived with 4 VERY YOUNG children who were allowed to run around the property with NO ADULT supervision whatsoever. They were jumping off the dock with NO LIFEGUARD and no parent!! Other guests complained but were mostly concerned about the safety of the children as was the staff and I. When I was told they had checked out I was relieved we had escaped without incident. When I went down to the beach at 2:00 I was shocked to find them ensconced. I simply said "I thought you had checked out?"
If it was the worst place they had ever stayed, why did they refuse to leave?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Perfect setting lake front. Sunsets seen from deck are wonderful. Rooms are just ok for the value....clean...great bed...small frig....coffee maker....but I'm surprised at the lack of real amenities....like a simple shuttle into town....bikes and kayaks here for rent but they are expensive. Service is fine...free breakfast is ok..cereal, fruit, bagels and coffee and juice....hotel located 3 miles from town and way too close to noisy freight train track...AC unit is very loud....maybe a good thing given train noise....but the sunsets are lovely. Not sure it's worth the $$$

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bowlerx_424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLJ123, Owner at The Lodge at Sandpoint, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to share your comments.
It is true that sound does travel across water and thus the train (which is a couple of miles away) can be heard if the wind is coming from the east but most people find it quaint.

We continue to try to improve the overall experience at the lodge and are servicing all ac units in an attempt to quiet them down.

Again thank-you for coming and we hope to see you again.
The Lodge at Sandpoint
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Our room had no thermostat (no AC), when we brought this to the staff's attention they had no clue how to adjust the temperature. The suggestion to us was "open your window". We were on ground level by an entry way, opening the window would have been noisy. When you pay over $200 a night the expecation of AC and the ablility to control your room temperature isn't too much to expect. Our room was large and clean however not having AC or blackout curtains made sleeping very uncomfortable. We found the customer service a bit below average and our stay sub-par. The location is beautiful but we would not recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sagle
2.4 mi away
Best Western Edgewater Resort
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sandpoint North
5.0 mi away
Hotel Ruby Ponderay
Hotel Ruby Ponderay
#1 of 3 in Ponderay
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Days Inn Sandpoint
Days Inn Sandpoint
#3 of 3 in Ponderay
454 reviews
9.6 mi away
Schweitzer Mountain Resort Lodging
2.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandpoint
La Quinta Inn Sandpoint
#2 of 6 in Sandpoint
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Sandpoint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Sandpoint

Property: The Lodge at Sandpoint
Address: 41 Lakeshore Dr, 470701 Hwy 95, Sagle, ID 83860-9271
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > Sagle
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sagle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lodge at Sandpoint 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge is a new boutique hotel which opened in 2007 but feels like it's been there for ages. It boasts Old World charm with with all of the modern conveniences. It is situated on 600' of sandy beach on Lake Pend Oreille in North Idaho. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Lodge at Sandpoint reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Sandpoint Hotel Sagle
The Lodge At Sandpoint Idaho/Sagle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing