We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, cozy, friendly staff”
Review of The Country Inn

The Country Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sagle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Country Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Sagle
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I love mom n' pop motels...especially when the people running them really care about their guests. Our room was rustic north-idaho looking, extremely clean, spacious, and had a bunch of little "touches" that made it unique. The staff was bend-over-backwards friendly and helpful. I will most definitely stay there again. PS: It's just a few miles south of the long bridge in Sandpoint. Great price for such a great room!

Room Tip: We had #33, the king suite which comes with a sofa bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Angel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

My kids and I stayed here on a weekend trip to sandpoint. Price of room was way less than hotels in sandpoint, but only 3 miles away. The hotel is old, but they tried to spruce it up. It is clean. The front desk and housekeeper were super friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Carolyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed here for a family reunion and after arrival immediately regretted the decision. Because one of our family members couldn't afford another hotel and to avoid embarrassing them we ended up staying. The rooms stink and the staff is sketchy. No matter the cost you will want to stay elsewhere. This motel is owned by a family that lives within the rooms. It is the equivalent of renting a trashy mobile home for the night. Situated right next to the highway guests can hear cars speeding by morning, noon, and night. The free cable is fuzzy on most channels and most of the "guests" seem to be family members of the owners. We purchased Lysol wipes, spray, and hand sanitizer to try to make the best of it but we unfortunately still felt contaminated and dirty during our stay. Though the price is nice, you certainly get what you pay for with this one.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank christinbeavers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandpointCountryInn, Manager at The Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

We were surprised with your comments concerning your recent stay at our facility. It was especially unexpected since you were given a key and allowed to inspect the room in detail before you registered. The highway, which is clearly visible from the door to your room, should not have been a surprise: although it is rarely a problem for our guests. During your three-day stay with us, you and the other member of your group ( five additional rooms) did not contact our staff about any problems related to the rooms. In fact the comments from the rest of the group were very positive.

All though our facility is not new, we like to feel that it has a certain rustic charm. It also allows us to offer guests clean, comfortable rooms at a very reasonable price. We are especially sensitive about cleanliness issues and strive to avoid any problems. However, we are not perfect, and would have appreciated your bringing to our attention any specific problem that we could have corrected. You did indicate that you would normally select a more expensive facility and the lack of certain amenities may have contributed to your discomfort.

Your comments regarding family members living in the motel is certainly confusing.
The motel is managed by a couple living in the Manager's Quarters. The owners live in their own house located a short distance away. No one related to the managers or the owners have ever "lived" in the motel.

We are sorry you were dissatisfied with your stay. Again, if you had informed us of your problem we would have certainly tried to correct it. It would also have given us an opportunity to modify our operating procedures to prevent the problem from occurring again. Feedback from out guests is essential in helping us meet our of having the cleanest rooms in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Loved the location near the bridge into Sandpoint. For an older motel the room was clean and the bed was amazingly comfortable with a new pillow top mattress. Owners were very helpful and caring about our stay. If we are in the area, we would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beverly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Spent a couple of nights here, would loved a couple more. The owners gave us advise to make our stay better, The king bed was awesome and the location by the bridge @ Sandpoint the best. Great hiking trails once you find them close by very few people and lots of peace! We look forward to staying here again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Glacier C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

Lovely huge bed, beautiful cozy cabin-like feel to the room, and such a wonderful bathroom. And only seventy bucks in a prime tourist area! Unbelievable bargain, makes me less cynical ! It's before the bridge to Sandpoint so not right in town, but extremely close.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Shipra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

The is a good value welcoming inn. The rooms are a little dated but it didn't bother me. I look for friendly staff, comfortable beds and clean bathrooms which this place had. I would stay again. It's conveniently located for Sandpoint.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rebel-forces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Country Inn

Address: 470700 Highway 95, Sagle, ID 83860-8025
Region: United States > Idaho > Sagle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Sagle
Price Range: £28 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently Remodeled rooms and under new management, the Country Inn offers clean, comfortable rooms at a comfortable price! On-site you'll find free Wi-Fi, HBO, daily paper, and a continental breakfast. We also have 9 full service RV sites w/30 amp service surrounded by pines! We are committed to providing the services you expect and deserve during your stay with us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Country Hotel Sagle
The Country Inn Idaho/Sagle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing